View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Cride5 n00b
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 21 Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:30 pm Post subject: nForce Network Card (eth1) Failure |
|
|
I can't seem to get gentoo to detect my on-board network card (nForce2 chipset).
I currently have two network cards on the machine, one on-board (which won't work) and the other in a PCI slot (a Realtek RTL8139). The one in the PCI slot works fine but I cannot get gentoo to detect any trace of the other one! Here's what I tried:
Code: |
# /sbin/ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:E0:4C:39:88:C7
inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3386 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2931 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2544063 (2.4 Mb) TX bytes:398400 (389.0 Kb)
Interrupt:16 Base address:0x9000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:500 (500.0 b) TX bytes:500 (500.0 b)
|
Code: |
# dmesg | grep eth
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0x9000, 00:e0:4c:39:88:c7, IRQ 16
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8139C'
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x41E1
#
|
It seems that eth1 is nowhere to be seen. When installing drivers for the card I first tried the nforce-net driver (nvnet). I downloaded the installer from http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_nforce_1.0-0310.html, and after the install tried loading the new nvnet module:
Code: |
# modprobe nvnet
# lsmod
Module Size Used by
nvnet 69732 0
nvidia 3706984 12
sd_mod 14848 2
#
|
All seems fine and good, but then running /sbin/ifconfig still showd nothing! I then decided to try the forcedeth drivers, following the instructions here: http://dev.gentoo.org/~dsd/nforce-net-to-forcedeth.htm. The driver was compiled into the kernel and the system re-booted, but still no joy (dmesg and ifconfig show no trace of eth1).
Interestingly though, eth1 is detected by the gentoo installation CD (running under the forcedeth driver)!
*scratches head*
Help anyone? _________________ Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe + AMD Athlon 64 3700 + GeForce 6 6600GT |
|
Back to top |
|
|
widan Veteran
Joined: 07 Jun 2005 Posts: 1512 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The forcedeth driver should give you something like this in dmesg:
Code: | widan@stephanie ~ $ dmesg | grep force
forcedeth.c: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.41.
eth0: forcedeth.c: subsystem: 01043:80a7 bound to 0000:00:04.0 |
If you don't have the first line, then the driver is not loaded for some reason (maybe you forgot to mount /boot before copying the new kernel ?). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cride5 n00b
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 21 Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 12:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, no joy. Dmesg aint showing anyting:
Code: |
thelab cride5 # dmesg | grep force
thelab cride5 # dmesg | grep eth
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0x9000, 00:e0:4c:39:88:c7, IRQ 16
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8139C'
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x41E1
thelab cride5 #
|
Gentoo can see the card though. This is what lshw shows for it:
Code: |
*-network UNCLAIMED
description: Ethernet controller
product: nForce2 Ethernet Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 4
bus info: pci@00:04.0
version: a1
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list
resources: iomemory:ec000000-ec000fff ioport:b000-b007 irq:5
|
I just can't figure out why neither the nvnet or forcedeth drivers can communicate with the card! Is there anyting you can do to find out if the drivers are throwing up any diagnostic stuff? _________________ Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe + AMD Athlon 64 3700 + GeForce 6 6600GT |
|
Back to top |
|
|
widan Veteran
Joined: 07 Jun 2005 Posts: 1512 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 12:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Try to build forcedeth as a module rather than built in, and load it manually with "modprobe forcedeth", maybe there is something weird going on. It should at least print the version string, even if it doesn't find the card. No version string means the driver isn't loaded for some reason. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Donkey_Breath n00b
Joined: 21 Dec 2005 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Cride5 wrote: |
I just can't figure out why neither the nvnet or forcedeth drivers can communicate with the card! Is there anyting you can do to find out if the drivers are throwing up any diagnostic stuff? |
From my limited memory, yes, if whatever driver you want to use is compiled as a module.
Code: |
modprobe nvnet
dmesg | tail
|
The modprobe command usually just spits out an uninformative error, but the dmesg is updated and gives a bit more information. At least that was what helped my nail down my last driver error. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|