DVD images on hard drive/network drive
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
davidjneff
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 12:53 am    Post subject: DVD images on hard drive/network drive Reply with quote

I'm fairly new to Gentoo, but I've never solved this with other Linux I've tried (Ubuntu, Fedora).

I have a Raid 5 networked attached Terrabyte server (buffalo). Only supports FTP and Samba, but works OK when I smbmount it. Its full of music, MP4, and DVD images. By the way, as an aside, when I'd just use Gnome to connect to the network drive Totem would play music and MP4 videos, but Mplayer wanted to copy them to the hard drive first! The Samba Mount took care of that mplayer quirk.

I can play real DVDs with Totem and Mplayer, but haven't been able to get DVD images -- the IFO type, I've never tried the ISO image -- to play back in anything.

My Windows Media Center PC can do it and Meedio on a tablet PC can do it. I've even played DVDs on the tablet PC via 802.11g (works OK if you aren't too far away and don't move it around alot). But so far, no luck in Linux. I don't think its unique to the network drive, I would assume the same issue exists if its actually on my hard drive, but I haven't had the free space to try it.

What am I missing? I have a couple old laptops I'm playing with using as "media extenders".

Anyone playing DVDs off a local hard drive? A Networked drive?

Thanks for any enlightement.