Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Powernow on Abit AV8
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
flitsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 11:18 am    Post subject: Powernow on Abit AV8 Reply with quote

Has anybody managed to get powernow(-k8) working on a Abit AV8 motherboard? My processor is a Athlon64 3000+ Venice (90nm). I've got the latest BIOS version (1.9) with Cool'n'Quiet enabled, but powernow-k8 fails with
Code:
powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon 64 / Opteron processors (version 1.50.3)
powernow-k8: BIOS error - no PSB or ACPI _PSS objects

I am using gentoo-sources 2.6.13-r3:
Code:
#
# Processor type and features
#
CONFIG_MK8=y
# CONFIG_MPSC is not set
# CONFIG_GENERIC_CPU is not set
CONFIG_X86_L1_CACHE_BYTES=64
CONFIG_X86_L1_CACHE_SHIFT=6
CONFIG_X86_TSC=y
CONFIG_X86_GOOD_APIC=y
# CONFIG_MICROCODE is not set
CONFIG_X86_MSR=y
CONFIG_X86_CPUID=y
CONFIG_X86_IO_APIC=y
CONFIG_X86_LOCAL_APIC=y
CONFIG_MTRR=y
# CONFIG_SMP is not set
# CONFIG_PREEMPT_NONE is not set
CONFIG_PREEMPT_VOLUNTARY=y
# CONFIG_PREEMPT is not set
# CONFIG_NUMA is not set
CONFIG_ARCH_FLATMEM_ENABLE=y
CONFIG_SELECT_MEMORY_MODEL=y
CONFIG_FLATMEM_MANUAL=y
# CONFIG_DISCONTIGMEM_MANUAL is not set
# CONFIG_SPARSEMEM_MANUAL is not set
CONFIG_FLATMEM=y
CONFIG_FLAT_NODE_MEM_MAP=y
CONFIG_HAVE_ARCH_EARLY_PFN_TO_NID=y
CONFIG_HPET_TIMER=y
CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER=y
CONFIG_HPET_EMULATE_RTC=y
# CONFIG_GART_IOMMU is not set
CONFIG_DUMMY_IOMMU=y
CONFIG_X86_MCE=y
# CONFIG_X86_MCE_INTEL is not set
CONFIG_PHYSICAL_START=0x100000
# CONFIG_KEXEC is not set
CONFIG_SECCOMP=y
# CONFIG_HZ_100 is not set
CONFIG_HZ_250=y
# CONFIG_HZ_1000 is not set
CONFIG_HZ=250
CONFIG_GENERIC_HARDIRQS=y
CONFIG_GENERIC_IRQ_PROBE=y
CONFIG_ISA_DMA_API=y
#
# Power management options
#
CONFIG_PM=y
# CONFIG_PM_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_SOFTWARE_SUSPEND=y
CONFIG_PM_STD_PARTITION=""

#
# ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP_PROC_FS=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP_PROC_SLEEP is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_HOTKEY is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_IBM is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=2001
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set

#
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y

#
# CPUFreq processor drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8=y
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8_ACPI=y
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO is not set
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y

I hope I did not forget anything important. Is there a problem with those settings? Are there special settings in the BIOS (other than enabling C'n'Q) that I should look at?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazycat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 838
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it's a kernel bug. 2.6.0 - 2.6.13 worked for me with powernow and now suddenly 2.6.14 won't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flitsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your reply but I don't even have 2.6.14 yet. Got 2.6.13-r3 and this is the first kernel I tried on this board. I've already been searching the kernel changelog on kernel.org for something that might help but didn't find anything. I also looked through powernow-k8.h and find_psb_table where the error message comes from. There is the following advice:
Code:
    /*
     * If you see this message, complain to BIOS manufacturer. If
     * he tells you "we do not support Linux" or some similar
     * nonsense, remember that Windows 2000 uses the same legacy
     * mechanism that the old Linux PSB driver uses. Tell them it
     * is broken with Windows 2000.
     *
     * The reference to the AMD documentation is chapter 9 in the
     * BIOS and Kernel Developer's Guide, which is available on
     * www.amd.com
     */
    printk(KERN_INFO PFX "BIOS error - no PSB or ACPI _PSS objects\n");

I've been too lazy to install windows, but I could also not find anything about Abit & powernow not working on my board (Abit AV8) - thus, I assume that it should work and I would like to know why I don't get it to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flitsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried vanilla-sources 2.6.14 today but powernow didn't work there either
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guduri
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 230
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same exact board and am running bios version 24 which is the latest for that board from Abit web site. I dont know where you got version 1.9.

I am running 2.6.13-r3 and it works fine for me. The only difference is that my processor is a 3000+ Winchester. So, maybe it is processor related...
_________________
Power is about what you can control. Freedom is about what you can unleash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flitsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot for this hint! I must have been on an old mirror for the driver. Updated to 24 and now the output is

Quote:
powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon 64 / Opteron processors (version 1.50.3)
powernow-k8: 0 : fid 0xa (1800 MHz), vid 0x6 (1400 mV)
powernow-k8: 1 : fid 0x2 (1000 MHz), vid 0x12 (1100 mV)


Great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum