View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bz31 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 108
|
Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 5:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cenrim wrote: | bz31:
the ap can't handle 54Mb/s (802.11g), so you should set rate to 11M (802.11b) | The two rates work for me, the connection is very stable for rate=11M and unstable for rate=54M. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chaotician n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2004 Posts: 61 Location: San Francisco
|
Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
New problem....
I cannot seem to get eth1 to show.
ifconfig only brings up eth0 and lo
nothing out of the ordinary in dmesg and lsmod shows all the appropriate drivers.
Any ideas?
dmesg
Code: |
ieee80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
ieee80211: 802.11 data/management/control stack, git-1.1.7
ieee80211: Copyright (C) 2004-2005 Intel Corporation <jketreno@linux.intel.com>
ieee80211softmac: no version for "ieee80211_wx_get_scan" found: kernel tainted.
bcm43xx driver 0.0.1
localhost home #
|
lsmod
Code: |
Module Size Used by
bcm43xx 415060 0
ieee80211softmac 31904 1 bcm43xx
ieee80211 35048 2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
ieee80211_crypt 7008 1 ieee80211
|
iwconfig
Code: |
ocalhost home # iwconfig
eth0 no wireless extensions.
lo no wireless extensions.
|
_________________ Pain is weakness leaving my body.
Last edited by chaotician on Fri Dec 09, 2005 8:13 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sertinell Guru
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 582
|
Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
zeuss1414 wrote: | What a bad luck.
It is strange because my AP is a Linksys WRT54G and WAP54G. |
I have the same AP ( WRT54G ) and I have the same error , have you found a solution ?.
P.S. I'm Spanish, excuse me, my english is so bad xD |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bz31 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 108
|
Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you have problem. Maybe you should test different snapshots versions ftp://ftp.berlios.de/pub/bcm43xx/snapshots/
The version 20051209 doesn't work for me (SoftMAC: assoc request timed out!), but the version 20051208 works fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fuoco Guru
Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 386 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
bz31 wrote: | If you have problem. Maybe you should test different snapshots versions ftp://ftp.berlios.de/pub/bcm43xx/snapshots/
The version 20051209 doesn't work for me (SoftMAC: assoc request timed out!), but the version 20051208 works fine. |
I tried now with 20051208 and now I get:
Code: | SoftMAC: sent association request!
SoftMAC: associated! |
So thinking that it works now, I run dhclient eth2 but:
Code: | Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.3
Copyright 2004-2005 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/products/DHCP
eth1: unknown hardware address type 24
eth1: unknown hardware address type 24
Listening on LPF/eth2/00:11:24:c8:a9:b6
Sending on LPF/eth2/00:11:24:c8:a9:b6
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth2 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
DHCPDISCOVER on eth2 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
DHCPDISCOVER on eth2 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
DHCPDISCOVER on eth2 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
DHCPDISCOVER on eth2 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 19
DHCPDISCOVER on eth2 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 1
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
bz31 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 108
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 7:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
fuoco,
You should try a static ip.
JoseJX,
I can update bcm43xx and bcm43xx-fwcutter to snapshot-20051210 without problem. So my problem is in the softmac changesets 174-188, I don't know how to find the exact patchset. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fuoco Guru
Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 386 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
bz31 wrote: | fuoco,
You should try a static ip.
|
Thanks - that works ! So the problem is only with dhclient - is that normal ?
Also it's not totally stable, I get some lost packets for example when pinging.
I will start looking for the changeset of softmac that broke it then. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fuoco Guru
Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 386 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
JoseJX: I tracked it down to changeset 175 in SoftMAC. starting with that changeset it doesn't associate and keeps timing out. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MoRPh3uSz n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 69
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm having this problem:
Code: | iwconfig
eth0 no wireless extensions.
lo no wireless extensions.
eth1 no wireless extensions.
|
This is the output of dmesg:
Code: |
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx driver 0.0.1
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Chip ID 0x4306, rev 0x3
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Number of cores: 5
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Core 0: ID 0x800, rev 0x4, vendor 0x4243, enabled
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Core 1: ID 0x812, rev 0x5, vendor 0x4243, disabled
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Core 2: ID 0x80d, rev 0x2, vendor 0x4243, enabled
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Core 3: ID 0x807, rev 0x2, vendor 0x4243, disabled
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Core 4: ID 0x804, rev 0x9, vendor 0x4243, enabled
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: PHY connected
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Detected PHY: Version: 2, Type 2, Revision 2
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Detected Radio: ID: 2205017f (Manuf: 17f Ver: 2050 Rev: 2)
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Radio turned off
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo bcm43xx: Radio turned off
Dec 10 12:14:41 pomo net.agent[11187]: add event not handled
Dec 10 12:14:56 pomo bcm43xx: PHY connected
Dec 10 12:14:57 pomo bcm43xx: InitVals written
Dec 10 12:14:57 pomo bcm43xx: Radio turned on
Dec 10 12:14:57 pomo bcm43xx: FIXME: Possibly broken code in bcm43xx_phy_setupg() at /usr/src/source/trunk/driver/bcm43xx_phy.c:333
Dec 10 12:14:57 pomo bcm43xx: Chip initialized
Dec 10 12:14:57 pomo bcm43xx: DMA initialized
Dec 10 12:14:57 pomo bcm43xx: 80211 cores initialized
|
And this is lspci -vv:
Code: | 0001:10:12.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Apple Computer Inc. AirPort Extreme
Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
Latency: 16
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 52
Region 0: Memory at 80084000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=375mA PME(D0+,D1+,D2+,D3hot+,D3cold+)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=2 PME-
|
Any hint? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Extintor Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 09 Oct 2004 Posts: 113 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 12:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Havent tried it yet but i have to say.
You guys are just great, this is one of the best things I've ever seen, and that you really made it work.
Thank you, alot _________________ Beerhazard | Nobelium | VIm | Perl | Ruby |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
MoRPh3uSz:
Check to make sure that your wireless-tools (iwconfig) supports the wirless extensions version in your kernel, do an iwconfig -v
fuoco, bz31:
I'll look into it. _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MoRPh3uSz n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 69
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 4:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
JoseJX wrote: | MoRPh3uSz:
Check to make sure that your wireless-tools (iwconfig) supports the wirless extensions version in your kernel, do an iwconfig -v | Here it is:
Code: | pomo ~ # iwconfig -v
iwconfig Wireless-Tools version 28
Compatible with Wireless Extension v11 to v19.
Cannot read /proc/net/wireless |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
quaestor n00b
Joined: 02 Jul 2005 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 7:12 pm Post subject: module gets stuck |
|
|
Hi all,
I've got no kernel errors so far, but when starting any program that communicates with the module bcm43xx (ifconfig, iwconfig, rmmod bcm43xx) it gets stuck... dmesg don't gives any hints what happens... I've got an ibook g4 1,33ghz with kernel 2.6.15-rc5 including all necessary modules (firmware hotplug, ...). Maybe someone with the same configuration can post the exact versions and firmware versions he uses?
Thank you,
Quästor |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 7:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If someone who is having issues with association could please capture the packets sent / recieved with a 3rd card so I can debug the problem, that would be helpful.
quaestor:
It sounds like the same problem sceptiq was having earlier. I don't have a solution for you, but it's most likely not the driver and definitely isn't the firmware. _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Last edited by JoseJX on Sat Dec 10, 2005 11:30 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
quaestor n00b
Joined: 02 Jul 2005 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, I think it is the same problem... but do you think it can be caused by the kernel configuration? Could you please send me your .config? Has anybody ever achieved a working airport on the ibook g4 1,33ghz? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MoRPh3uSz n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 69
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
JoseJX wrote: | You don't have wireless support in your kernel. |
Now it works! Thank you!! It is my first time with wireless and linux. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
quaestor n00b
Joined: 02 Jul 2005 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 8:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
maybe it helps in solving the problem that lspci -vv does not recognize the airport extreme as airport extreme but says
Code: | Code:
0001:10:12.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Apple Computer Inc.: Unknown Device 4318 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
quaestor:
That doesn't make a difference, the AE is just a broadcom chipset with an apple sticker on it. My config is not going to be any use to you, I've got a PB G4 500 without AE. If you could email me your config, I'll take a look at it.
edit: I figured out how to lock it up with iwconfig ethx essid, but not the others, I'll fix that.
edit again: Fixed in the main repo
MoRPh3uSz:
Glad it works for you. :) _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cocozz Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2004 Posts: 160
|
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 11:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well its starting to work with the last realease of softmac CVS.
Now I can scan and detect my wifi network.
But neither dhcp or static ip work :/ No answer from the router. _________________ Soy tu amigo, amigo . |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darklesi n00b
Joined: 23 Jul 2004 Posts: 12 Location: Portugal
|
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 12:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i have notice that dhcp works fine with cisco ap's and others but not with linksys ... i saw that more ppl have problems with linksys ap's and i was wondering if any of you have discovered a reason for this?
Thanks and sorry for my bad english |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 4:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, we don't know why, but some people have problems with any Broadcast packet (ping, dhcp, etc). We're looking for a solution, be patient. _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fugee47 Apprentice
Joined: 25 Nov 2004 Posts: 196 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 6:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i have problems to compile the 2.6.15 branch of the kernel on my ibook g4. If someone could post a working config ???
I want to try out the ae driver |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fuoco Guru
Joined: 23 May 2004 Posts: 386 Location: Israel
|
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 6:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Fugee47 wrote: | i have problems to compile the 2.6.15 branch of the kernel on my ibook g4. If someone could post a working config ???
I want to try out the ae driver |
I could send you mine, but I'm not sure what you call working. It's the same as 2.6.14 generally. I have a problem with sleep and usb...
First I suggest you use the config from your current kernel and run in the sources dir 'make oldconfig'.
What kernel are you using now? and what laptop model is it exactly ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|