View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Annapurna n00b


Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 20 Location: Saskatoon, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 4:06 pm Post subject: Intel AC'97 modem |
|
|
Hi Everyone,
I am trying to get my modem working on my Dell 700m laptop cause I'm going to be going away for Christmas and will have only dialup.
From what I understand from looking through the forum archives is to get it working you have to enable in the kernel configuration:
Device Drivers --> Sound --> ALSA --> PCI devices
[*] Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD AC97 Controller
The only problem is that I decided rather than using kernel based ALSA drivers I'm using the ones from alsa-drivers (and they work great!!! ). When I try to run wvdial though it says it can't access /dev/modem.
Here's the relavant line from my lspci:
Code: | 00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 03) |
Is there some other module I have to load to enable it or something or some other driver I have to download???
Need any more info on my system??? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevo Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 79
|
Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 4:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That means it is a "Winmodem" - that is, a mostly software driven modem. There are "linmodem" linux drivers for a few of them, but many are unsupported or never made it beyond Linux 2.2, the interest in modems having dwindled. If you are lucky, it is one of the modems that can be run with one of the Linuxant/Conexant Windows stub drivers.
Sevo |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lopan n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brasil
|
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 11:01 am Post subject: Intel AC'97 modem |
|
|
Hi!
Try...
before active module snd_intel8x0m and rebuid kernel...
Re-emerge slmodem
Code: | USE=alsa emerge slmodem
|
Edit /etc/modules.d/alsa to:
Code: |
alias char-major-116 snd
alias char-major-14 soundcore
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
alias snd-card-1 snd-intel8x0m
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss
options snd cards_limit=2
| yours sounddevice is snd-intel8x0??
Look the file /etc/conf.d/slmodem
Code: |
# Config file for /etc/init.d/slmodemd
DEV=/dev/ttySL0
COUNTRY=GERMANY
GROUP=dialout
# the group should be kept in sync with:
# /etc/devfs.d/slmodem (devfs)
# /etc/udev/rules.d/55-slmodem.rules (udev)
# The following symlink will be created if uncommented
LN_DEV=/dev/modem
# Raise priority to reduce modem dropouts
NICE=-6
# ALSA Options:
# The following sets the ALSA (alsasound) init script to
# be a dependancy of the slmodem one. It does also provides
# ALSA support.
MODULE=alsa
# The modem hardware slot
# use "modem:0", "modem:1", etc.
# usually modem:1 is used
HW_SLOT=modem:1
# Non-ALSA OPTIONS:
# MODULE=slamr
# or
# MODULE=slusb
|
This stesp work fine for me... but, i don't listen my modem while him try connect...
I don't found solution for this...
[]'s |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mixmasta Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Earth, Sol, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Virgo Super-Cluster
|
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 6:37 am Post subject: Me too |
|
|
Hi,
I'm having the same issue on my sony tr2a.... I'm at my dad's house out here in the countryside with only dialup available. I've already loaded the alsa and intel modem modules when getting sound to work last year. Yesterday I emerged slmodem, but when ever I try to dial out, I get NO DIALTONE from the modem!!
The physical connection is just fine! I'm posting now from my laptop using windows and it works no problemo. No matter what I do, when booting in gentoo I get "NO DIALTONE" from wvdial or gnome ppp. I even went low level and tried cat /dev/modem and echo "ATDT555..." > /dev/modem but still NO DIALTONE. ((
What can I do? I already tried the other solutions to this in the FAQs, like setting the country in slmodem.conf and wvdial.conf to USA. I don't see how there could be IRQ conflicts, everything is shared on IRQ 9 and windows is fine.
Are there any more options? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lopan n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brasil
|
Posted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
Plz...
Look for my components!
Code: | 00:1e.2 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.3 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 03) |
For this, active in kernel and rebuild him:
Code: | -> Device Drivers
-> Sound
-> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture
-> PCI devices
<M> Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD/ALi AC97 Controller
<M> Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD MC97 Modem (EXPERIMENTAL) |
After this steps, follow exact steps on my before message... it will work...
But... the sound while connect will not work...
ps.: you don't remember, start slmodemd...
Code: | # /etc/init.d/slmodem start |
after start, look for process...
Code: | # ps aux | grep slmodemd
root 20150 0.0 0.7 3716 3712 ? S<Ls 15:16 0:00 /usr/sbin/slmodemd -country=USA -g=dialout --alsa modem:1
|
Test:
Code: | $ echo "ATDT555" > /dev/modem
$ cat /dev/modem
ATDT555
BUSY
|
[]'s |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mixmasta Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Earth, Sol, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Virgo Super-Cluster
|
Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
Obrigado for replying. I would be happy if it worked without sound, but it doesn't work at all. I still get "no dialtone". The modem and phone line are fine, because I have just rebooted into windows to post this reply.
The only thing I notice different is that I have a ICH4 not ICH6. I get a strange message when inserting the module, but it is not clear if it is an error. Here is a sample session:
Code: |
root@sony-tr2a:~> lspci | grep -i modem
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 03)
root@sony-tr2a:~> lsmod | grep snd_intel8x0m # alsa and sound working fine also
snd_intel8x0m 18820 0
root@sony-tr2a:~> dmesg | tail -n 3
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1f.6[B] -> Link [LNKB] -> GSI 9 (level, low) -> IRQ 9
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1f.6 to 64
MC'97 1 converters and GPIO not ready (0xff00)
|
I don't know what this message is telling me. Is it an error? What is GPIO?
Code: |
root@sony-tr2a:~> /etc/init.d/slmodem start
* Starting slmodemd for /dev/ttySL0 ... [ ok ]
root@sony-tr2a:~> ps -ef | grep slmodem
root 5802 1 0 23:35 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/slmodemd -country=USA -g=dialout --alsa modem:1
root@sony-tr2a:~> echo ATDT5551212 > /dev/modem
root@sony-tr2a:~> cat /dev/modem
ATDT5551212
NO DIALTONE
|
Another try with another dialer:
Code: |
root@sony-tr2a:~> wvdial
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.54.0
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 +GCI=B5
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 +GCI=B5
OK
--> Sending: ATH1
ATH1
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT,227 0169
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT,227 0169
NO DIALTONE
--> No dial tone.
--> Disconnecting at Tue Dec 27 23:38:32 2005
|
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lopan n00b


Joined: 26 Dec 2005 Posts: 16 Location: Brasil
|
Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 10:48 am Post subject: Modem again! |
|
|
Hi...
You're welcome...
We don't desist... rsrs...
See my lsmod:
Code: | $ lsmod | grep snd_intel8x0m
snd_intel8x0m 20036 6
snd_ac97_codec 98556 2 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0
snd_pcm 96004 6 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd 57444 22 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc 12168 3 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm |
You need to load snd_intel8x0m in alsa module script, put in /etc/modules.d/alsa:
Code: | alias char-major-116 snd
alias char-major-14 soundcore
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
alias snd-card-1 snd-intel8x0m
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss
options snd cards_limit=2 |
Humm... Post here one aplay...
Code: | # aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel ICH6]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: ICH6 [Intel ICH6], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel ICH6 - IEC958]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Modem [Intel ICH6 Modem], device 0: Intel ICH - Modem [Intel ICH6 Modem - Modem]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0 |
Look: we use in /etc/conf.d/slmodem [HW_SLOT=modem:1] becose the modem that card 1: Modem [Intel ICH6 Modem] in aplay -l
You can try dial without wait a dial tone. Kppp have this option in modem section (| |Wait for dial tone before dial). X3 is option to work it.
Try and after post here:
Code: | $ echo "ATZ" > /dev/modem
$ echo "ATM1L3" > /dev/modem
$ echo "ATX3" > /dev/modem
$ echo "ATDT555" > /dev/modem
$ cat /dev/modem
|
uff! rsrs!!
[]'s |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mixmasta Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Earth, Sol, Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Virgo Super-Cluster
|
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 6:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | root@sony-tr2a:~> lsmod | grep snd_intel8x0m
snd_intel8x0m 18820 0
snd_ac97_codec 97532 3 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ca0106
snd_pcm 95048 5 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ca0106,snd_ac97_codec
snd 55460 11 snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ca0106,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc 11016 4 snd_intel8x0m,snd_intel8x0,snd_ca0106,snd_pcm
root@sony-tr2a:~> aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel 82801DB-ICH4]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: I82801DBICH4 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 - IEC958]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Modem [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 Modem], device 0: Intel ICH - Modem [Intel 82801DB-ICH4 Modem - Modem]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
root@sony-tr2a:/mike> cat /etc/conf.d/slmodem
# Config file for /etc/init.d/slmodemd
DEV=/dev/ttySL0
COUNTRY=USA
GROUP=dialout
# the group should be kept in sync with:
# /etc/devfs.d/slmodem (devfs)
# /etc/udev/rules.d/55-slmodem.rules (udev)
# The following symlink will be created if uncommented
LN_DEV=/dev/modem
# Raise priority to reduce modem dropouts
NICE=-6
# ALSA Options:
# The following sets the ALSA (alsasound) init script to
# be a dependancy of the slmodem one. It does also provides
# ALSA support.
MODULE=alsa
# The modem hardware slot
# use "modem:0", "modem:1", etc.
# usually modem:1 is used
HW_SLOT=modem:1
# Non-ALSA OPTIONS:
# MODULE=slamr
# or
# MODULE=slusb
|
Well, I've left the house I was staying at for the holidays, so I won't be able to test this much any more. I'm back on the road and my wifi works fine. Thanks for your help though ...  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|