Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't use scroll-wheel [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MaverickHunterZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:01 pm    Post subject: Can't use scroll-wheel [solved] Reply with quote

I have a Logitech wired scroll-mouse, and I cannot get the scroll wheel to work as anything other than a third button. My xorg.conf file is as follows:


Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"

# Mouse-speed setting for PS/2 mouse.

# Option "Resolution" "256"

# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.

# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"

# Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
# almost every case these lines should be omitted.

# Option "BaudRate" "9600"
# Option "SampleRate" "150"

# Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
# Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)

Option "Emulate3Buttons"
# Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"

# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice

# Option "ChordMiddle"

EndSection




I tried looking this up in the forums, but I still couldn't get it to work. One try even made it so startx wouldn't get KDE up and running at all.

I appreciate any help on this.
_________________
X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time.


Last edited by MaverickHunterZero on Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To get this scroll wheel working on my MS Intellimouse Optical, I had to put this:
Code:
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
...in the Section "InputDevice" for the mouse.

I don't know if it would be different for a Logitech.

EDIT: I found this:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-181093-highlight-logitech.html#181093
Does that help any? You might also want to read the first post in that thread.


Last edited by StringCheesian on Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaverickHunterZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah...unfortunately I tried that line:
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"


With no change...at least it didn't crash KDE this time, though.
_________________
X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about the link I edited in?

Maybe you don't have to do all that. What happens if you put this in your xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
     ... (whatever's there)
     Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
     Option "Buttons" "6"
     Option "ZAxisMapping "5 6"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaverickHunterZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I just tried all that, but it prevented KDE from starting, saying it couldn't load the Primary Pointer.
_________________
X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I'm stumped. Sorry I couldn't be of more help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morodoch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 523
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe StringCheesian thought you have more buttons than you do, try this:

Code:
Section "InputDevice"
     ... (whatever's there)
     Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
     Option "Buttons" "5"
     Option "ZAxisMapping "4 5"
EndSection

_________________
Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.

-- Curtis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaverickHunterZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that's what I thought, too, so I added in what he has first, then I methodically erased a line at a time until I could get it working again. So I had what he has:

Section "InputDevice"
... (whatever's there)
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Buttons" "6"
Option "ZAxisMapping "5 6"
EndSection

then I took out the 'Explorer' and left just PS/2

rebooted...still didn't work...then I took out the Option "Buttons" "6" line altogether.

rebooted...still didn't work...then I took out Option "ZAxisMapping "5 6"
rebooted...and then it worked again, leaving me back at square 1. Is there some kind of mouse-installing guide around somewhere? I don't know what the "5 6" means in ZAxis Mapping, either.

and as for the number of buttons I have, I have two buttons plus the scrollwheel, which can also be used as a button.
_________________
X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morodoch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 523
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The "5 6" are the button numbers, which on a normal scroll mouse are as follows:

1 - left button
2 - right button
3 - middle mouse / scroll button click
4, 5 - scroll up & down

I guess that StringCheesian has one more button than most of us :D

I think if you configure more buttons than you actually have X barfs.

You may find out more by looking in /var/log/Xorg.0.log
_________________
Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.

-- Curtis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaverickHunterZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to barf just when I use ZAxismapping at all... :(
_________________
X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morodoch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 523
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's odd. Have you told it you've got the extra buttons:

Code:
        Option      "Buttons" "5"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"

_________________
Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.

-- Curtis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fserafin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Oct 2005
Posts: 126
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here my section i had problems at first too .... it was syntax for me

Code:

# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"   "ImPS/2"
    Option "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5"
    Option "Device"     "/dev/psaux"

# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.

#    Option "Protocol"   "Xqueue"

# Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
# almost every case these lines should be omitted.

#    Option "BaudRate"   "9600"
#    Option "SampleRate" "150"

# Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
# Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)

    Option "Emulate3Buttons"
#    Option "Emulate3Timeout"    "50"

# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice

#    Option "ChordMiddle"

EndSection


this is for a logitech trackball that i have
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaverickHunterZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"


that is what mine looks like

I tried doing it like this:

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "Buttons" "5"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"

It crashed, so I did this:

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Buttons" "5"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"

Then it crashed, then I tried this:

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"

It crashed, then I did this:

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"

That worked, but it means I'm back at the beginning (with no scrollwheel support)
_________________
X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morodoch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 523
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you really have /dev/mice, not /dev/input/mice?

Try this:

Code:
Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse0"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
        #Option      "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option      "Buttons" "5"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection


If that doesn't work, try uncommenting the psaux line, and commenting the /dev/input line.
_________________
Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.

-- Curtis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaverickHunterZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, I know that /dev/psaux doesn't exist on my system...is that a problem??? I do have /dev/input/mice...and I remember NOT having it a while ago, which was why I used /dev/mice...I will try that. Wait, scratch that...I already AM using /dev/input/mice...
_________________
X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morodoch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 523
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I'm out of ideas - what kind of mouse is it anyway? Is it a MS one? Is it USB or PS/2?
_________________
Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.

-- Curtis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fserafin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Oct 2005
Posts: 126
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you compile your kernel for support with /dev/psaux

i belive there an option in the kernel comfig for ps2 devices
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaverickHunterZero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I see where that is, and I have it now. I'll try it. What's the protocol "IMPS/2" thing? it didn't seem to work for me, I just use PS/2...but maybe if I understood what it is....
_________________
X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
golding
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 232
Location: Adelaide / South Australia

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try checking this out
Quote:
User Tools

If you use a Logitech mouse, there is a tool called lmctl which will help you set the proper resolution, enable or disable smart scroll, etc. This tool is available in the community repoisitory which is listed in the Unofficial user repositories .

From
Quote:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Get_All_Mouse_Buttons_Working

_________________
Regards, Robert

..... Some people can tell what time it is by looking at the sun, but I have never been able to make out the numbers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morodoch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 523
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think PS/2 is a lowest common denominator driver for PS/2 mice, where IMPS/2 has support for the scroll-wheel. I may be wrong on this, though.
_________________
Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.

-- Curtis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum