View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
MaverickHunterZero n00b
Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 30 Location: Indiana
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:01 pm Post subject: Can't use scroll-wheel [solved] |
|
|
I have a Logitech wired scroll-mouse, and I cannot get the scroll wheel to work as anything other than a third button. My xorg.conf file is as follows:
Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier and driver
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
# Mouse-speed setting for PS/2 mouse.
# Option "Resolution" "256"
# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.
# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"
# Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
# almost every case these lines should be omitted.
# Option "BaudRate" "9600"
# Option "SampleRate" "150"
# Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
# Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)
Option "Emulate3Buttons"
# Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice
# Option "ChordMiddle"
EndSection
I tried looking this up in the forums, but I still couldn't get it to work. One try even made it so startx wouldn't get KDE up and running at all.
I appreciate any help on this. _________________ X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time.
Last edited by MaverickHunterZero on Thu Dec 22, 2005 1:12 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
StringCheesian l33t
Joined: 21 Oct 2003 Posts: 887
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
To get this scroll wheel working on my MS Intellimouse Optical, I had to put this: Code: | Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" | ...in the Section "InputDevice" for the mouse.
I don't know if it would be different for a Logitech.
EDIT: I found this:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-181093-highlight-logitech.html#181093
Does that help any? You might also want to read the first post in that thread.
Last edited by StringCheesian on Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:09 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MaverickHunterZero n00b
Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 30 Location: Indiana
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah...unfortunately I tried that line:
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
With no change...at least it didn't crash KDE this time, though. _________________ X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
StringCheesian l33t
Joined: 21 Oct 2003 Posts: 887
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
How about the link I edited in?
Maybe you don't have to do all that. What happens if you put this in your xorg.conf:
Code: | Section "InputDevice"
... (whatever's there)
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Buttons" "6"
Option "ZAxisMapping "5 6"
EndSection |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
MaverickHunterZero n00b
Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 30 Location: Indiana
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Okay, I just tried all that, but it prevented KDE from starting, saying it couldn't load the Primary Pointer. _________________ X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
StringCheesian l33t
Joined: 21 Oct 2003 Posts: 887
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I'm stumped. Sorry I couldn't be of more help. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
morodoch Guru
Joined: 22 Sep 2005 Posts: 523 Location: England
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe StringCheesian thought you have more buttons than you do, try this:
Code: | Section "InputDevice"
... (whatever's there)
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Buttons" "5"
Option "ZAxisMapping "4 5"
EndSection |
_________________ Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.
-- Curtis |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MaverickHunterZero n00b
Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 30 Location: Indiana
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, that's what I thought, too, so I added in what he has first, then I methodically erased a line at a time until I could get it working again. So I had what he has:
Section "InputDevice"
... (whatever's there)
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Buttons" "6"
Option "ZAxisMapping "5 6"
EndSection
then I took out the 'Explorer' and left just PS/2
rebooted...still didn't work...then I took out the Option "Buttons" "6" line altogether.
rebooted...still didn't work...then I took out Option "ZAxisMapping "5 6"
rebooted...and then it worked again, leaving me back at square 1. Is there some kind of mouse-installing guide around somewhere? I don't know what the "5 6" means in ZAxis Mapping, either.
and as for the number of buttons I have, I have two buttons plus the scrollwheel, which can also be used as a button. _________________ X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
morodoch Guru
Joined: 22 Sep 2005 Posts: 523 Location: England
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The "5 6" are the button numbers, which on a normal scroll mouse are as follows:
1 - left button
2 - right button
3 - middle mouse / scroll button click
4, 5 - scroll up & down
I guess that StringCheesian has one more button than most of us
I think if you configure more buttons than you actually have X barfs.
You may find out more by looking in /var/log/Xorg.0.log _________________ Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.
-- Curtis |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MaverickHunterZero n00b
Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 30 Location: Indiana
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It seems to barf just when I use ZAxismapping at all... _________________ X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
morodoch Guru
Joined: 22 Sep 2005 Posts: 523 Location: England
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That's odd. Have you told it you've got the extra buttons:
Code: | Option "Buttons" "5"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" |
_________________ Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.
-- Curtis |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fserafin Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 02 Oct 2005 Posts: 126 Location: Winnipeg, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
here my section i had problems at first too .... it was syntax for me
Code: |
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************
Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier and driver
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
# When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
# the following line.
# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"
# Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
# almost every case these lines should be omitted.
# Option "BaudRate" "9600"
# Option "SampleRate" "150"
# Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
# Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)
Option "Emulate3Buttons"
# Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
# ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice
# Option "ChordMiddle"
EndSection
|
this is for a logitech trackball that i have |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MaverickHunterZero n00b
Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 30 Location: Indiana
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"
that is what mine looks like
I tried doing it like this:
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "Buttons" "5"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"
It crashed, so I did this:
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Buttons" "5"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"
Then it crashed, then I tried this:
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"
It crashed, then I did this:
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mice"
That worked, but it means I'm back at the beginning (with no scrollwheel support) _________________ X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
morodoch Guru
Joined: 22 Sep 2005 Posts: 523 Location: England
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do you really have /dev/mice, not /dev/input/mice?
Try this:
Code: | Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
#Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Buttons" "5"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection |
If that doesn't work, try uncommenting the psaux line, and commenting the /dev/input line. _________________ Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.
-- Curtis |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MaverickHunterZero n00b
Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 30 Location: Indiana
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well, I know that /dev/psaux doesn't exist on my system...is that a problem??? I do have /dev/input/mice...and I remember NOT having it a while ago, which was why I used /dev/mice...I will try that. Wait, scratch that...I already AM using /dev/input/mice... _________________ X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
morodoch Guru
Joined: 22 Sep 2005 Posts: 523 Location: England
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well I'm out of ideas - what kind of mouse is it anyway? Is it a MS one? Is it USB or PS/2? _________________ Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.
-- Curtis |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fserafin Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 02 Oct 2005 Posts: 126 Location: Winnipeg, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
did you compile your kernel for support with /dev/psaux
i belive there an option in the kernel comfig for ps2 devices |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MaverickHunterZero n00b
Joined: 15 Dec 2005 Posts: 30 Location: Indiana
|
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 11:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, I see where that is, and I have it now. I'll try it. What's the protocol "IMPS/2" thing? it didn't seem to work for me, I just use PS/2...but maybe if I understood what it is.... _________________ X, if you weren't so wussy, I wouldn't have to save you all the time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
golding Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jun 2005 Posts: 232 Location: Adelaide / South Australia
|
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 1:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Try checking this out
Quote: | User Tools
If you use a Logitech mouse, there is a tool called lmctl which will help you set the proper resolution, enable or disable smart scroll, etc. This tool is available in the community repoisitory which is listed in the Unofficial user repositories . |
From
Quote: | http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Get_All_Mouse_Buttons_Working |
_________________ Regards, Robert
..... Some people can tell what time it is by looking at the sun, but I have never been able to make out the numbers. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
morodoch Guru
Joined: 22 Sep 2005 Posts: 523 Location: England
|
Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think PS/2 is a lowest common denominator driver for PS/2 mice, where IMPS/2 has support for the scroll-wheel. I may be wrong on this, though. _________________ Well, the Sister was right. You boys could use a little churching up. Slide on down to the Triple Rock, and catch Rev. Cleophus. You boys listen to what he's got to say.
-- Curtis |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|