Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Weird fcrontab problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BigTrucK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:48 am    Post subject: Weird fcrontab problem Reply with quote

I can edit my fcrontab with no problems but for some reason it's just not running my scripts.... when I do a test of:

Code:
*   *   *   *   * /bin/echo "hi"


frcontab outputs hi to ~/dead.letter

But when I go to add a shell script like so:

Code:
5   *   *   *   *   /path/to/shell/script/script.sh


Nothing happens. Not even entries to dead.letter.

When I run the script using the same exact /path/to/shell/script/script.sh it runs just fine.

Any ideas?? :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mmbrothers
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Dec 2005
Posts: 224
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the script that you are trying to run have any output? If there is not output it will not try to send an email with the results. The dead.letter file is created because fcron cannot successfully send the results email, for whatever reason.

One way to see if fcron is running a script is to look in /var/log/messages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kinkos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Location: Hoboken, NJ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try making your shell script like so:
Code:

#!/bin/sh
echo "hi"
just to see if that works (output to dead.letters and all). You could also redirect it like
Code:

*  *  *  *  *  /path/to/shell/script/script.sh &> /root/script.sh.output
with the above script just to check if that works.

HTH.
_________________
Open Source, Open Mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigTrucK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx I will give it a shot... can't figure it out....

Do I have to restart fcron everytime I make changes to fcrontab for a user?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kinkos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Location: Hoboken, NJ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uhmm. I'm not sure :oops: I'm pretty sure most crons allow you to do something like this as a user:
Code:

$ crontab /path/to/users/crontab
to update the crontab. The service doesn't need to be restarted AFAIK, but it never hurts to read the man page.

HTH.
_________________
Open Source, Open Mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigTrucK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do the shell scripts for fcron have to #!/bin/sh? I have mine as #!/bin/bash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kinkos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Location: Hoboken, NJ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, either
Code:
#!/bin/bash
or
Code:
#!/bin/sh
work fine. I merely used sh (i usually use bash) because every system is basically guarenteed to have a working sh, while sometimes bash can be broken.
_________________
Open Source, Open Mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigTrucK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gotcha... I tried your 'hi' script setup and it worked just fine.... so fcron is working properly... must be something in my script that's messed up.

Thx for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kinkos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Location: Hoboken, NJ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem.

If you consider your main issued fixed, please add a "SOLVED" to your subject in the initial post. Helps everyone out a little :)

~kinkos
_________________
Open Source, Open Mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigTrucK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Dec 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok here's what my fcrontab -e currently looks like:

Code:

#Mins   Hours   Days    Months  DoW     Command
5       *       *       *       *       /files/_private/admin/scripts/demons/startChimp.sh


And here's the script code:

Code:

#!/bin/sh

scriptName=startChimp.sh
screenName=irc_chimp
filePath=/files/_private/admin/scripts/commandLines

pid=`screen -list | grep $screenName | awk -F . '{print $1}' | sed -e s/.//`

if [ -z "${pid}" ] ; then
        cd $filePath
        screen -S $screenName -d -m ./$scriptName
        exit 1
else
        #echo "Server is running."
        exit 0
fi

exit 0


when I run startChimp.sh as stated above like /path/to/scripts/startChimp.sh it works just fine, but will not work as entered in fcrontab -e. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kinkos
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 235
Location: Hoboken, NJ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hrmm. This is likely silly, but try this: run the script, as you normally do in an xterm or something. Then close the xterm. Does the screen survive?

My last theory is that when the cron process hits the end of the script, it kills any children processes spawned (like the script in the screen; except i thought screen stays alive, so i'm not sure). If thats not it, hopefully someone else will chime in. SOrry :?
_________________
Open Source, Open Mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mmbrothers
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Dec 2005
Posts: 224
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could always try adding nohup in front of screen and see if this prevents a hangup.

Code:

nohup screen -S $screenName -d -m ./$scriptName
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum