View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bus.dch
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 6:32 pm    Post subject: IBM Full-System CBE (Cell) Processor Simulator Reply with quote

IBM has just released the full-system simulator for the CBE (Cell) processor. A free download is available at http://alphaworks.ibm.com/tech/cellsystemsim?open&S_TACT=105AGX59&S_CMP=GR&ca=dgr-lnxwSystemSim (registration required). Also known as by its code name mambo at the IBM Austin Research Lab, the file you start out with is systemsim-cell-1.0-fc4-x86.tar.bz2

I'm just getting started installing it. It was designed for Fedora Core 4, of course, but that shouldn't be too much trouble...
bus.dch
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:09 pm    Post subject: Must it install in /opt? Reply with quote

From http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/power/library/pa-cellstartsim/index.html
Quote:
The central component of the SDK, from a developer's perspective, is the install script which loads all of this software in appropriate places. The XL C compiler, the GCC toolchain, the PPC64 RPMs, and the SPE timing program are installed in /opt. The sample code, and the kernel and support libraries, are installed in the working directory from which you ran the installer. At this time, loading the SDK software elsewhere is not supported.

So getting it to work under gentoo...
bus.dch
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 12:47 am    Post subject: Running the Simulator under Gentoo, option 1 of 2 Reply with quote

At last, everything works. :-)

To run the system simulator, you need to download some files from IBM's website: (free registration required)

systemsim-cell-1.0-fc4-x86.tar.bz2 (8128KB)
http://www.alphaworks.ibm.com/tech/cellsystemsim/download

cell-sdk-lib-samples-1.0.tar.bz2 (3972KB)
cell-spu-timing-1.0-1.i686.rpm (85KB)