View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
turtletime n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 8:48 pm Post subject: Why does my eth0 work as a module but not complied? |
|
|
I tried to get my Intel Pro/100 ethernet adapter to work by :
Then selecting my card driver under Device Drivers-> Network adapters -> 10/100mbit -> Intel Pro/100
Then :
Code: | make && make modules_install
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r2
cp .config /boot/config-2.6.14-gentoo-r2
reboot
|
After I reboot it still does not work. And I do a :
Code: | uname -v
#2 SMP PREEMPT Fri Nov 18 03:32:14 Local time zone must be set--
|
That time is not right however. It seems that is when I did one of my recompiles off the liveCD. So anyway I try just to do it as a module:
Change the * to an M and again:
Code: | make && make modules_install
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r2
cp .config /boot/config-2.6.14-gentoo-r2
|
Then :
Found the module and did :
Now when I do a :
I see the eth0. So I add "e100" to my :
Code: | /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 |
And reboot. And everything works!!!
Now why does it work as a module but not when I compiled it directly into the kernel. Am I missing a step or doing something wrong when re-comiling the kernel?
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
BoNd60 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/334428712438a0d8de7e67.jpg)
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 73 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't think it is the solution but i thought you had to copy your System.map into your boot partition. I don't know exactly what's the purpose of this but i think it has to do with some mapping of the system and the hardware maybe. Can anyone confirme please? _________________ Oops, I think I'm not DOS compatible
In every situation, don't forget that the answer is 42 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rev138 l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/115186396341f6ff26dd887.gif)
Joined: 19 Jun 2003 Posts: 848 Location: Vermont, USA
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The System.map is not relevant. The handbook tells you to copy it to /boot purely for backup purposes. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtletime n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmmm...I didn't see anything about that in the handbook....might have missed it.
Anyone? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rev138 l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/115186396341f6ff26dd887.gif)
Joined: 19 Jun 2003 Posts: 848 Location: Vermont, USA
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:15 pm Post subject: Re: Why does my eth0 work as a module but not complied? |
|
|
turtletime wrote: | Now why does it work as a module but not when I compiled it directly into the kernel. Am I missing a step or doing something wrong when re-comiling the kernel? |
This is just a guess, but it might have something to do with your system not autodetecting the card. Try emerging coldplug and adding it to your boot runlevel. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Sakkath Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 06 Nov 2005 Posts: 198 Location: Pawtucket, RI
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try this? Code: | rc-update add net.eth0 default | and reboot? Do you have dhcpcd emerged?
I'm a Linux newbie, if I'm completely wrong, I'm sorry. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
BoNd60 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/334428712438a0d8de7e67.jpg)
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 73 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Try this?
Code:
rc-update add net.eth0 default
and reboot? |
I don't think that's his problem, because the module works fine and not when built in
net.eth0 just contains the options for ifconfig and the routes for every network adapter (well, a little more but i think that's the most important) and when it adds to the default runlevel, it justs configure the interface on startup _________________ Oops, I think I'm not DOS compatible
In every situation, don't forget that the answer is 42 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Sakkath Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 06 Nov 2005 Posts: 198 Location: Pawtucket, RI
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 9:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I know that but I wasn't sure if he had /etc/init.d/net.eth0 started. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
turtletime n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 18 Nov 2005 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 10:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Right....eth0 is definately trying to start I just get...
Eth0 cannot be found
I think that is it..I don't remember the exact error message. I think the problem is definately with my kernel compile. It seems the changes were not being made.
Like I said when I do the :
The time displayed is quite old.
I must be missing a step. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|