View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Night Goat n00b
Joined: 19 Apr 2002 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2002 1:35 am Post subject: Java runtime install confuses me |
|
|
OK, I found a bit of documentation on how to install java. It said basically, emerge blackdown-jre. So I did that, and then I ran java-config since it made sense to at least give that a test run. I got a message saying that no Java installation was found, and to run 'java-config --set-system-vm=???' to set a system-wide installation. But nowhere have I found the right syntax for blackdown. I tried --set-system-vm=blackdown and --set-system-vm=blackdown-jre, but neither of those worked. The man page for java-config didn't go over the possible entries there either. If anyone who has installed a JVM successfully could reply and let me know what they did, that'd be great. I'm not married to blackdown, I just saw it in some other documentation. I'll remove it if it leads to a proper JVM installation. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
slik n00b
Joined: 18 Apr 2002 Posts: 48 Location: Alberta, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2002 1:42 am Post subject: Re: Java runtime install confuses me |
|
|
Night Goat wrote: | run 'java-config --set-system-vm=???' to set a system-wide installation. But nowhere have I found the right syntax |
Example:
Code: | java-config --list-available-vms |
produces the following output:
[blackdown-jdk-1.3.1] Blackdown JDK 1.3.1 (/etc/env.d/java/20blackdown-jdk-1.3.1)
[blackdown-jre-1.3.1] Blackdown JRE 1.3.1 (/etc/env.d/java/20blackdown-jre-1.3.1)
now you can go (as root)
Code: | java-config --set-system-vm=blackdown-jdk-1.3.1 |
or
Code: | java-config --set-system-vm=blackdown-jre-1.3.1 |
like it's shown in the square brackets. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Night Goat n00b
Joined: 19 Apr 2002 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Fri Apr 19, 2002 1:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Man, that worked. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|