View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
djscribble Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 116
|
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:48 pm Post subject: Splitting a dvi output in X |
|
|
Greetings,
I have a card that has only a dvi output and a splitter that will split the 1 dvi to 2 vga outputs. Is it possible to configure X to send 2 screen outputs through the splitter and if so How??
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 5:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
djscribble,
The DVI output connector also contains the analogue video output signals, so you can use either.
Does your video card support two independant displays, or only one dispaly that can be connected to either the digital output or the analogue output?
Knowing the make and model of the Video card would help provide a more detailed response. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
djscribble Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 116
|
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 5:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry for the lack of info...
I have a radeon 7000 which has both a vga and a dvi-i output on the card, i would like to further the split by splitting the dvi into 2 vga so that i can have a triple monitor setup, below is my current working dual-display, however with my current display settings, i am not able to have both monitors on the vga-splitter, but rather, one on the splitter (output 1) and one on the built-in vga.
thanks again
Code: |
# **********************************************************************
# Module section
# **********************************************************************
Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "vnc"
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga"
EndSubSection
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Files section. This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************
Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/local/"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************
Section "ServerFlags"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Input devices
# **********************************************************************
# **********************************************************************
# Core keyboard's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "kbd"
Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Buttons" "5"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Other input device sections
# **********************************************************************
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "vncKeyboard"
Driver "rfbkeyb"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "vncMouse"
Driver "rfbmouse"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Left"
HorizSync 31.5 - 64.3
VertRefresh 50-70
Option "dpms"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Right"
HorizSync 31.5 - 64.3
VertRefresh 50-70
Option "dpms"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************
Section "Device"
Identifier "Standard VGA"
VendorName "Unknown"
BoardName "Unknown"
Driver "vga"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "Radeon 7000 (0)"
VendorName "ATI"
BoardName "ATI Radeon"
Driver "radeon"
Option "DDCMode" "on"
Option "DPMS"
Option "MergedFB" "Virtual 2560x1024"
Option "CRT2Position" "RightOf"
Screen 0
VideoRam 65536
Option "usevnc"
Option "localhost"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "Radeon 7000 (1)"
VendorName "ATI"
BoardName "ATI Radeon"
Driver "radeon"
Option "DDCMode" "on"
Option "DPMS"
Screen 1
VideoRam 65536
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections
# **********************************************************************
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 0"
Device "Radeon 7000 (0)"
Monitor "Left"
DefaultDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "Radeon 7000 (1)"
Monitor "Right"
DefaultDepth 16
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# ServerLayout sections.
# **********************************************************************
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Multihead layout"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
Screen "Screen 0" 0 0
Screen "Screen 1" RightOf "Screen 0"
EndSection
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 6:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
djscribble,
I can't find any information that shows the Radion 7000 can drive three displays.
This page
suggests that the analgue and digital outputs contain the same data. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
djscribble Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 116
|
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 6:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OK, so if there isn't a way to do a triple display, is there a way to tell X to use the DVI output for both screen 0 and screen 1?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
djscribble,
No, it a single output. It cannot be split _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|