View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Leorossi n00b
Joined: 31 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: Firenze (ITALY)
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:37 pm Post subject: Help configuring ipw2100 + wpa_supplicant |
|
|
Hi all, first message in this forum.
I'm running Gentoo 2005.1 on a Acer Travelmate 290Lci.
I installed ipw2100 drivers for WLAN and followed Gentoo guide to configure everything.
I installed wpa_supplicant since my wireless router (3Com) is set to WEP-Encryption.
I don't know how to get all the stuff working.
Here are my sources:
/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code: |
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1
network={
ssid="3Com Reds"
group=WEP104
key_mgmt=NONE
auth_alg=OPEN
psk="my_password"
priority=5
}
|
/etc/conf.d/net
Code: |
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d. To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth0="nodns nontp nonis"
config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
#dhcp_eth1="nodns nontp nonis"
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dipw"
wpa_timeout_eth1=60
|
this is the output of my ./etc/init.d/net.eth1 start command
Code: |
GentooBook init.d # ./net.eth1 start
* Starting eth1
* Starting wpa_supplicant on eth1 ... [ ok ]
* eth1 connected to "3Com Reds" at 00:0F:CB:AE:5A:80
* not using any encryption
* Bringing up eth1
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ... [ !! ]
GentooBook init.d #
|
I can't get an IP ... also from the router's log i can't see any comunications.
I tried to change the channel, to the one used by my router:
Code: |
GentooBook init.d # iwconfig eth1 channel 11
Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04) :
SET failed on device eth1 ; Operation not supported.
|
Any help? I read so many pages and everyone says something different, I'm confused...
Thank you and happy new year |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dgaffuri Advocate
Joined: 05 Jun 2005 Posts: 2078 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 6:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There's no need for wpa_supplicant if you use WEP. Anyway, check the errors running
Code: | wpa_supplicant -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -ieth1 -Dipw -d |
Depending on driver version you may need to set -Dwext (and change accordingly /etc/conf.d/net). _________________ Adopt an unanswered post
If you feel that your problem has been solved please edit the top post and add [solved] to the subject |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Leorossi n00b
Joined: 31 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: Firenze (ITALY)
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 6:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What should I use for the WEP encryption?
this is the output of the wpa_supplicant command
Code: |
GentooBook init.d # wpa_supplicant -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -ieth1 -Dipw -d
Initializing interface 'eth1' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'ipw'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1
Priority group 5
id=0 ssid='3Com Reds'
Initializing interface (2) 'eth1'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
wpa_driver_ipw_init is called
Own MAC address: 00:04:23:6e:11:2d
wpa_driver_ipw_set_wpa: enabled=1
wpa_driver_ipw_set_key: alg=none key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_ipw_set_key: alg=none key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_ipw_set_key: alg=none key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_ipw_set_key: alg=none key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_ipw_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
wpa_driver_ipw_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'eth1' added
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'eth1' added
Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
Scan timeout - try to get results
Received 210 bytes of scan results (1 BSSes)
Scan results: 1
Selecting BSS from priority group 5
0: 00:0f:cb:ae:5a:80 ssid='3Com Reds' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0
skip - no WPA/RSN IE
selected non-WPA AP 00:0f:cb:ae:5a:80 ssid='3Com Reds'
Trying to associate with 00:0f:cb:ae:5a:80 (SSID='3Com Reds' freq=0 MHz)
Cancelling scan request
Automatic auth_alg selection: 0x1
Overriding auth_alg selection: 0x1
wpa_driver_ipw_set_auth_alg: auth_alg=0x1
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
wpa_driver_ipw_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=0
Setting authentication timeout: 5 sec 0 usec
EAPOL: External notification - portControl=ForceAuthorized
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b1a len=22
Wireless event: cmd=0x8b15 len=20
Wireless event: new AP: 00:0f:cb:ae:5a:80
Association event - clear replay counter
Associated to a new BSS: BSSID=00:0f:cb:ae:5a:80
Associated with 00:0f:cb:ae:5a:80
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=1
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state S_FORCE_AUTH
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state IDLE
EAP: EAP entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state IDLE
Cancelling authentication timeout
RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'eth1' added
EAP: EAP entering state FAILURE
Signal 2 received - terminating [color=red]<---- I press CTRL-C since it was strucked for minutes... [/color]
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
wpa_driver_ipw_set_wpa: enabled=0
wpa_driver_ipw_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=0
wpa_driver_ipw_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
gentoo_dude l33t
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 6:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You need to change -Dipw to -Dwext in /etc/conf.d/net |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dgaffuri Advocate
Joined: 05 Jun 2005 Posts: 2078 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 6:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It seems OK at first sight, it's correct that it keeps running until you interrupt it. Try to run dhcpcd eth1 from another session. You may check the status running
Code: | ipw_cli -i eth1 status |
In alternative you may use iwconfig, just put a key_<essid> line in /etc/conf.d/net or /etc/conf.d/wireless (look at wireless.example for details) and remove
Code: | modules=( "wpa_supplicant" ) |
_________________ Adopt an unanswered post
If you feel that your problem has been solved please edit the top post and add [solved] to the subject |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Leorossi n00b
Joined: 31 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: Firenze (ITALY)
|
Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
GentooBook ~ # wpa_cli -i eth1 status
bssid=00:0f:cb:ae:5a:80
ssid=3Com Reds
pairwise_cipher=NONE
group_cipher=NONE
key_mgmt=NONE
wpa_state=ASSOCIATED
Supplicant PAE state=UNKNOWN
suppPortStatus=Authorized
EAP state=FAILURE
|
now i will try with iwconfig |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dgaffuri Advocate
Joined: 05 Jun 2005 Posts: 2078 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry, now that I look better you should have
Code: | wep_key0=<hex wep key without dashes>
wep_tx_keyidx=0 |
in wpa_supplicant.conf instead of the psk entry, which is used for WPA-PSK and not for WEP. _________________ Adopt an unanswered post
If you feel that your problem has been solved please edit the top post and add [solved] to the subject |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Leorossi n00b
Joined: 31 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: Firenze (ITALY)
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
GentooBook init.d # ./net.eth1 start
* Starting eth1
* Starting wpa_supplicant on eth1 ... [ ok ] * eth1 connected to "3Com Reds" at 00:blah:blah:
* Bringing up eth1
* Configuration not set for eth1 - assuming dhcp
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ... [ !! ]
|
Seems like dhcpcd is not well configured to gain an IP address from my access point...
Any other help? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Leorossi n00b
Joined: 31 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: Firenze (ITALY)
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jan 3 19:25:48 GentooBook dhcpcd[10395]: broadcasting DHCP_DISCOVER
Jan 3 19:26:48 GentooBook dhcpcd[10395]: timed out waiting for a valid DHCP ser ver response
This is an interesting part of my /var/log/messages |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gentoo_dude l33t
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Are you sure that your 3com router is dhcp server enabled? Also do you use MAC filtering on the router? It's your MAC address on the allow list?
If it's not you might want to try to set up the ip manually in /etc/conf.d/net. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Leorossi n00b
Joined: 31 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: Firenze (ITALY)
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 7:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have another 3 pc's connected by wi-fi on that access point.
Nothing blocked, all dhcp served...I didn't put mac filtering (i will check again now)...
The only difference is that THIS notebook is 802.11b and others NIC are 802.11g (54Mbs), but the router i set in mixed mode "11b/11g".
Router is set on channel 11, but if i try to change channel....
Code: |
GentooBook ~ # iwconfig eth1 channel 11
Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04) :
SET failed on device eth1 ; Operation not supported.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Leorossi n00b
Joined: 31 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: Firenze (ITALY)
|
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
up! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
flashiebo n00b
Joined: 02 Dec 2004 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
I also have problems with wpa_supplicant and ipw2200.
when i try to start net.eth1 this i what i get:
Code: | * Starting eth1
* Bringing up eth1
* Configuration not set for eth1 -assuming dhcp
* dhcp
* eth1 does not exist [!!]
|
So i loaded my modules with modprobe
and tried again:
Code: | * Starting eth1
* Starting wpa_supplicant on eth1 ...
'.supported driver 'wext [!!] |
I also tried -Dipw in my /etc/conf.d/net file and i got the same error
I don't know what is wrong... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|