View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
paul555 l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/146995174343687279e4f8a.jpg)
Joined: 22 Nov 2004 Posts: 612 Location: Greece
|
Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 8:49 pm Post subject: kppp question |
|
|
Hi all the past two days i try to setup a gentoo box at my parent's house.Now the only thing it's remaining is to setup a dialup connection.My problem is that even if i enabled ppp in my kernel emerged ok ppp and kppp ,and kppp can query ok my modem i can't connect.It give me an error 1 in pppd deamon and that debug output :
Code: | paul@medic3 /mnt/torrents $ kppp
Link points to "/tmp/ksocket-paul"
kbuildsycoca running...
Opener: received SetSecret
Opener: received SetSecret
Opener: received OpenLock
Opener: received OpenDevice
QMetaObject::findSignal:Accounting: Conflict with AccountingBase::changed(QString,QString)
Opener: received ExecPPPDaemon
In parent: pppd pid 8055
Couldn't find interface ppp0: No such device
Couldn't find interface ppp0: No such device
Kernel supports ppp alright.
Couldn't find interface ppp0: No such device
pppd: By default the remote system is required to authenticate itself
pppd: (because this system has a default route to the internet)
pppd: but I couldn't find any suitable secret (password) for it to use to do so.
pppd: (None of the available passwords would let it use an IP address.)
It was pppd that died
pppd exited with return value 1
Sending 8039 a SIGUSR1
Opener: received RemoveSecret
Opener: received RemoveSecret
Opener: received OpenResolv
Opener: received OpenResolv
Opener: received RemoveLock
Opener: received PPPDExitStatus
Opener: received PPPDExitStatus
|
and
Code: | Dec 23 15:37:16 medic3 pppd[347]: By default the remote system is required to authenticate itself
Dec 23 15:37:16 medic3 pppd[347]: (because this system has a default route to the internet)
Dec 23 15:37:16 medic3 pppd[347]: but I couldn't find any suitable secret (password) for it to use to do so.
Dec 23 15:37:16 medic3 pppd[347]: (None of the available passwords would let it use an IP address.) |
Any help? _________________ "LINUX, MS-DOS, Windows : known as the Good, the Bad and the Ugly."
http://www.gnome.gr |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mlivingstone Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/BaldursGate/baldursgate2_edwin.gif)
Joined: 06 Feb 2005 Posts: 125 Location: Gold Coast, Australia
|
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 5:29 am Post subject: Re: kppp question |
|
|
paul555 wrote: |
Code: | Dec 23 15:37:16 medic3 pppd[347]: By default the remote system is required to authenticate itself
Dec 23 15:37:16 medic3 pppd[347]: (because this system has a default route to the internet)
Dec 23 15:37:16 medic3 pppd[347]: but I couldn't find any suitable secret (password) for it to use to do so.
Dec 23 15:37:16 medic3 pppd[347]: (None of the available passwords would let it use an IP address.) |
Any help? |
type
at a root shell prompt and tell me what it says. I bet you have an ethernet card in that system and the default gateway is pointing at it. Try deleting the default gateway and dialing again and I suspect you will have more luck.
Good luck,
MarkL |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
paul555 l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/146995174343687279e4f8a.jpg)
Joined: 22 Nov 2004 Posts: 612 Location: Greece
|
Posted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 5:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes i have an ethernet card in that system where i connect that pc to 3 others throw a switch.When you say Quote: | deleting the default gateway | how i do this and is there a way to have both working the ethernet card to connect to my lan and the dialup connection in that pc? _________________ "LINUX, MS-DOS, Windows : known as the Good, the Bad and the Ugly."
http://www.gnome.gr |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mlivingstone Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/BaldursGate/baldursgate2_edwin.gif)
Joined: 06 Feb 2005 Posts: 125 Location: Gold Coast, Australia
|
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 1:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
paul555 wrote: | Yes i have an ethernet card in that system where i connect that pc to 3 others throw a switch.When you say Quote: | deleting the default gateway | how i do this and is there a way to have both working the ethernet card to connect to my lan and the dialup connection in that pc? |
OK. Your default gateway is the address / interface that your system tries when it does not know how to connect to a particular system. When using your lan as you do at the moment, it is probably set to eth0 or whatever your lan card interface is set to.
At a root shell prompt, do:
Code: |
constellation build # route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
cor7.for.connec * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
default cor7.for.connec 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 ppp0
constellation build #
|
That shows my system routes with me currently online using ppp0 as my default gateway to the 'net.
to delete your current default gateway before going online, do:
Code: |
constellation build # route del default
constellation build # route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
210.8.1.76 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
constellation build #
|
When kppp connects. it should set your default gateway but if not, do:
Code: |
constellation build # route add default ppp0
constellation build # route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
cor7.for.connec * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
loopback * 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
default * 0.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 ppp0
constellation build #
|
Note: If you reboot your machine, the default route will probably be reset to eth0 (or whatever). If so, jusrt redo it as above. You will also find that you must have the eth0 route deleted before trying to dialin and you cannot set the route to ppp0 till you have connected as the ppp0 interface doesn't exist prior to that.
Hope that helps!
MarkL |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|