Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VLANs, 802.1q [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiotecnicality
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Northern CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 10:49 am    Post subject: VLANs, 802.1q [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Ok...either I'm doing something wrong, or the documentation is incorrect. Here's what I'm trying to follow:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/2005.1/handbook-x86.xml?part=4&chap=3#doc_chap10

I have emerged net-misc/vconfig. But when I drop their code into /etc/conf.d/net,
Code:
# Specify the VLAN numbers for the interface like so
# Please ensure your VLAN IDs are NOT zero-padded
vlans_eth0="1 2"

# You can also configure the VLAN
# see for vconfig man page for more details
vconfig_eth0=( "set_name_type VLAN_PLUS_VID_NO_PAD" )
vconfig_vlan1=( "set_flag 1" "set_egress_map 2 6" )

# Configure the interface as usual
config_vlan1=( "172.16.3.1 netmask 255.255.254.0" )
config_vlan2=( "172.16.2.1 netmask 255.255.254.0" )

and when I restart my interface,
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart

I get this:
Code:
 * Starting eth0
 *   Bringing up eth0
 *     Configuration not set for eth0 - assuming dhcp
 *     dhcp
 *       Running dhcpcd ...                                               [ !! ]

(note that I terminated using Ctrl+C when I saw dhcpcd begin to run)

What am I doing wrong, guys?


Last edited by audiotecnicality on Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:55 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiotecnicality
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Northern CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 11:19 am    Post subject: Seem to have found a fix for my own problem Reply with quote

So, I did some more searching around and this seems to work for me:
Code:
config_eth1=( "null" )
vlans_eth1="2 3"
vconfig_eth1=( "set_name_type VLAN_PLUS_VID_NO_PAD" )
config_vlan2=( "192.168.1.10 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
config_vlan3=( "192.168.1.10 netmask 255.255.255.0" )

They seem to have omitted only this, which defines that we don't want to use eth1 per se:
Code:
config_eth1=( "null" )

How do I let someone know about this documentation bug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingDaveRa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 May 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Bucks, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just been doing a lot of digging and found this thread - it's not clear that you need to specify a 'blank' interface as such. I think it could be noted, just a short line, that it should be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum