Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo self-install.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SniperSlap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 5:42 pm    Post subject: Gentoo self-install. Reply with quote

Is there any way to prepare a listing of ebuilds that a build of gentoo should have so that the installation of a system can be somewhat pre-determined? Almost like an ebuild kit?

I would like to maintain a listing of packages that I want for a server of mine, but I want to make sure that I'm trimming any excess garbage that comes in.
_________________
Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 2800+ (Socket 754)
ABit KV8-Pro
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC

Server
Intel Pentium III 1ghz (Coppermine)
ASUS CUV4X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

USE="-*" emerge -e system > list.txt
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SniperSlap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixnut wrote:
USE="-*" emerge -e system > list.txt


So that's going to give me the output of a whole system build? (Obviously --pretend will allow me to fake the process & get the same results?)

Does that include the essentials that I may or may not be able to strip out?
_________________
Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 2800+ (Socket 754)
ABit KV8-Pro
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC

Server
Intel Pentium III 1ghz (Coppermine)
ASUS CUV4X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SniperSlap wrote:
nixnut wrote:
USE="-*" emerge -e system > list.txt


So that's going to give me the output of a whole system build? (Obviously --pretend will allow me to fake the process & get the same results?)

Does that include the essentials that I may or may not be able to strip out?

Yeah, --pretend will do fine. emerge -ep system shows the list of the basic system, not everything on the system. emerge -ep world does that.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SniperSlap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, forgive me for not being the brightest - but how will this help me in creating a highly customized ebuild set for a system?

What I'm looking to do is really get into the details of trimming the fat off my server system. Getting only what I need, and as a side-question, how can I lock an e-build to a particular version of a program? For example, how can I lock my system's kernel to 2.6.X.Y? Or maybe say lock MySQL?

Lots of things I want to do basically along the lines of stability during updates and not having broken configuration files.

nixnut wrote:
SniperSlap wrote:
nixnut wrote:
USE="-*" emerge -e system > list.txt


So that's going to give me the output of a whole system build? (Obviously --pretend will allow me to fake the process & get the same results?)

Does that include the essentials that I may or may not be able to strip out?

Yeah, --pretend will do fine. emerge -ep system shows the list of the basic system, not everything on the system. emerge -ep world does that.

_________________
Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 2800+ (Socket 754)
ABit KV8-Pro
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC

Server
Intel Pentium III 1ghz (Coppermine)
ASUS CUV4X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Learn how to use portage: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=2&chap=1
Learn more about catalyst: http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/releng/catalyst/faq.xml
LiveCD Howto: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_build_a_LiveCD
Small footprint Gentoo Howto: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Small_Footprint_Gentoo_on_USB
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SniperSlap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How would I go about locking ebuilts to a specific version?
_________________
Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 2800+ (Socket 754)
ABit KV8-Pro
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC

Server
Intel Pentium III 1ghz (Coppermine)
ASUS CUV4X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SniperSlap wrote:
How would I go about locking ebuilts to a specific version?

You could create a custom portage snapshot (or use an existing one). Then as long as you don't change the snapshot, none of your packages will get updated to a different version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Griswold
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use either emerge --oneshot =app-type/program-version or you might try masking the versions below and above.[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revertex
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 806

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Put the package version above that one you want to lock in /etc/portage/package.mask

Example: if you want to stay with gcc 3.3 put >sys-devel/gcc-3.3.* in /etc/portage/package.mask, this way any version grater than this will not be emerged.

See man portage for detailed info.

cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SniperSlap
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 45
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perfect, I like revertex's solution. That's exactly what I'm after for the version locking.

This is one of the reasons why I kind of hate portage documentation. Nobody wants to take the time to publish the best-practices. Just a bunch of cryptic nonsense.
_________________
Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 2800+ (Socket 754)
ABit KV8-Pro
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC

Server
Intel Pentium III 1ghz (Coppermine)
ASUS CUV4X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum