Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Still trying........
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:20 am    Post subject: Still trying........ Reply with quote

I hope Im not annoying anyone....lol. I was having troubles with my cd drive so I changed it out. I started all over. I deleated the partitions and repartitioned..etc etc. now i am 50% into emerging --metadata. so knock on wood I'll get through it this time. I was just wondering. should I use gentoo sources for kernel or let genkernel do it for me? if I go gen-kernel route my older athlon 800Mhz thunderbird will still work fine right?

and while installing Grub do I actually type this stuff into nano?
Code:
# Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
default 0
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 30
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
# Comment out if you don't have a graphics card installed
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r11
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda3

# The next four lines are only if you dualboot with a Windows system.
# In this case, Windows is hosted on /dev/hda6.
title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,5)
makeactive
chainloader +1


Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DDV01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 70
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoo-sources are fine and if you don't want to configure the kernel yourself you can have genkernel do it for you. The kernel will probably be bigger though.

As for grub, just edit /boot/grub/grub.conf.sample an move it to /boot/grub/grub.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_tony_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:41 am    Post subject: Re: Still trying........ Reply with quote

Tbagz wrote:
should I use gentoo sources for kernel or let genkernel do it for me?


You need select which kernel sources must be compiled and emerge:

Code:
emerge gentoo-sources


Then emerge genkernel and run it:

Code:
emerge genkernel
genkernel all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

any ideas on files systems to use? all? or just 1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tbagz wrote:
any ideas on files systems to use? all? or just 1?


Ext2 for boot and ext3 for the rest, I would recommend! :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok im trying to find all modules with:
Code:
Code Listing 20: Viewing all available modules
 
# find /lib/modules/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6/ -type f -iname '*.o' -or -iname '*.ko'
 

and im getting back : /lib/modules/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6/: no such file or directory

where do I go from here?


EDIT: AHHH I dont need the kernel- I just need 2.6.12-gentoo-r6/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DDV01 wrote:
Gentoo-sources are fine and if you don't want to configure the kernel yourself you can have genkernel do it for you. The kernel will probably be bigger though.

As for grub, just edit /boot/grub/grub.conf.sample an move it to /boot/grub/grub.conf


how do I do this? or get kernel image?

this is my fdisk -l
Code:
 /dev/hda1 in grub= hd0.0
/dev/hda2 in grub= hd0.1
/dev/hda3 in grub= hd0.2
/dev/hda5 in grub= hd0.3
/dev/hda6 in grub= hd0.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DDV01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2003
Posts: 70
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

DDV01 wrote:
Gentoo-sources are fine and if you don't want to configure the kernel yourself you can have genkernel do it for you. The kernel will probably be bigger though.

As for grub, just edit /boot/grub/grub.conf.sample an move it to /boot/grub/grub.conf


how do I do this? or get kernel image?


http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/2005.1/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#book_part1_chap7

and

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/2005.1/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#book_part1_chap10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok I just ran "grub-install" and got back this:
Code:

end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
Installation finished. No error reported.
This is the contents of the device map /boot/grub/device.map.
Check if this is correct or not. If any of the lines is incorrect,
fix it and re-run the script "grub-install".

(fd0)   /dev/fd0
(hd0)  /dev/hda


my partitions are:-----------------------------------blocks

/dev/hda1 /boot--------grub=(hd0,0)-------32M-----31720+
/dev/hda2 /swap-------grub=(hd0,1)-------512M----258552
/dev/hda3 extended----grub=???????-------9216M---9675288
/dev/hda5 /root--------grub=(hd0,2)or3?---4096M---2064856+
/dev/hda6 /home-------grub=(hd0,3)or4?---5120M---7610368+

my partitions are:
Code:

/dev/hda1 boot
/dev/hda2 swap
/dev/hda3 Extended
/dev/hda5 root
/dev/hda6 home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok im sorry :x it is trying to install grub to the floppy drive. so to stop this do I enter grub --no-floppy in the grub.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

one more question about grub

If my root partition is /dev/hda5 =(hd0,4) and grub is acking for root in the conf do i write (hd0,4) or is it asking for boot, when it says root? IO am getting conflicting answers from reading FAQs.

Any help would be great.

default 0

timeout 30

splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r11

root (hd0,0)

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

handbook wrote:
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located


You most probably stored your kernel in your boot partition, therefore it is asking for boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks loki. I hope I am not wearing out my welcome here with all my post and questions. I should have tried some other versions to get the feel of linux before taking this on. but just for laughs I'll go ahead and post what I did:
well I did this:

Code:

default 0

timeout 20

splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6

root (hd0,4)

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda5


upon reboot I got the splashscreen to choose the kernel. After choosing I get this:
Code:
Booting 'Gentoo Linus 2.6.12-r6'
root (hd0,4)
 Filesystem type is ext2fs, partitin type 0x83
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/hda5


Error 15: File not found

Press any key to continue...


So now I am thinking I can reboot with the live cd, remount all partitions and get back into linux and adjust the /grub.conf to (hd0,0) for root and root=/dev/hda1 and grub will boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saturday
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2004
Posts: 246
Location: de/munich/home

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In case you used genkernel, your grub.conf should look different!
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/2005.1/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#book_part1_chap10

Code:
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda5
is too short.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

saturday wrote:
In case you used genkernel, your grub.conf should look different!
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/2005.1/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#book_part1_chap10

Code:
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda5
is too short.


Thanks but I did not use genkernel. I did manual config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That depends on where your partitions are located.

Where is your boot partition and where is you root partition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

loki99 wrote:
That depends on where your partitions are located.

Where is your boot partition and where is you root partition?


boot is /dev/hda1 root is /dev/hda5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saturday
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Dec 2004
Posts: 246
Location: de/munich/home

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tbagz wrote:

So now I am thinking I can reboot with the live cd, remount all partitions and get back into linux and adjust the /grub.conf to (hd0,0) for root and root=/dev/hda1 and grub will boot?

Imho it should be
Code:
root=/dev/hda5
if the given info about partitions is correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

saturday wrote:
Tbagz wrote:

So now I am thinking I can reboot with the live cd, remount all partitions and get back into linux and adjust the /grub.conf to (hd0,0) for root and root=/dev/hda1 and grub will boot?

Imho it should be
Code:
root=/dev/hda5
if the given info about partitions is correct.



so it should be:
Code:

root (hd0,0)

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda5


and can I reboot with live CD, remount the partitions and change it? or start again from square 1? Im just no sure if it cant find the file in boot or root... I mean if it is suppose to be pointed to boot and I sent it to root or vice versa...lol. sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tbagz wrote:

so it should be:
Code:

root (hd0,0)

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda5


and can I reboot with live CD, remount the partitions and change it? or start again from square 1? Im just no sure if it cant find the file in boot or root... I mean if it is suppose to be pointed to boot and I sent it to root or vice versa...lol. sorry.


No! You do not need to start all over! Just fix the entry in your grub.conf.

After compiling your kernel you did copy it to /boot, right?

If you are not sure, post the output of
Code:
ls -l /boot

or
Code:
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot

..if you haven't chrooted yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

loki99 wrote:
Tbagz wrote:

so it should be:
Code:

root (hd0,0)

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda5


and can I reboot with live CD, remount the partitions and change it? or start again from square 1? Im just no sure if it cant find the file in boot or root... I mean if it is suppose to be pointed to boot and I sent it to root or vice versa...lol. sorry.


No! You do not need to start all over! Just fix the entry in your grub.conf.

After compiling your kernel you did copy it to /boot, right?

If you are not sure, post the output of
Code:
ls -l /boot

or
Code:
ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot

..if you haven't chrooted yet.


Well I had chrooted. but now I have the pc off. about to go to sleep and start again tomorrow. BUt I can reboot with live cd and remount right? and then edit grub.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tbagz wrote:

Well I had chrooted. but now I have the pc off. about to go to sleep and start again tomorrow. BUt I can reboot with live cd and remount right? and then edit grub.conf?

:lol:

Right! No problem here!

You'll see! After a good night sleep things will become much clearer! :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Tbagz,

yes you can boot with the live-cd, mount the partitions and edit the file. Not only can you do it, as you should do it! ;-) ALso, you only need to chroot if you must compile the kernel or run any command from the disk, instead of the cd.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok thanks loki and jmb, Ill try again tomorrow, or later today that is....lol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tbagz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i am trying to get back to the grub.conf . and I am folllowing so tips from the "grub errors thread" and when I ls /boot it only shows boot and no bzImage but also if I ry to ls /usr/src/linux or ls /mnt/gentoo/usr/portage/distfiles it says no file or directory.

so am I not mounted properly? or are they missing now? man I'm lost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum