View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
d3m0 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/418483954437cb48f98cab.jpg)
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:49 am Post subject: SMTP AUTH only |
|
|
I have follwed the qmail install for Gentoo and I have everything working. My question is with SMTPAUTH. How do you configure qmail to only allow clients that have/are authenticated to relay? Right now my configuration seems to allow authenticed and non-authenticaed clients the ability to relay.
my config file for smtp is:
Code: |
mail ~ # cat /var/qmail/control/conf-smtpd
TCPSERVER_OPTS="${TCPSERVER_OPTS} -R"
#QMAIL_TCPSERVER_PRE="${QMAIL_TCPSERVER_PRE} envdir /etc/relay-ctrl relay-ctrl-chdir"
#QMAIL_SMTP_PRE="${QMAIL_SMTP_PRE} relay-ctrl-check"
QMAIL_SMTP_AUTHHOST=$(<${QMAIL_CONTROLDIR}/me)
[ -z "${QMAIL_SMTP_POST}" ] && QMAIL_SMTP_POST=/bin/true
QMAIL_SMTP_CHECKPASSWORD="/var/vpopmail/bin/vchkpw"
QMAIL_SMTP_POST="${QMAIL_SMTP_AUTHHOST} ${QMAIL_SMTP_CHECKPASSWORD} ${QMAIL_SMTP_POST}"
|
and i've vchkpw setuid like in the manual
Code: |
mail ~ # ll /var/vpopmail/bin/vchkpw
-rws--x--x 1 root root 74188 Nov 16 10:23 /var/vpopmail/bin/vchkpw
|
any clue about this? i've seen a lot of posts in other forums than this but never see a question for this answer
Thanks all _________________ Run? Nothing runs in Windows. Maybe a brisk walk, but never run. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
geforce l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Cars/5.gif)
Joined: 29 Dec 2003 Posts: 654 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
I also have problems with qmail-smtp...
But I think /etc/tcprules.d/tcp.qmail-smtp could be a part of the problem...
Here is my /etc/tcprules.d/tcp.qmail-smtp.cdb
Quote: |
#------------------------------------------------------
# To update the database after changing this file, run:
# /var/qmail/bin/qmail-rulesupdate
#------------------------------------------------------
#
# If you set 'allow', this means that our mail server will allow
# the specified IP range to make a TCP connection to our server
#
# If you set 'deny', this means that our mail server will not allow
# the specified IP range to make a TCP connection to our server
#
# If you set RELAYCLIENT="", this means that the listed IP range is
# allowed to relay mail through our server
#
# If you don't set RELAYCLIENT="", this means that the listed IP range
# will not be able to relay mail through our server
#
# A complete list of environment variables you can set are:
# AUTHPREPEND RBL SSLCERT
# AUTHREQUIRED RBLONLYHEADER SMTPAUTH
# BLOCKRELAYPROBE RCPTCHECK SMTP550DISCONNECT
# LDAPSOFTOK REJECTEXEC TARPITCOUNT
# LOGLEVEL RELAYCLIENT TARPITDELAY
# MAXRCPTCOUNT RETURNMXCHECK 421GREETING
# NOBOUNCE SANITYCHECK 550GREETING
# QMAILQUEUE SENDERCHECK
#
# You should read the QLDAPINSTALL file (included in the docs) for a
# detailed explanation of what these settings do. However, a reasonable
# example would be:
#
##Allow localhost to relay mail:
# 127.0.0.1:allow,RELAYCLIENT=""
##Allow five hosts on the LAN to relay mail. RBL lookups are off, but we still
## scan for viruses, SPAM, and properly formatted sender information
# 1.2.3.1-5:allow,RELAYCLIENT="",QMAILQUEUE="/var/qmail/bin/simscan",SANITYCHECK=""
##Allow a sixth host to relay mail with no checks:
# 1.2.3.6:allow,RELAYCLIENT=""
##Everyone else has to jump through hoops!
# :allow,SMTPAUTH="STARTTLS",RBL="",QMAILQUEUE="/var/qmail/bin/simscan",BLOCKRELAYPROBE="",RETURNMXCHECK="",SANITYCHECK="",REJECTEXEC=""
# Actual rules:
#:allow
127.0.0.1:allow,RELAYCLIENT=""
XXX.XXX.XXX.:allow,RELAYCLIENT=""
:allow
|
I'm still messing with this..
If you got it up and working, please tell me
GeForce _________________ http://tilde.club/~geforce/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
LinuxRocks Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Sonic/3.gif)
Joined: 27 Nov 2003 Posts: 397 Location: New Mexico
|
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
What you have to do is use the checkpasswd utiltiy so qmail will ask for a password when sending, and make the change in your /var/qmail/supervise/qmail-smtpd/run file as such:
Code: |
exec /usr/local/bin/softlimit -m 4000000 \
/usr/local/bin/tcpserver -v -R -H -l "$LOCAL" -x /etc/tcp.smtp.cdb -c "$MAXSMTPD" \
-u "$QMAILDUID" -g "$NOFILESGID" 0 smtp /usr/local/bin/rblsmtpd -r relays.ordb.org -r bl.spamcop.net \
/var/qmail/bin/qmail-smtpd "$LOCAL" /bin/checkpassword /bin/true 2>&1
|
Of course, all you really need to add is the /bin/checkpassword /bin/true 2>&1 part...
I would read up on it also before makeing many changes... You have to also set the suid bit on the /bin/checkpassword file so anyone can execute the file, AND (As a security measure) use setfacl and add the qmaild user as an owner along with root and chmod 750 the file. That way, only the owners (Root and qmaild) can execute the file and NO ONE ELSE... This, however, is optional, but you still have to suid the checkpassword file.
To use acl's, you will have to add acl to the option line for the filesystem in fstab and mount -o remount the filesystem.
After all that, then you can limit the tcp.smtp file to only your local machine to relay
Hope this helps!!!
Joe |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
geforce l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Cars/5.gif)
Joined: 29 Dec 2003 Posts: 654 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Welll, I want to do a production server with domains and everything..
If you could post the config files you mentionned it would really be GREAT, FINALLY!!!!
Thanks,,
Phil _________________ http://tilde.club/~geforce/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
LinuxRocks Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Sonic/3.gif)
Joined: 27 Nov 2003 Posts: 397 Location: New Mexico
|
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 11:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
geforce wrote: | Welll, I want to do a production server with domains and everything..
If you could post the config files you mentionned it would really be GREAT, FINALLY!!!!
Thanks,,
Phil |
Well, there are really no config files to make changes to. You would modify your run file and install the checkpassword utility in portage. You can also tinker with checkpassword over SSL or even cmd5checkpw instead of checkpasswd. That might require a bit of reading to set up, but would really be more secure...
There are tons of web sites dedicated to this topic. Its been a while since I did it last, so I would read up on it so you know excatly what to do...
Joe |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|