Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
World Of Warcraft Howto/Support UPDATED 11/10/05! (old)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 16, 17, 18  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
prg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi, it is working for me without the mouse bug :D
i'm on amd64, wine 20050930

here's what i've done:

wine-mmap-wowhack.patch
Code:

--- libs/wine/mmap.c
+++ libs/wine/mmap.c
@@ -161,6 +161,26 @@
 
 #endif  /* (__svr4__ || __NetBSD__) && !MAP_TRYFIXED */
 
+static void *get_anon_mmap_null_address(size_t size)
+{
+    static int got_override = 0;
+    static void *low_alloc_ptr = NULL;
+    void * current_low_alloc_ptr;
+
+    if (!got_override)
+    {
+            low_alloc_ptr = (void*)0x10000000;
+            got_override = 1;
+            //printf("gaak!\n");
+    }
+
+    current_low_alloc_ptr = low_alloc_ptr;
+
+    if (low_alloc_ptr)
+        low_alloc_ptr += size;
+   
+    return current_low_alloc_ptr;
+}
 
 /***********************************************************************
  *      wine_anon_mmap
@@ -209,6 +229,9 @@
             return start;
 #endif
     }
+    if ((start == NULL) && !(flags & MAP_FIXED))
+       start = get_anon_mmap_null_address(size);
+
     return mmap( start, size, prot, flags, fdzero, 0 );
 #else
     return (void *)-1;

(thanks to shamus13 who posted a link to http://lists.transgaming.org/pipermail/winex-devel/2004-May/000259.html)

wine-preloader-wowhack.patch
Code:

--- loader/preloader.c
+++ loader/preloader.c
@@ -110,7 +110,7 @@
 {
     { (void *)0x00000000, 0x00110000 },  /* DOS area */
     { (void *)0x80000000, 0x01000000 },  /* shared heap */
-    { (void *)0x00110000, 0x1fef0000 },  /* PE exe range (may be set with WINEPRELOADRESERVE), defaults to 512mb */
+    { (void *)0x10000000, 0x00f00000 },  /* PE exe range (may be set with WINEPRELOADRESERVE), defaults to 512mb */
     { 0, 0 }                             /* end of list */
 };

(how) could that be done with WINEPRELOADRESERVE?

and no, i do not understand what these changes actually do.

hth,
prg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nbetcher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 13
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 7:22 pm    Post subject: Fixed! Reply with quote

Yay! Finally! Someone took their time to fix the cursor problem (yes, the one that has been irritating everyone). Personally every "fix" from this forum has never worked, but the patch that said-person posted actually works for me! Now, to the fun part:

http://www.winehq.org/pipermail/wine-devel/2005-October/041119.html

Like he says, remove the MESSAGE() statements (and also the wine/debug.h include) in order for it to compile.

EDIT: Properly applied patch from above post and it seems to be working correctly so far.
EDIT2: Bzzt, wrong. WoW freezes at random due to infinite memory consumption (anywhere from 10sec to 2min into the game). Anyone have a working patch that actually lets you play extended periods of time? :) Hint: The culpret taking up all of the memory when it freezes is wineserver. Going back to Cedega once again...


Last edited by nbetcher on Fri Oct 14, 2005 8:15 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
legine
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 May 2004
Posts: 555
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ohh man this mousebug again. :(

Lets hope we come up with something...
_________________
quote from Spaceballs:
Dark Helmet:[...] we were told to comb the desert, so we're combing it! [puts down bullhorn] Find anything yet?!
Soldier: Nothing yet, sir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i played for about 1:30h without problems, seems to be working fine here.
what system are you on, nbetcher? you could try changing these values:
{ (void *)0x10000000, 0x00f00000 }
maybe { (void *)0x10000000, 0x01f00000 } gives you more memory

anyway, the next patch will break it again...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1432
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

seems to work flawlessly on my sister's computer...
Anyway I had to hack the patch into the sources myself as the quoted patch was somehow corrupted so the patch-program refused to apply it to the sources...
To spare this to others, here is a link to the patch I created:
http://polynomial-c.homelinux.net/pub/gentoo/portage/app-emulation/wine/files/wine-wow_fixes.patch
I hope it helps ;)

Cheers
Poly
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows10 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shamus13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ello all,

Polynomial-C's patch does the trick for me using wine-20050930. Looks
like the exact memory layout of wow is very sensitive the actual addresses.
I guess, we will soon know exactly, where and what blue is screwing up.
Could be something as simple as failing to check, if the memory, you request,
is actually at the requested address. Ah well, it works until next patch, i guess.

Shamus13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nbetcher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 13
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

prg wrote:
i played for about 1:30h without problems, seems to be working fine here.
what system are you on, nbetcher? you could try changing these values:
{ (void *)0x10000000, 0x00f00000 }
maybe { (void *)0x10000000, 0x01f00000 } gives you more memory

anyway, the next patch will break it again...


I have an AMD 3200+ /w 1GB ram and SuSE's 2.6.13 (but I tried vanilla). wineserver just goes ape-sh*t and reaches 800mb ram in about 5sec (once it starts to "happen").

I will try what you posted above soon - I'm running Onyxia right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PseudoKrazy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2003
Posts: 130
Location: USA/NJ

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Having trouble getting the patches to work...

Code:
 * Failed Patch: wine-wow_fixes.patch !
 *  ( /usr/local/portage/app-emulation/wine/files/wine-wow_fixes.patch )
 *
 * Include in your bugreport the contents of:
 *
 *   /var/tmp/portage/wine-20050930-r1/temp/wine-wow_fixes.patch-10470.out



:?:

this is the file it told me to include the bugreport contents of
Code:
***** wine-wow_fixes.patch *****

================================

PATCH COMMAND:  patch -p0 -g0 --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/local/portage/app-e
mulation/wine/files/wine-wow_fixes.patch

================================
patching file libs/wine/mmap.c
patch: **** malformed patch at line 29: /***************************************
********************************

================================

PATCH COMMAND:  patch -p1 -g0 --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/local/portage/app-e
mulation/wine/files/wine-wow_fixes.patch

================================
can't find file to patch at input line 3
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|--- libs/wine/mmap.c.old       2005-06-20 13:43:47.000000000 +0200
|+++ libs/wine/mmap.c   2005-10-14 21:49:54.794346832 +0200
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
patch: **** malformed patch at line 29: /***************************************
********************************

================================

PATCH COMMAND:  patch -p2 -g0 --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/local/portage/app-e
mulation/wine/files/wine-wow_fixes.patch

================================
can't find file to patch at input line 3
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|--- libs/wine/mmap.c.old       2005-06-20 13:43:47.000000000 +0200
|+++ libs/wine/mmap.c   2005-10-14 21:49:54.794346832 +0200
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
patch: **** malformed patch at line 29: /***************************************
********************************

================================

PATCH COMMAND:  patch -p3 -g0 --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/local/portage/app-e
mulation/wine/files/wine-wow_fixes.patch

================================
missing header for unified diff at line 3 of patch
can't find file to patch at input line 3
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|--- libs/wine/mmap.c.old       2005-06-20 13:43:47.000000000 +0200
|+++ libs/wine/mmap.c   2005-10-14 21:49:54.794346832 +0200
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
patch: **** malformed patch at line 29: /***************************************
********************************

================================

PATCH COMMAND:  patch -p4 -g0 --no-backup-if-mismatch < /usr/local/portage/app-e
mulation/wine/files/wine-wow_fixes.patch

================================
missing header for unified diff at line 3 of patch
can't find file to patch at input line 3
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|--- libs/wine/mmap.c.old       2005-06-20 13:43:47.000000000 +0200
|+++ libs/wine/mmap.c   2005-10-14 21:49:54.794346832 +0200
--------------------------
No file to patch.  Skipping patch.
patch: **** malformed patch at line 29: /***************************************
********************************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ThE_TemPLaR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 149
Location: Salon de Provence

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

prg wrote:
hi, it is working for me without the mouse bug :D
i'm on amd64, wine 20050930

here's what i've done:

(snip patches)

(how) could that be done with WINEPRELOADRESERVE?

and no, i do not understand what these changes actually do.

hth,
prg


This worked for me. I can now play WoW without cursor problems.

Edit : And without memory management problem since I've done Uldaman without any problem.
_________________
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Linubie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick and dirty:

Created /usr/local/portage/app-emulation/wine

copied the contens of
/usr/portage/app-emulation/wine (recursive)
into it

copied wine-wow_fixes.patch into
/usr/portage/app-emulation/wine/files


cp /usr/portage/app-emulation/wine/wine-20050930.ebuild /usr/local/portage/app-emulation/wine/wine-20050930-r1.ebuild

added:
epatch "${FILESDIR}"/wine-wow_fixes.patch #wowmousepatch
in:
/usr/local/portage/app-emulation/wine/wine-20050930-r1.ebuild

mkdir /usr/local/portage/app-emulation/wine/wine-20050930-r1

added
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
to /etc/make.conf

cd /usr/local/portage/app-emulation/wine

ebuild wine-20050930-r1.ebuild digest


emerge wine

enjoy WoW

my only issue is a liitle choppy sound , but mouse is working

thank you all for helping us to get wow run


Last edited by Linubie on Sat Oct 15, 2005 5:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teidon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Apr 2005
Posts: 195
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That fix works for me too. I just forgot to do the OpenGL bug fix (selection circles and that stuff), otherwise WoW is working well for me again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lith Maethor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Thessaloniki, Macedonia, Greece

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

worked for me Linubie (on AMD64 here) ...and without the workaround i had to use before with libmemwrapper.so
_________________
Radioactive cats have eighteen half-lives
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morrowyn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, i patched the wine-cvs , i can run WoWW now , which is nice. Although i have poor fps when running it in full quality, which is not so nice. The framerate is not stable , sometimes 20 - 30 and sometimes it below 10, while there is no player around and the surroundings are relatively simple.

So for me gaming on linux is a no no unless its a native port. And frankly i dont understand why there isnt a linux port for WoW, since there is a mac osc port, shouldnt be that hard to make it native to linux or so.

Anyways, thanks for the patches and the help.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zorgan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nbetcher wrote:
prg wrote:
i played for about 1:30h without problems, seems to be working fine here.
what system are you on, nbetcher? you could try changing these values:
{ (void *)0x10000000, 0x00f00000 }
maybe { (void *)0x10000000, 0x01f00000 } gives you more memory

anyway, the next patch will break it again...


I have an AMD 3200+ /w 1GB ram and SuSE's 2.6.13 (but I tried vanilla). wineserver just goes ape-sh*t and reaches 800mb ram in about 5sec (once it starts to "happen").

I will try what you posted above soon - I'm running Onyxia right now.


The same thing is happening to me. Yesterday I played flawlessly for hours, today wine crashes randomly. I'm also running on an AMD, but only with 700Mb of memory.
Did that change in memory size work for you nbetcher?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zorgan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zorgan wrote:
The same thing is happening to me. Yesterday I played flawlessly for hours, today wine crashes randomly. I'm also running on an AMD, but only with 700Mb of memory.
Did that change in memory size work for you nbetcher?


I figured it out! I changed sound system to Alsa today! In OSS everything is ok! :)
Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikataii
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 59
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That explains why I only saw the slimmest in framerate drops on my box when I tried that fix for around 30 minutes.
Wait, no it doesn't, because I'm using ALSA
Then again, I have 1024 MB of RAM, so that might be part of it.
_________________
"War is the Tao of deception." -Sun Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nbetcher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2005
Posts: 13
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zorgan wrote:
nbetcher wrote:
prg wrote:
i played for about 1:30h without problems, seems to be working fine here.
what system are you on, nbetcher? you could try changing these values:
{ (void *)0x10000000, 0x00f00000 }
maybe { (void *)0x10000000, 0x01f00000 } gives you more memory

anyway, the next patch will break it again...


I have an AMD 3200+ /w 1GB ram and SuSE's 2.6.13 (but I tried vanilla). wineserver just goes ape-sh*t and reaches 800mb ram in about 5sec (once it starts to "happen").

I will try what you posted above soon - I'm running Onyxia right now.


The same thing is happening to me. Yesterday I played flawlessly for hours, today wine crashes randomly. I'm also running on an AMD, but only with 700Mb of memory.
Did that change in memory size work for you nbetcher?


No it did not. I tweaked it more to make sure that there was even more memory available - no help. As a matter of fact, I didn't notice any kind of difference between any of the compilations. The crashes just seem to be at a random time, not induced by code. I must reiterate though, the code that we're modifying is in wine-preloader, not wineserver. Wineserver is the one that is hogging the memory, not wine-preloader.

What I don't understand is how Cedega's patch is trivially ported to Wine, but they function so differently. Granted Cedega is ancient compared to today's Wine (WineHQ's Wine), I just find it odd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikataii
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 59
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, Cedega is built entirely off a (older?) snapshot of the wine source code and all they charge for is the massive d3d and other game support they offer. If I remember correctly, cedega still calls on wine-preloader and / or wineserver (I haven't used it in a while, though, so don't quote me on that).
_________________
"War is the Tao of deception." -Sun Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zorgan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nbetcher wrote:

No it did not. I tweaked it more to make sure that there was even more memory available - no help. As a matter of fact, I didn't notice any kind of difference between any of the compilations. The crashes just seem to be at a random time, not induced by code. I must reiterate though, the code that we're modifying is in wine-preloader, not wineserver. Wineserver is the one that is hogging the memory, not wine-preloader.

What I don't understand is how Cedega's patch is trivially ported to Wine, but they function so differently. Granted Cedega is ancient compared to today's Wine (WineHQ's Wine), I just find it odd.


Did you try to use OSS instead of ALSA (in case you are using ALSA)? That did the trick for me, as I said in a post above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
legine
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 May 2004
Posts: 555
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okey The patch had the wished effect here (just tested the mouseover bug). no longtime test done yet.

nbetcher I had random crashes too. On my box it helped to set wine sound to nil ( I mean "" instead of "winalsa.dll)

Okey I am looking into the circle bug now. And I have a question.
Since it is a dll. wouldn't it be easier to compile the dll alone and make then a dll override for WoW?

I will try. Any help is apreaciated since I never used gcc directly always used emerge or make command for compilejobs.
_________________
quote from Spaceballs:
Dark Helmet:[...] we were told to comb the desert, so we're combing it! [puts down bullhorn] Find anything yet?!
Soldier: Nothing yet, sir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

legine wrote:
Okey I am looking into the circle bug now.


this one?
Code:
--- dlls/opengl32/opengl_norm.c
+++ dlls/opengl32/opengl_norm.c
@@ -2367,7 +2416,7 @@
 void WINAPI wine_glPolygonOffset( GLfloat factor, GLfloat units ) {
   TRACE("(%f, %f)\n", factor, units );
   ENTER_GL();
-  glPolygonOffset( factor, units );
+  glPolygonOffset( -factor, units );
   LEAVE_GL();
 }

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
legine
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 May 2004
Posts: 555
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cool and thx. but no.

Thats what i have done already.

I want now to compile the dll and then override the original one useing winecfg. With this little trick I will aply the bugfix only for wow. And I do not dmg the original wine installation.

Cheers
Legine

EDIT:
Hmm that circle bug - Yes. But no thats not all I want to do :) I am cofusing yes I know ^^
_________________
quote from Spaceballs:
Dark Helmet:[...] we were told to comb the desert, so we're combing it! [puts down bullhorn] Find anything yet?!
Soldier: Nothing yet, sir.


Last edited by legine on Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zorgan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PLEASE try to set winesound to OSS!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah okay, never used dll-overrides, wow is the only thing i need wine for anyway, but sounds interesting
that won't probably work for the mmap/preloader stuff, though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
legine
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 May 2004
Posts: 555
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
ah okay, never used dll-overrides, wow is the only thing i need wine for anyway, but sounds interesting
that won't probably work for the mmap/preloader stuff, though


I agree. But there we could try to implement a registry key similar to the memory statement found in Cadega.
_________________
quote from Spaceballs:
Dark Helmet:[...] we were told to comb the desert, so we're combing it! [puts down bullhorn] Find anything yet?!
Soldier: Nothing yet, sir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 2 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum