View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Decibels Veteran
Joined: 16 Aug 2002 Posts: 1630 Location: U.S.A.
|
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | Decibels wrote: |
Title should be changed to: Don't use baselayout-1.12.0_pre9
|
Or if you do, ensure that you have iproute2, dhcpcd, wireless-tools and netplug installed - then it works |
Yes, your right. I knew I wasn't using dhcpcd or wireless-tools, but the others wasn't sure. Had the system up for a long time.
UberLord wrote: | Decibels wrote: | It is stopping syslog-ng just because the interface is restarting???? That just seems stupid. Don't see the reason! |
Yes, it's because the interface is restarting. The reason is because syslog-ng has a "need" dependany on "net". net.eth0 supplies your "net". You can change this in /etc/conf.d/rc - RC_STRICT_NET_CHECKING |
Okay, changed it to "none"
UberLord wrote: | Decibels wrote: | Depreciated configuration syntax for eth0???? Why oh why? |
It still works, there's just no guarantee it will work in versions in the future.
Why? Well, let's just say that there's around 70 lines of code just dealing with the old syntax as opposed to erm - around 10 lines with the new syntax.
I'd like to think that we can cut those 70 lines someday to make us leaner and meaner! |
I was still using an old setup config of net cause it was still working. After they changed that setup had trouble getting it working so stuck with the old one.
Just changed to the newer net.example for Static IP. There is one thing that is confusing though. On the 'gateway', not using IPV6. But it seems to indicate that this is only for setting up route using IPv6.
In INTERFACE HANDLERS:
Code: | # Here's how todo routing if you need it - the below sets the default gateway
# and eth0 to be the default route for IPv6 unicast addresses
#routes_eth0=(
# "default via 192.168.0.1"
# "::/0"
#) |
I just changed it to: Code: | routes_eth0=("default via 192.168.1.1") |
and it worked, without giving the warning. Can't find good documentation on this though.
Started checking Gentoo Docs to see if explained. Checked Install Guide for x86 & amd64, but neither talk about /etc/init.d/net, Quick x86 Install Guide does mention editing it.
Okay, this does show a little setup: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=8
But, they use gw instead of via for the gateway route, BOTH works it seems. Not sure which is 'depreciated' cause didn't see any warning with either.
Guess getting off topic though. _________________ Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”
– Steven Wright |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 5:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Decibels wrote: |
Just changed to the newer net.example for Static IP. There is one thing that is confusing though. On the 'gateway', not using IPV6. But it seems to indicate that this is only for setting up route using IPv6. |
That's just an example to show setting IPv4 and IPv6 routes - how would you make it more clear?
Quote: |
But, they use gw instead of via for the gateway route, BOTH works it seems. Not sure which is 'depreciated' cause didn't see any warning with either. |
Both work and neither are depreciated. _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Decibels Veteran
Joined: 16 Aug 2002 Posts: 1630 Location: U.S.A.
|
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 5:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | Decibels wrote: |
Just changed to the newer net.example for Static IP. There is one thing that is confusing though. On the 'gateway', not using IPV6. But it seems to indicate that this is only for setting up route using IPv6. |
That's just an example to show setting IPv4 and IPv6 routes - how would you make it more clear? |
Guess I thought there was a big diff in IPv4 vs Ipv6 so when I see below says only for IPv6, thought IPv4 wasn't included. So I guess for clueless people like me, maybe it could be more clear if read:
Code: | # Here's how todo routing if you need it - the below sets the default gateway
# and eth0 to be the default route for Ipv4 or IPv6 unicast addresses |
or
Code: | # Here's how todo routing if you need it - the below sets the default gateway
# and eth0 to be the default route. |
instead of:
Code: | # Here's how todo routing if you need it - the below sets the default gateway
# and eth0 to be the default route for IPv6 unicast addresses |
_________________ Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”
– Steven Wright |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grimlog n00b
Joined: 17 Jun 2003 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 8:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: |
OK - here's my defence. I added a new preferred module (netplugd) to the preferred module list. As I had all the modules emerged, I didn't see the error as the error was caused by me not updateing a variable specifying the number of perferred modules.
The current svn version has an improved fix where we calculate that number from a list instead of specifying it.
Or from another perspective, I do test my code a lot, but I cannot test for all configuartions as there is not enough time in the day.
Be happy that I fixed it within 20 minutes of being aware of it.
Thanks! |
Thanks for the explanation. I really wondered, how it could happen, that really simple setups fail. I know, you cannot test all possible configurations, but the basic ones should be in your "must-test-before-commiting"-list. Oh, and I was happy, that the fix was already there, when I searched for a solution.
Regards, Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|