Graphic Tablet under GNU/Linux
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Poloch
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 11:21 pm    Post subject: Graphic Tablet under GNU/Linux Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

I am currently looking forward to buy a graphic tablet.
I am not at all a professionnal graphist, I just want to have fun with a tablet, and draw helped by the computer. Moreover I am a student, so I am not rich. Therefore I want a simple tablet, not too expensive. I have seen the wacom tablets seems supported -- for most of them -- thanks to the linuxwacom project: http://linuxwacom.sourceforge.net/
That's nice.

So I was hesitating between either a Graphire 3, and a Volito 2. The Volito 2 is very simple, but has the great advantage of being also cheap (around 40 euros), whereas the Graphire is around 80 euros (so the double), but is more precise, and has several nice things, as more buttons, and especially an "eraser", which is a very good tool I think (it should be very nice to spare time, so that one does not have to change the type of pen in order to erase...).
So several questions: has anyone tried these tools, and can give me any advice? Would the Volito -- even though a very cheap price -- be too bad? (I remind I don't need a professional tool!) Would you propose any other tablet working well under Linux, and with a big big maximum of 100 euros?

And also when the linuxwacom project say "supported", how far is it so? Are there big drawbacks? Maybe accuracy problems? Are some "gadgets" (as the eraser, or anything else) not (or not well) working?
Finally, are you -- user of a graphic tablet under a Gnu/Linux system -- encountering any issue while using it under Linux?
(it would be stupid to pay a more expensive tablet if most of its possibilities are not working)