Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kernel compile[solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
garskoci
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Chicago, IL - U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 1:31 am    Post subject: kernel compile[solved] Reply with quote

Hello,

I am in the process of an install and am having a problem compiling the kernel. I've gone over the steps a few times, but can't determine what I have missed. I'm working with the minimum CD image. Kernel Build: linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r2 the header file listed does not exist.
Any thoughts?

Code:

/bin/sh: -c: line0: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `""
/bin/sh: -c: line1: syntax error: unexpected end of file
make: *** [include/linux/version.h] Error 2


Last edited by garskoci on Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you configure your kernel manually or did you use genkernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garskoci
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Chicago, IL - U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did it manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you did something like:
Code:
make menuconfig
Saved the new configuration when you exited.
make && make modules_install

and it is blowing up on the make?

I just want to be sure of the steps that you followed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garskoci
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Chicago, IL - U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exactly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, since the devs crippled the search function a while back, I haven't been able to find any decent answer for you. My only suggestion at this point is start over at the point where you create your filesystems on the partitions. No need to re-partition, just reapply (reformat) the filesystems and start from there. Be very sure that you don't skip any steps, or blindly type in commands that are just examples and need to be modified in some way.

Sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garskoci
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Chicago, IL - U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help anyway. Considering the error, if it was something that I did, it would have to be in the make.conf file. But, on the other hand, if it was due to the install, there would be a gazillion other people screaming. Ahhhh....... back at it! :o
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syg00
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 907
Location: Brisbane, AUS

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You didn't happen to run out of space during the un-tar of the source by any chance ???.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garskoci
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Chicago, IL - U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. But, I just tried to do a df and none of my filesystems are there. I mounted them earlier. I should still be able to see, shouldn't I? Something is spanked. 8O

I guess that I'll fire up the livecd again, create filesystems and go thru the install. Bummer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garskoci
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Chicago, IL - U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if it matters or not. But I found this error in the kernel emerge.
Command: emerge gentoo-sources


Code:

livecd / # emerge gentoo-sources > foo
awk: cmd. line:2: fatal: cannot open file `/var/tmp/portage/gentoo-sources-2.6.14-r2/work/linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r2/include/linux/version.h' for reading (No such file or directory)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

You should make sure that you didn't have problems decompressing the stage tarball and the portage snapshot.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm getting this error when I try to merge the latest gentoo-sources. I have an Intel box as well as an Amd box, and they are both giving the same error. For the Intel box, emerge wants to merge gentoo-sources-2.6.14-r2 and for the AMD box, emerge wants to merge gentoo-sources-2.6.13-r5. Here are the two error messages:

x86:

Code:
awk: cmd. line:1: fatal: cannot open file `/var/tmp/portage/gentoo-sources-2.6.14-r2/work/linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r2/include/linux/version.h' for reading (No such file or directory)


amd64:

Code:
awk: cmd. line:1: fatal: cannot open file `/var/tmp/portage/gentoo-sources-2.6.13-r5/work/linux-2.6.13-gentoo-r5/include/linux/version.h' for reading (No such file or directory)


In both cases, the error occurs after the tarball has been decompressed. It happens either during or after a bunch of patches are applied. In both cases, the previous message before the error is:

Code:
 * Applying 4905_alpha-sysctl-uac.patch (-p0+) ...                        [ ok ]


I checked to make sure that there was enough disk space to decompress the whole tarball. The emerge doesn't stop when the error message is printed. The emerge continues after this and reports that the emerge completed. There are no error messages in /var/log/emerge.log. The file /usr/src/linux-2.6.14-r2/include/linux/version.h exists on the intel box as does /usr/src/linux-2.6.13-r5/include/linux/version.h.

Is it safe to ignore the error message?

By the way, I extracted the tarball manually and when I looked, there wasn't any version.h in the include/linux subdirectory.

John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jle wrote:
Is it safe to ignore the error message?

Yes - the kernel still works.
_________________
Improve your font rendering and ALSA sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garskoci
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Chicago, IL - U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John-

Safe??? Well, I got verything up and running last night. As far as being safe, so far, I would say yes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum