Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 setup. please?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bandofmercy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 5:09 am    Post subject: eth0 setup. please? Reply with quote

hey... i'm a somewhat noob trying to install gentoo from stage 1 livecd.

problem is this. i've figured out how to do everything up to a point but i'm continually stopped in my tracks because i can't make lynx work with any site outside my (bradley) university's LAN, ie i can ping bradley.edu but but not unixpunx.org or yahoo.com. same applies to lynx...

i've also noticed that this ping pattern persists when i boot into xp (currently i use xp and rh8) and try to ping from the commang line there. my theory is that if i could make pinging start working in the gentoo install that lynx would work just as well. makes sense...

i've been told to add my http_proxy, ftp_proxy and RSYNC_PROXY to a lynx-somethingorother.cfg file in rh8, but that didn't work so i didn't even bother trying it... plus i forgot what the file was called.

long story short i'm sick of rh and very sick of xp and i'm told that i'd like and learn a lot from gentoo... so i want it. but i need to know how to set this up. any ideas? thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garo
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 860
Location: Edegem,BELGIUM

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the following things and tell me what didn't work:
Code:

ping google.org
ping 216.239.37.100

if the 1st command fails you have a DNS problem (check /etc/resolv.conf)
if they both fail you have a routing problem (check the /etc/conf.d/net)

/etc/resolv.conf syntax: (replace 10.0.0.1 & 10.0.0.2 with your DNS servers)
nameserver 10.0.0.1
nameserver 10.0.0.2

/etc/conf.d/net: (replace eth0 with your networkcard connected to the internet & replace 10.0.0.1 with your gateway)
gateway="eth0/10.0.0.1"

the /etc/conf.d/net is only used by gentoo, check the redhat docs to see where you have to configure your gateway
_________________
My favorite links this month:
- Surf Random
- Web-based SSH
- Stop Spam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandofmercy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

garo wrote:

/etc/conf.d/net: (replace eth0 with your networkcard connected to the internet & replace 10.0.0.1 with your gateway)
gateway="eth0/10.0.0.1"


first off i messed up my partition tables so i can't use redhat, i'm stuck in xp until i can get gentoo working.

also, am i supposed to add this line to a file called "net"
oh, and should i just use my module name for the ethernet card, 8139too? i'm gonna give this a try based on my assumptions and check back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandofmercy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah... i did it, didn't seem to help at all. don't know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandofmercy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i still get nothing. any other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krjoseph
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 23
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are sure eth0 is configured do this:
Code:

/sbin/ifconfig eth0

You should see your IP# regardless if static or dhcp assigned. PING your address:
Code:
ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

You might also try pinging the loopback IP
Code:
ping 127.0.0.1


If those work, ping your gateway. For example, if your IP is 192.168.1.57, your gateway will generally be 192.168.1.1. If you get there, then you are back to a DNS or Routing problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diagft32
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2003 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you can ping inside, your network settings are correct...if you can ping a hostname inside, your dns is fine also. I would say your lan probably does use a proxy and you will have to go through it. Find your proxy name...if you don't knoiw it and xp works, look under internet settings-->connections-->lan settings under xp. Then, in Gentoo, simply type:

export http_proxy="yourproxyinfohere:port#"
export ftp_proxy="$http_proxy"
export RSYNC_PROXY="$http_proxy"

hope this helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandofmercy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2003 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, i tried both pinging all those different servers, gateway and dns and the like, as well as setting up my proxy stuff, a long time ago.
the only thing i can say is that when i set up my proxy server stuff lynx stops being able to connect to sites on my lan and stops even timing out on things outside, simply gives a red screen error. i use the settings given to me by tech support guys, so i figure that problem is the same as others like how gaim only works for me if i <i>don't</i> configure the proxy.

oh man. i've been using xp today for the first time in months. its horrible. please help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjoswig
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 122
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you haven't got it running yet: please tell me the output from
Code:
/bin/netstat -rn
/sbin/ifconfig -a
nslookup www.yahoo.com


And while you're at it:
Code:
cat /etc/conf.d/net
could be helpful too :)
When you installed gentoo, did you use emerge to get updates? Did it work?

BTW: Many companys don't allow ping to the outside (and not every server in the world answers to the ping).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandofmercy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok... i haven't installed anything yet, i just boot, try, lose, and come back to windows. so its hard for me to copy down lines of characters...

here is what i got from netstat -rn in the form
dest,gateway,gen mask, flags, mss, win, RTT(?), iface
136.176.98.178, 0.0.0.0, 255.255.255.0, U, 40, 0, 0, eth0
0.0.0.0, 136.176.98.1, 0.0.0.0, UG, 40, 0, 0, eth0
i'll check out the other things, but like i say, copying and pasting them is impossible, so exactly what i should look for is hard.[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjoswig
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 122
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No need to write down the output from the other commands (btw: you can always pipe the output to some file and save that onto floppy disk :) ).

How does it work in your XP? open a DOS-Shell and send the output of the following commands:
Code:
netstat -rn
ipconfig /all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandofmercy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

netstat -rn (in xp command line)
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\erik>netstat -rn

Route Table
===========================================================================
Interface List
0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
0x2 ...00 c0 a8 7e aa 5d ...... Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC - P
acket Scheduler Miniport
===========================================================================
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 136.176.98.1 136.176.98.178 20
127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 1
136.176.98.0 255.255.255.0 136.176.98.178 136.176.98.178 20
136.176.98.178 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 20
136.176.255.255 255.255.255.255 136.176.98.178 136.176.98.178 20
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 136.176.98.178 136.176.98.178 20
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 136.176.98.178 136.176.98.178 1
Default Gateway: 136.176.98.1
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
None

ipconfig /all

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\erik>netstat -rn

Route Table
===========================================================================
Interface List
0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
0x2 ...00 c0 a8 7e aa 5d ...... Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC - P
acket Scheduler Miniport
===========================================================================
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 136.176.98.1 136.176.98.178 20
127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 1
136.176.98.0 255.255.255.0 136.176.98.178 136.176.98.178 20
136.176.98.178 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 20
136.176.255.255 255.255.255.255 136.176.98.178 136.176.98.178 20
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 136.176.98.178 136.176.98.178 20
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 136.176.98.178 136.176.98.178 1
Default Gateway: 136.176.98.1
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
None

C:\Documents and Settings\erik>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : linuxbox
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : rhnet.bradley.edu
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-A8-7E-AA-5D
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 136.176.98.178
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 136.176.98.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 136.176.233.7
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 136.176.192.70
136.176.200.7
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 05, 2003 12:43:19 P
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 19, 2003 12:43:19 P
M




yeah, i don't know a whole lot about piping out side of |less and more,yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Khan Artist
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 210
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could do:

netstat -rn > C:\Documents and Settings\erik\Desktop\netstat.txt
ipconfig /all > C:\Documents and Settings\erik\Desktop\ipconfig.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Digiman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 116
Location: Mobile, AL

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should be able to just type:

# modprobe <nicmodule>
# dhcpcd eth0

then try

# ping www.gentoo.org

or

# ping 130.111.131.80

Hope that helps,
-- Digiman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandofmercy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is what i try every time.
modprobe 8139too
dhcpcd eth0
ping this.that.com
100% loss

ping myschool.edu
blah ms
blah ms
etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Digiman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 116
Location: Mobile, AL

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, then you must need authentication through your proxy.

We have that at work also, the only I was able to get around it was litterally that I plugged my PC in front of the proxy server to bybass the problem.

Sorry,

-- Digiman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bandofmercy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2003 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so basically... unless i'm like one of the tech guys that has those sort of privlieges, no. right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum