Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ipaddress
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bugen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 3:41 pm    Post subject: ipaddress Reply with quote

Hi, I can't seem to figure out how to set my ipaddress, subnet mask, gateway, and dns server. I'm very new to linux and don't know many commands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecosta
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 477
Location: Brussels,BE

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
If you are using gentoo, I'd have a look at this manual... the best! ;)

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/index.xml

If you are not, state your distro or do it all manually.

ifconfig can setup your network card
/etc/resolv.conf will hold your DNS information.

man is your friend

$ man ifconfig
$ man resolv.conf

Best of luck and keep in touch if you need more help... but if you do, we will need more info ;)
Ed.
_________________
Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bugen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok here is the deal.
At school I need to have a "hard-coded" ip address and at work and home I use dchp.
I've used windows my entire life until now and I have been using gentoo for less than a month.
I'll take a look at the manuel but I honestly don't entirely know what to look for.

EDIT: Ok I found it in the manuel, is nameserver the same as a dns server on windows? Also, what is a broadcast ip for?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pops45042
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 278
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo!

I believe all settings for your network can be found and configured in /etc/conf.d/net. Here you can specify DHCP, static IP's or whatever you need. If you need a more in-depth example, take a look at /etc/conf.d/net.example

And yes, "nameserver" is the same as a DNS server (Domain Name Server), as defined under the /etc/resolv.conf file. That file holds your nameservers. If you are using DHCP, then nameservers are normally added automatically, and if static IP is set, then you normally have to add a nameserver entry.

A broadcast address is basically the way your computer finds stuff on its local network. It sends data to this broadcast address and that data gets looked at by every network device on the local network. A broadcast address always ends in 255.

For instance if your IP is 192.168.1.123, then your broadcast address is 192.168.1.255. Every network device on that network 192.168.1.xxx's broadcast address is the same -> 192.168.1.255

Hope that helps,
Paul
_________________
"That which does not kill me only postpones the inevitable"

Laugh at my old system!
AMD Opteron 165@ 2750Mhz, 2gig 400mhz Cas2 Crucial Ballistix, Abit NF8 Ultra MB, WD 80gig (system), WD 120gig (storage), Geforce 8800GTS 320MB, Mushkin 550W PS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecosta
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 477
Location: Brussels,BE

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your computer has to juggle between static and DHCP you will have problems.

What I recomend you do, unless someone has a better idea, is to write a script you can launch when you are at school to set your static address.

So in short, set your network interface to use DHCP and then write a script that will set a static address if eth0 isn't up. I'm no good at scripting so no laughing ok ;)

as root, run or add it to /etc/conf.d/local.start
Code:

#! /bin/bash

if [ `ifconfig eth0 | grep inet | wc -l` -lt 1 ]; then
   ifconfig eth0 111.222.333.444 netmask 255.255.255.0
fi


You might also have problems with your DHCP changing your /etc/resolv.conf (DNS) file so I would do a backup of your school settings (/etc/resolv.conf.school) and copy over the current one. Or just make sure DHCP can't over write the file and put the DNS of each location in your resolv.conf file instead... was that clear? :?

Best of luck.
Ed.
_________________
Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrbecke
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 598
Location: Berlin - Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at this howto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ecosta
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 477
Location: Brussels,BE

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, so much for my pretty one liner ;)
Better go with chrbecke recomendations ;)
Thanks for the feedback chrbecke.
_________________
Linux user #201331
A8N-SLI Delux / AMD64 X2 3800+ / 1024 MB RAM / 5 x 250 GB SATA RAID 1/5 / ATI Radeon X700 256MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum