Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Changing the system's motherboard: AMD -> Intel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
epretorious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 191
Location: Truckee, CA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 4:36 am    Post subject: Changing the system's motherboard: AMD -> Intel Reply with quote

'Just a quick sanity check: My Gentoo mail server's AMD motherboard died and my only option for replacement is an Intel motherboard.

It seems to me that recovery should be as simple as...

1. Remove & replace the motherboard (being careful to preserve the HDD-to-IDE relationships).
2. Boot the Gentoo Install CD and begin a basic installation:
a. Mount the HDD-partitions in /mnt/gentoo.
b. `chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash; env-update; source /etc/profile;`
c. Configure /etc/make.conf (CHOST, CFLAGS, CXXFLAGS).
d. `emerge -e world`
3. Reconfigure the kernel (change CONFIG_MK7 to CONFIG_MPENTIUMIII) and re-build/re-install.

Could it really be that simple? All of the configuration files should be safe (CONFIG_PROTECT)... Right? :?:
_________________
Eric P.
Sunnyvale, CA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kiksen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 401
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

I think you'll need to bootstrap it before emerge -e world, to make sure the toolchain is functional first. If you expand the line

emerge -e world

to

cd /usr/portage; scripts/bootstrap.sh; emerge -e system; emerge -e world

I think you'd be good to go.

Good luck :)

/kiksen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, it can be that simple. but if you're changing chost you could run into problems. i'd recommend this:

Code:
emerge -e system
emerge -e system
emerge -e world
emerge -e world


if you configure your kernel to provide backward compatability, you would not have to rebuild it. similarly, by using an appropriate combination of march and mtune, you could avoid having to rebuild anything next time.

for my servers, for example, i build everything with backward compatability to pentium. doing so eliminates the kind of problems you're having.
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bob P wrote:
yes, it can be that simple. but if you're changing chost you could run into problems. i'd recommend this:

Code:
emerge -e system
emerge -e system
emerge -e world
emerge -e world

Reinstalling from scratch would be faster actually. Just backup your configuration files and restore them later.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, that could take a long time. reinstallation may ultimately be quicker, but it requires interactive input on your part. in contrast, brute strengh recompiling on a fast machine that doesn't require user input may ultimately involve less of your time. which choice is most efficient depends on the user. my only reason for suggesting the lengthy approach was to keep him from running into problems caused by static library retention if he decides to use the recompilation approach.
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epretorious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 191
Location: Truckee, CA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bob P wrote:
yeah, that could take a long time. reinstallation may ultimately be quicker, but it requires interactive input on your part. in contrast, brute strengh recompiling on a fast machine that doesn't require user input may ultimately involve less of your time.

My first priority is to maintain the configuration & data of the system (e.g., mail queued for delivery, databases, passwords, etc.), hence, the appeal of re-compiling the system in-place.
Bob P wrote:
my only reason for suggesting the lengthy approach was to keep him from running into problems caused by static library retention if he decides to use the recompilation approach.

I've started down the path prescribed by kiksen:
Quote:
1. Remove & replace the motherboard (being careful to preserve the HDD-to-IDE relationships).
2. Boot the Gentoo Install CD and begin a basic installation:
a. Mount the HDD-partitions in /mnt/gentoo.
b. `chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash; env-update; source /etc/profile;`
c. Configure /etc/make.conf (CHOST, CFLAGS, CXXFLAGS).
d. `cd /usr/portage/; ./scripts/bootstrap.sh`
e. `emerge -e system`
<== completed and paused
f. `emerge -e world`
3. Reconfigure the kernel (change CONFIG_MK7 to CONFIG_MPENTIUMIII) and re-build/re-install.

:?: Should I really `emerge -e system` twice before moving-on to the final `emerge -e world`? (This is a fairly slow system so it's taken approx. 10 hours just to get this far.)
Bob P wrote:
Code:
emerge -e system
emerge -e system
emerge -e world
emerge -e world

Thanks for all your help Bob, Kiksen, and Nixnut. :wink:
_________________
Eric P.
Sunnyvale, CA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for a server, where downtime = trouble, i would do it.
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kiksen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 401
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think you have to emerge -e system twice when you have already bootstapped your system, but I might be wrong. Good luck anyway :)

/kiksen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epretorious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 191
Location: Truckee, CA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to be on the safe side I emerge'd system twice, emerge'd world once, and then rebuilt the kernel and re-ran lilo. Everything seems to work just fine! <knock on wood!> :D
_________________
Eric P.
Sunnyvale, CA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aynjell
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Um...

No?

I'd think that changing mobo's and CPU's (providing both have similar instruction sets (if the intel chip has more, it's fine)) would make you just have to recompile the kernel. What am I missing here?
_________________
CPU: 3800+ X2 (2.5Ghz)
GPU: eVGA 7600GT (640/1700)
MOBO: DFI SLI-DR (Surprisingly good!)
RAM: 2 x OCZ Gold 1024 DDR500 3-4-3-7 (2048)
HDD: Western Digital Raptor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epretorious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 191
Location: Truckee, CA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aynjell wrote:
I'd think that changing mobo's and CPU's (providing both have similar instruction sets (if the intel chip has more, it's fine)) would make you just have to recompile the kernel. What am I missing here?

The two processors (AMD Duron and Intel Celeron2) have different CFLAGS. Seems like reason enough to me to recompile. :?
_________________
Eric P.
Sunnyvale, CA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aynjell
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 1117

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it does. I just didn't think it was diehard required. Seems like the celeron was a step up, wasn't it?
_________________
CPU: 3800+ X2 (2.5Ghz)
GPU: eVGA 7600GT (640/1700)
MOBO: DFI SLI-DR (Surprisingly good!)
RAM: 2 x OCZ Gold 1024 DDR500 3-4-3-7 (2048)
HDD: Western Digital Raptor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum