Problem with GRUB after install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
erehwon
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:21 am    Post subject: Problem with GRUB after install Reply with quote

This is my first time with gentoo, but not my first time with linux. I've worked with Debian and red hat. I managed to finally get through the install, but after rebooting, I get a blank screen instead of grub. It waits and then goes into gentoo and I can make it go into Windows too. When I go into linux, all the code running across the screen is messed up but clears after a little bit. There is also a problem of it saying eth0 does not exist. Windows sees it, but says it's disconnected.

I'll post some of my config files.

fstab

shm /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexex
/dev/hdc2 /boot ext3 defaluts,noatime
/dev/hdc3 none swap
/dev/hdc4 / ext3
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto
proc /proc proc

Should I have also put the windows partitions into fstab? /dev/hdc1 is windows and there is a ntfs and a fat32 partition on another drive.

grub.conf

# Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
default 0
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 30
# Comment out if you don't have a graphics card installed
splashimage=(hd0,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda4

# The next four lines are only if you dualboot with a Windows system.
# In this case, Windows is hosted on /dev/hda6.
title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
makeactive
chainloader +1