Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Another Virtual Hosts Question *SOLVED*
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nick_ellsworth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Victorville, CA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 1:45 pm    Post subject: Another Virtual Hosts Question *SOLVED* Reply with quote

Problem: I'm trying to set up Apache with virtual hosts to serve website1.domain1.com and website2.domain2.com
Both of the domain names are part of a service provided by www.dyndns.org because I'm on a connection with a dynamic IP address. When I enter website1.domain1.com into my browser, I get website1. However, when I enter websit2.domain2.com, I get website1.

Could this be due to the DNS server DynDNS uses, or my configuration?

I will provide my httpd.conf upon request.

BTW, I'm using apache-2.0.54-r31
_________________
Registered Linux User #333985
"You don't give blood then take it back again." - Pearl Jam


Last edited by nick_ellsworth on Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxmin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 838
Location: Heidelberg

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you read this?

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/vhosts/name-based.html


Hht, Alex!!!
_________________
ALT-F4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecooptoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 1353
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whats
cat /etc/apache2/conf/vhost(s)/vhost(s).con |grep -v '#' (cant remember whether is vhosts or vhost)

whats cat/etc/apache2/httpd.conf |grep include

ie how is your vhosts.conf file set up and soes httpd.conf include it?
_________________
join the optout - http://nhsconfidentiality.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick_ellsworth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Victorville, CA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
ServerRoot "/usr/lib/apache2"

Listen 80

Include /etc/apache2/modules.d/*.conf

DocumentRoot "/var/www/localhost/htdocs"

User apache
Group apache

ServerAdmin nick.ellsworth@gmail.com

ServerName 10.20.1.10

<IfDefine INFO>
    ExtendedStatus On
    <Location /server-status>
        SetHandler server-status
        Order deny,allow
        Deny from all
        Allow from localhost
    </Location>
</IfDefine>

<IfDefine INFO>
    <Location /server-info>
    SetHandler server-info
    Order deny,allow
    Deny from all
    Allow from localhost
    </Location>
</IfDefine>


NameVirtualHost 10.20.1.10

NameVirtualHost 10.20.1.10

<VirtualHost 10.20.1.10>
   ServerName           website1.domain1.com
   DocumentRoot       /var/www/localhost/htdocs
   ServerAdmin          nick.ellsworth@gmail.com
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost 10.20.1.10>
   ServerName           website2.domain2.com
   DocumentRoot       /home/username/public_html
   ServerAdmin          nick.ellsworth@gmail.com
   <Directory /home/nick/public_html>
        Options -All -Multiviews
        AllowOverride None
        Order deny,allow
        allow from all
   </Directory>
</VirtualHost>


I have read numerous HOWTOs and Forum threads, but none seem to fit my problem. I've also tried putting website2 in /var/www/website2/htdocs, but I'm not sure if that's the problem. Thanks in advance for your help!
_________________
Registered Linux User #333985
"You don't give blood then take it back again." - Pearl Jam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecooptoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 1353
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I havent got round to upgrading apache yet -so Ive still got a commonapache2.conf & apache2.conf

the relevant bits that work for me

Code:
grenada config # cat /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf |grep vhosts
#If VLOG is defined in conf/vhosts/vhosts.conf, we use this entry
# vhosts directory and modify to suit your needs.
Include conf/vhosts/vhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/dynamic-vhosts.conf
#Include conf/vhosts/virtual-homepages.conf
grenada config #           

id add this to apache2.conf ( if it still exists) or httpd.conf
the vhosts.conf is like this (actual names changed to protect the innocent!)
Code:


NameVirtualHost *:80


<VirtualHost *:80>
Servername www.server1.com
DocumentRoot /var/www/server1.com/htdocs
DirectoryIndex index.php
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /var/www/server1.com/cgi-bin/
<Directory /var/www/server1.com/cgi-bin>
Options +ExecCGI
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
Servername domain2.com
DocumentRoot /var/www/domain2.com/htdocs
</VirtualHost>
grenada config #                                                       

_________________
join the optout - http://nhsconfidentiality.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick_ellsworth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Victorville, CA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Basically with the new version of Apache, all the old config files are crammed into httpd.conf You can, however, set up a separate vhosts.conf file and "Include" it from httpd.conf
I've also tried using NameVirtualHost *:80 but Apache won't start. It gives me this error:
Code:
genesis apache2 # /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
 * Stopping apache2 ...
[Fri Sep 30 13:38:47 2005] [warn] VirtualHost 10.20.1.10:0 overlaps with VirtualHost 10.20.1.10:0, the first has precedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive
[Fri Sep 30 13:38:47 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts          [ ok ] * Starting apache2 ...
[Fri Sep 30 13:38:48 2005] [warn] VirtualHost 10.20.1.10:0 overlaps with VirtualHost 10.20.1.10:0, the first has precedence, perhaps you need a NameVirtualHost directive
[Fri Sep 30 13:38:48 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts          [ ok ]

_________________
Registered Linux User #333985
"You don't give blood then take it back again." - Pearl Jam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecooptoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 1353
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

your virtual host config ?
cat /etc/conf |grep -v '#' of the relevant file

IIRC you need to add a port number to the VH definitions. This changed in apache upgrade a while back.
That may be where the VirtualHost 10.20.1.10:0 ( ie port 0??) is coming from
_________________
join the optout - http://nhsconfidentiality.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick_ellsworth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Victorville, CA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the bottom of my httpd.conf, which replaces vhosts.conf

Code:

NameVirtualHost *:80

<VirtualHost 10.20.1.10>
   ServerName           website1.domain1.com
   DocumentRoot         /var/www/localhost/htdocs
   ServerAdmin          nick.ellsworth@gmail.com
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost 10.20.1.10>
   ServerName           website2.domain2.com
   DocumentRoot         /home/username/public_html
   ServerAdmin          nick.ellsworth@gmail.com
   <Directory /home/username/public_html>
        Options -All -Multiviews
        AllowOverride None
        Order deny,allow
        allow from all
   </Directory>
</VirtualHost>

_________________
Registered Linux User #333985
"You don't give blood then take it back again." - Pearl Jam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecooptoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 1353
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try changing each
Code:
<VirtualHost 10.20.1.10>

to
Code:

<VirtualHost *:80>


then /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
_________________
join the optout - http://nhsconfidentiality.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick_ellsworth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Victorville, CA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

try changing each
Code:

<VirtualHost 10.20.1.10>


to
Code:

<VirtualHost *:80>




I just did that, and although Apache now doesn't spit out any errors on start, I still get website1 when trying to get website2
_________________
Registered Linux User #333985
"You don't give blood then take it back again." - Pearl Jam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecooptoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 1353
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A bit further on then.

Cleared the browser cache?

permissions/owners of websaite 1 and 2 ?
whats in the acces/error log when you access site 1 and then site 2
_________________
join the optout - http://nhsconfidentiality.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick_ellsworth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Victorville, CA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problem solved! I had a "<Directory>" directive that was pointing to the wrong directory for website2.

Thanks for your help along the way. :-)
_________________
Registered Linux User #333985
"You don't give blood then take it back again." - Pearl Jam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum