View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
carpman Advocate

Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 2202 Location: London - UK
|
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 3:59 pm Post subject: webapp-config /srv extra www |
|
|
Hello, trying to install an app with webapp-config but it seems to be adding an extra www
Code: |
webapp-config -p -I -h www.mydomain.co.uk -d / phprojekt 4.2.3
* All config file checks successfully passed
* Running with these settings:
* --force-virtual is OFF
* --virtual-dirs is virtual
* --virtual-files is virtual
* --user is root
* --group is root
* --hostname is www.mydomain.co.uk
* --server is apache
* --directory is /
* package is phprojekt
* version is 4.2.3
* action is install
* link type is file
* document root is /usr/share/webapps/phprojekt/4.2.3/htdocs
* Do we have phprojekt-4.2.3 available?
* Yes, we do
* Install directory is: /srv/www.mydomain.co.uk/www/www/
|
any ideas?
[/code] _________________ Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
grimm26 Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 313 Location: Chicagoland, IL
|
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 4:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Check your /etc/vhosts/webapp-config. What is VHOST_HTDOCS_INSECURE set to? If you have that set to www, then that is the cause. It looks like you are using the "service home hierarchy" where you have:
Code: | VHOST_ROOT="/srv/${G_HOSTNAME}/www" |
Therefore, in conjunction with Code: | VHOST_HTDOCS_INSECURE="www"
| your DocumentRoot is /srv/www.mydomain.co.uk/www/www.
If you set Code: | VHOST_HTDOCS_INSECURE="htdocs"
| then your DocumentRoot will be /srv/www.mydomain.co.uk/www/htdocs, which is a bit more sane looking. _________________ "Blessed is he who finds happiness in his own foolishness, for he will always be happy". |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
carpman Advocate

Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 2202 Location: London - UK
|
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello, yes i do have
Code: |
VHOST_HTDOCS_INSECURE="www"
|
but i thought that www had replaced htdocs or am i missing something?
also the post install instruction seem to conflict with each other:
Code: |
3. If this is a new install, you will need to
touch /srv/www.mydomain.co.uk/www/www//config.inc.php
chown apache:apache /srv/www.mydomain.co.uk/www/www//config.inc.php
4. It's a good idea to check your configuration by running
http://caxton.mydomain.co.uk///env_test.php
Examine its output and fix whatever problems you encounter.
5. Complete the installation by logging on to
http://caxton.mydomain.co.uk///setup.php
|
cheers _________________ Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
grimm26 Guru


Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 313 Location: Chicagoland, IL
|
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
www does replace htdocs with your configuration. Had you not changed the setting of VHOST_HTDOCS_INSECURE to www, your DocumentRoot would be /srv/www.mydomain.co.uk/www/htdocs.
As for the postinstall instructions, if you are quoting them verbatim, then the problem may lie with your config somehow. Here is the source for the postinstall instructions /usr/portage/www-apps/phprojekt/files/postinstall-en.txt
Code: | You are almost done!
1. Restart your webserver
2. You will need to create a blank database for phprojekt to use. Consult
your database manual.
3. If this is a new install, you will need to
touch ${MY_INSTALLDIR}/config.inc.php
chown ${VHOST_SERVER_GID}:${VHOST_SERVER_UID} ${MY_INSTALLDIR}/config.inc.php
4. It's a good idea to check your configuration by running
http://${VHOST_HOSTNAME}/${VHOST_APPDIR}/env_test.php
Examine its output and fix whatever problems you encounter.
5. Complete the installation by logging on to
http://${VHOST_HOSTNAME}/${VHOST_APPDIR}/setup.php
Enjoy!
|
VHOST_HOSTNAME is straight out of /etc/vhosts/webapp-config, but you would think that was overridden by the -h option to webapp-config. _________________ "Blessed is he who finds happiness in his own foolishness, for he will always be happy". |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
carpman Advocate

Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 2202 Location: London - UK
|
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
thanks for reply, i changed www to htdocs and that looks better, just don't like dir name htdocs, strange i know just prefer www or public_html but can always change it.
In webapp-config did have:
Code: |
#VHOST_HOSTNAME="localhost"
VHOST_HOSTNAME="`hostname --fqdn 2>/dev/null || echo localhost`"
|
I tried it with localhost and got:
Code: |
3. If this is a new install, you will need to
touch /srv/www.michaelinnes.co.uk/www/htdocs//config.inc.php
chown apache:apache /srv/www.michaelinnes.co.uk/www/htdocs//config.inc.php
4. It's a good idea to check your configuration by running
http://localhost///env_test.php
Examine its output and fix whatever problems you encounter.
5. Complete the installation by logging on to
http://localhost///setup.php
|
Not sure where i have gone wrong in setup as everything else appears to work fine? _________________ Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
carpman Advocate

Joined: 20 Jun 2002 Posts: 2202 Location: London - UK
|
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
not sure if this helps but this is output from -p run:
Code: |
* All config file checks successfully passed
* Running with these settings:
* --force-virtual is OFF
* --virtual-dirs is virtual
* --virtual-files is virtual
* --user is michael
* --group is users
* --hostname is www.mydomain.co.uk
* --server is apache
* --directory is /
* package is phprojekt
* version is 4.2.3
* action is install
* link type is file
* document root is /usr/share/webapps/phprojekt/4.2.3/htdocs
* Do we have phprojekt-4.2.3 available?
* Yes, we do
* Install directory is: /srv/www.mydomain.co.uk/www/htdocs/
* Is there already a package installed in /srv/www.mydomain.co.uk/www/htdocs/?
* No, there isn't. I can install into there safely.
* Checking that the username:group 'michael:users' is valid
* Checking specific requirements for apache
* Installing phprojekt 4.2.3 ...
* Creating required directories
* Linking in required files
* This can take several minutes for larger apps
* Files and directories installed
|
_________________ Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|