View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
nahtan n00b
Joined: 04 Oct 2003 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 4:41 am Post subject: Error Bringing up Eth0 |
|
|
Hello !
I just got around to installing Gentoo using that stage 3 on 1 guide floating around the tips and tricks forum, but I get a rather unusual error on starting up eth0
Code: |
* Starting eth0
* adsl does not support the required function provides
* apipa does not support the required function check_installed
* arping does not support the required function provides
* bonding does not support the required function provides
* bridge does not support the required function provides
* dhclient does not support the required function provides
* dhcpcd does not support the required function provides
* essidnet does not support the required function check_installed
* ifconfig does not support the required function provides
* ifplugd does not support the required function provides
* ipppd does not support the required function provides
* iproute2 does not support the required function provides
* iptunnel does not support the required function check_installed
* iwconfig does not support the required function provides
* macchanger does not support the required function check_installed
* macnet does not support the required function check_installed
* netplugd does not support the required function provides
* pppd does not support the required function provides
* pump does not support the required function provides
* rename does not support the required function check_installed
* system does not support the required function check_installed
* tuntap does not support the required function provides
* udhcpc does not support the required function provides
* vlan does not support the required function provides
* wpa_supplicant does not support the required function provides
* no interface module has been loaded
|
I've gone through my kernel and made sure all the required things were there, proper drivers are built in too.
This also happens when someone tries to log on (or adding a user)
Code: |
configuration error - unknown item 'FAILLOG_ENAB' (notify administrator)
configuration error - unknown item 'LASTLOG_ENAB' (notify administrator)
configuration error - unknown item 'MOTD_FILE' (notify administrator)
configuration error - unknown item 'FTMP_FILE' (notify administrator)
configuration error - unknown item 'ENV_ROOTPATH' (notify administrator)
configuration error - unknown item 'PASS_MIN_LEN' (notify administrator)
configuration error - unknown item 'CHFN_AUTH' (notify administrator)
|
Does anyone know what is happening ? Even ifconfig brings up no devices (not even a loopback device !!!) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
smerf l33t
Joined: 06 Nov 2004 Posts: 778 Location: Polska
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
use ifconfig -a to see all devices, even those that are down. it looks like problem with gentoo configuration, not with hardware/kernel issue. could you post some related configuration files from /etc/conf.d/? _________________ Microsoft is not the answer, Microsoft is the question, the answer is no. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
nahtan n00b
Joined: 04 Oct 2003 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 8:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Don't worry, all fixed now =D
Thanks for the replies. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crocop n00b
Joined: 26 Jan 2006 Posts: 47
|
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 8:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have the same problem and after doing
and
Code: |
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.lo |
it's all the same. What am I doing wrong? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DeviantOne n00b
Joined: 11 Feb 2006 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:17 pm Post subject: Simple |
|
|
It's quite simple, you have to do " etc-update " and NOT " env-update"
blah... i've had the same problem once, and personally, i was soo fucking angry that I almost smashed my keyboard to pieces. (fortunately i have tought of etc-update before I could do that).
btw.. you should also check, that ur /etc/init.d/net.ethX is linked to /etc/init.d/net.lo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
abacker n00b
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 74
|
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had this same problem. I updated all the files it told me, but I didn't do the *last* step in the install notes. Copy-paste-run and things mostly work now
* WARNING: You have older net.eth* files in //etc/init.d/
* They need to be converted to symlinks to net.lo. If you haven't
* made personal changes to those files, you can update with the
* following command:
*
* # /bin/ls /etc/init.d/net.eth* | xargs -n1 ln -sfvn net.lo
Just makes the links for you, but
- Andrew _________________ under the line |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|