View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kisil
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 10:20 pm    Post subject: can't get X11-DRM to compile [solved] Reply with quote

[edit] Changed subject to more accurately reflect what seems to be the problem, as described in my reply to this post. [/edit]

I'll apologize ahead of time - I'm new to gentoo & linux, so a lot of the following might not be particularly helpful.

I followed a guide to installing ati binary drivers; I haven't been successful yet. I'm using a Radeon 9500 card on an Nforce2 mb, running gentoo 2.6.14-r5 with fluxbox. From my /var/log/Xorg.0.log:

Code:
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed
[drm] failed to load kernel module "fglrx"
(II) fglrx(0): [drm] drmOpen failed
(EE) fglrx(0): DRIScreenInit failed!

I have no /dev/dri/ at all; I've been unable to find where that reference is.

fglrxinfo shows:
Code:
display: :0.0 screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa projec: www.mes3d.org
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.2 (1.5 Mesa 6.2.1)

I don't remember installing the mesa drivers, which is odd, but it's entirely possible that I have in trying to do something else.. I am new at this.

My xorg.conf was autogenerated by aticonfig; let me know if anyone would like to see this file. In my kernel, I have /dev/agpgart and nForce/nForce2 chipset built in, direct rendering manager excluded, and frame buffer support excluded.

Any insight would be much appreciated.

-Kisil

Last edited by Kisil on Tue Jan 31, 2006 2:27 am; edited 2 times in total
atrus123
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote