Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What to do when replacing Intel PIII with AMD Sempron?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spiralvoice
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: What to do when replacing Intel PIII with AMD Sempron? Reply with quote

Hi,

currently I have
Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 8
model name      : Pentium III (Coppermine)
stepping        : 6
cpu MHz         : 903.513
cache size      : 256 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse
bogomips        : 1809.09

and I want to replace it with an AMD Sempron 2200+ CPU.
make.conf currently looks like that:
Code:
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O3 -march=pentium3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mpush-args -w"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
USE="acpi arts cddb cdparanoia chroot cjk cups divx4linux dvd dvdr dvdread faac flac \
     foreign-package ftp gmp gtk2 hal ieee1394 imap jpeg2k kde lzo lzw-tiff \
     matroska mbox mhash mmx mng mozilla mpeg4 mplayer nls nptl ooo-kde openexr \
     opengl pcre pic real rtc samba sse svg symlink tiff theora transcode \
     unicode usb v4l v4l2 vcd win32codecs xine xmms xprint xvid zvbi \
     truetype-fonts type1-fonts kdeenablefinal \
     -fam -motif -apm -java -svga -gnome -gstreamer -mysql -static"

What do I have to change? I saw some CFLAGS which look like that:
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O3 -pipe -msse2 -fomit-frame-pointer -momit-leaf-frame-pointer -fno-ident"

and put "sse2" into USE flags because the Sempron supports as its a stripped down Athlon XP 64.

But what is the safest way for upgrading my current binaries?
Will they still work with the Sempron so I can recompile everything?
Is
Code:
emerge -e system
emerge -e world

enough for that?

For the transition would it be a good idea to change the kernel (2.6.13) CPU type to M586 so it boots with
both setups? Its currently set to MPENTIUMIII.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002
Posts: 6730
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An Athlon / Sempron can do anything a P3 can; there is no need to change anything to be able to boot.

There is no such thing as an "Athlon XP 64", and the Sempron 2200 isn't one, in any case - it's a plain Athlon XP with a crippled cache.

Don't mess with CFLAGS if you still have to ask questions like these...
_________________
>>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Safe Cflags :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum