View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
matador Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 174 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:09 pm Post subject: configure cups/samba [unsolved] |
|
|
Hi. I've spent the last couple of days trying to figure out how to share my printer on my Gentoo box with my girlfriends MS Windows XP box. They are both on the same LAN 192.168.0.* using a D-Link DI604 firewall/router and the XP firewall has UDP and TCP open on all ports to the Gentoo box, which doesn't have a firewall on it. I've tried many howtos and docs but none has worked so far. The latest was:
http://gentoo-wiki.com/index.php?title=HOWTO_Native_Windows_Printing_with_CUPS/Samba&printable=yes
This is my first time dealing with samba so I'm not sure of what to look for... Samba and Cups are starting fine. Samba doesn't complain but cups logs this when I try to find it in the MS network thingie:
Code: |
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:26 +0200] AcceptClient: 5 from 192.168.0.191:631.
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:26 +0200] ReadClient: 5 OPTIONS //printers HTTP/1.1
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:26 +0200] ReadClient: 5 OPTIONS //printers/queue HTTP/1.1
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] ReadClient: 5 GET /_vti_inf.html HTTP/1.1
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] SendError: 5 code=404 (Not Found)
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] CloseClient: 5
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] AcceptClient: 5 from 192.168.0.191:631.
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] ReadClient: 5 POST /_vti_bin/shtml.exe/_vti_rpc $
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] SendError: 5 code=404 (Not Found)
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] CloseClient: 5
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] AcceptClient: 5 from 192.168.0.191:631.
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] ReadClient: 5 OPTIONS / HTTP/1.1
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:30 +0200] ReadClient: 5 OPTIONS /printers/queue HTTP/1.1
D [27/Oct/2005:18:05:38 +0200] CloseClient: 5
D [27/Oct/2005:18:09:27 +0200] AcceptClient: 5 from localhost:631.
D [27/Oct/2005:18:09:27 +0200] ReadClient: 5 POST / HTTP/1.1
D [27/Oct/2005:18:09:27 +0200] ProcessIPPRequest: 5 status_code=0
D [27/Oct/2005:18:09:27 +0200] ReadClient: 5 POST / HTTP/1.1
D [27/Oct/2005:18:09:27 +0200] ProcessIPPRequest: 5 status_code=0
D [27/Oct/2005:18:09:27 +0200] CloseClient: 5
|
My cupsd.conf:
Code: |
ServerName localhost
ServerAdmin root@localhost
AccessLog /var/log/cups/access_log
DocumentRoot /usr/share/cups/docs
ErrorLog /var/log/cups/error_log
LogLevel debug
User lp
Group lp
Port 631
MaxClients 100
BrowseAddress @IF(eth0)
SystemGroup lp
<Location />
Order Deny,Allow
Deny From All
Allow From 192.168.0.*
</Location>
<Location /admin>
AuthType Basic
AuthClass System
Order Deny,Allow
Deny From All
Allow From 192.168.0.*
</Location>
|
My smb.conf:
Code: |
netbios name = linuxburken
workgroup = sambaworkers
server string = sambaserver
hosts allow = 192.168.0.0/24 127.0.0.0/8
security = user
encrypt passwords = yes
socket options = TCP_NODELAY SO_RCVBUF=8192 SO_SNDBUF=8192
interfaces = lo eth0
bind interfaces only = yes
null passwords = no
hide unreadable = yes
hide dot files = yes
printcap name = cups
printing = cups
cups options = "raw"
use client driver = no
comment = All Printers
path = /var/spool/samba
browseable = no
public = yes
guest ok = yes
writable = no
printable = yes
|
My nsswitch.conf has wins added to hosts, the mime.convs and mime.types has been changed as stated.
This is the printer in printers.conf that I want to share. It is a HP LJ 1320 with an usb connection. It works fine under linux.
Code: |
<Printer hp>
Info
Location
DeviceURI usb:/dev/usb/lp0
State Idle
Accepting Yes
JobSheets none none
QuotaPeriod 0
PageLimit 0
KLimit 0
</Printer>
|
What am I missing? I can print fine from another computer using Linux but not from the one using Windows. I don't think I can take much more coffee, late nights, naggings from my girlfriend or the embarrassment of not being able to do this.... help? _________________ #267386
Checked the wiki or the faq?
Answear a post if you've got time
Last edited by matador on Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:52 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
LordArthas Guru
Joined: 01 Nov 2004 Posts: 500 Location: Maniago, Friûl, Italia
|
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:59 pm Post subject: Re: configure cups/samba |
|
|
Hi matador!
matador wrote: |
Code: |
comment = All Printers
path = /var/spool/samba
browseable = no
public = yes
guest ok = yes
writable = no
printable = yes
|
|
This part of smb.conf should really have a [printers] line at the top of it.
Quote: |
What am I missing? I can print fine from another computer using Linux but not from the one using Windows. I don't think I can take much more coffee, late nights, naggings from my girlfriend or the embarrassment of not being able to do this.... help? |
What is the exact problem? Are you unable to find the printer when browsing the netowrk neighborhood from Windows?
Don't make your girlfriend wait too much.
Michele. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
matador Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 174 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi again!
Well, I'm trying to focus more on the important, her, but it would be nice to get rid of the samba problem.
Yes, the problem is that I can't seem to find the computer on the network neighborhood. I thought it would be there but I just can't seem to find it... I then tried adding it with an ip adress: http://ip, http://ip:631, ip, ip:/631, http://ip:631/printers/name, http://ip:631/printers aso but no go.
If I try to install the printer by adding a network printer with http://ip:631/printers/name, the window in Windows stalls when choosing the driver. So what do I lack? _________________ #267386
Checked the wiki or the faq?
Answear a post if you've got time |
|
Back to top |
|
|
matador Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 174 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 6:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
I forgot, I added [printers] to that part in smb.conf. No change though. _________________ #267386
Checked the wiki or the faq?
Answear a post if you've got time |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DDV01 n00b
Joined: 08 Jul 2003 Posts: 70 Location: The Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 6:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Windows XP can print directly to cups, install a network printer in XP and have it point to something like:
Code: |
http://yourhost:631/printers/PrinterName
|
Make Sure you select the Windows driver yourself.
For older clients I use Samba:
Code: |
[PrinterName]
path = /var/spool/lp0
printable = Yes
browseable = yes
public = yes
guest ok = yes
use client driver = yes
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
matador Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 174 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I did that and choosed HP's postscript driver for my printer but the installer frose when clicking 'next'. _________________ #267386
Checked the wiki or the faq?
Answear a post if you've got time |
|
Back to top |
|
|
matador Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 174 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Update:
I tried the PCL 6 driver from HP instead of the postscript driver. I got this little window with progress, stating that some files were installed somewhere but then, again, the add printer guide stopped responding and froze, just like the other one...
Windows XP doesn't seem to have a xkill and the guide doesn't show up in the programs; so I can't kill the process. When I restart the printer folder states that the previously installed printer is opening... So I'm back to square one. _________________ #267386
Checked the wiki or the faq?
Answear a post if you've got time |
|
Back to top |
|
|
matador Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 174 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 12:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I just tried to print anyway on the printer that showed up and it worked! I can't choose any setting or so but I can at least print. When I chosse settings on the printer in Windows, nothing happens. Same thing happens in the printers menu, where it says that the printer is opening... Is it possible to get any alternatives such as duplex? _________________ #267386
Checked the wiki or the faq?
Answear a post if you've got time |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|