Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Internet Connection Problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Alvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 4:13 pm    Post subject: Internet Connection Problems Reply with quote

Well, to start, I`ve chosen gentoo because it downloads all the latest packages, which saves me going dependency hunting. I`ve set up a virtual PC with MS Virtual PC 2004 because I can`t afford another computer at the moment, and this PC warranty is still going, so I cant wipe it.

I`ve gotten as far as setting up the network with the minimal install CD, and it just doesnt seem to work. I run
Code:
net-setup
and select my appropriate settings, and then run
Code:
ifconfig
- rather than just bringing up lo, it displays eth0, which seems good, and I can test it, but when I try
Code:
ping -c 3 www.google.co.uk
it returns
Code:
unknown host: www.google.co.uk
, I look at my ifconfig again, and now it only displays lo. I would really appreciate help.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kazaza
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 100
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
What does
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start

give you?

Have you loaded the correct module for your nic?
run
Code:
lspci | grep net

to see what chipset your nic uses.
then
Code:
modprobe xxxxx

if you dont know the modules name, then run
Code:
find /lib/modules/<kernel version>/ -type f -iname '*.o' -or -iname '*.ko'

to find all modules available. look for the ones under net.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It gives me a list of several .ko modules, which do I choose?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kazaza
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 100
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What did this command give you for output?

Code:
lspci | grep net


If you post that I might be able to help you...

And change that last command to:
Code:
find /lib/modules/<your version here>/kernel/drivers/net/ -type f -iname '*.o' -or -iname '*.ko'


Please post that output too...

I saw now that the output of ifconfig is recognizing your network card... so please post that output too....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alvin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I can`t copy text, so this will have to do:
http://communistpirates.co.uk/zomggentoo.PNG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kazaza
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 100
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you could try this:
Code:
modprobe dc2114x


and if that doesnt give any errormessage,
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start

otherwise test an other of the ones that was listed under the "tulip" subfolder.
check to see that you have ip:
Code:
ifconfig eth0

should provide you with the ip that you have on the net.eth0 card.
that is probably all I can help you with today atleast, im off to bed now, going up early tomorrow...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
heerojyuy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem.
My card is Marvel Technology Goup, ltd 88E8001 gigabit ethernet controller (rev 13)

What would I use with modprobe?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augury
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 722
Location: philadelphia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

<*> New SysKonnect GigaEthernet support (EXPERIMENTAL)
<M> Marvell Yukon Chipset / SysKonnect SK-98xx Support

Although if its a new board you'll need the driver patch from the marvell web site. Go here http://www.marvell.com/drivers/search.do. Enter 88E8001. Pick the linux one, on second page. Download to something like /usr/src. Extract tarball. In /usr/src/DriverInstall run # sh ./install.sh. Select make a patch. Save patch in /usr/src/linux as something patchy like sklin.patch. Run # patch -i sklin.patch -p 1 (I think it -p 1) in /usr/src/linux. Then use the Marvellously patched driver (it the one that says marvell, leave the other one out if i won't find your network interface, its supposed to just doesn't have the chip in the hotplug list yet). If your on a live cd you'll need an interface card to get you started or a kernel and live cd that has your mod. Sorry bout this there seem to be licensing/kernel updating issues that there working on. You need to make a patch and apply it to every new kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augury
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 722
Location: philadelphia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't even remember what the module name is, something like ska. I don't know somebody help me out/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum