Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
My 1st Gentoo Install, just got stuck
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joey222
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:58 pm    Post subject: My 1st Gentoo Install, just got stuck Reply with quote

Hey guys, i have been trying a range of Linux O/s and ave decided to give Gentoo a run. Now I aint that good with Linux but i am getting there.

I am installing Gentoo 2005.1 on a Intel P3 733Mhz machine. This is the part from the Gentoo Handbook i am using to help me install.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chrooting into the Gentoo Base System

1: Chrooting
Mount the /proc filesystem on /mnt/gentoo/proc to allow the installation to
use the kernel-provided information even within the chrooted environment.

Code:

Code Listing 1: Mounting /proc
# mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now eveything has went fine uptill this part. when i type in the command, which looks like this on screen:

Code:
livecd gentoo # mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc


i get this error message:

Code:
livecd gentoo # mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount: mount point /mnt/gentoo/proc does not exist


This has gotten me lost as i already have setup my HD named hda1, hda2,hda3 just as it is in the Help Guide.

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks
Joey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shrimp123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Here!

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry for asking....


but have you created the directory?

mkdir /mnt/gentoo/proc

K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenYetiToo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 165
Location: Siegen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:18 pm    Post subject: Re: My 1st Gentoo Install, just got stuck Reply with quote

joey222 wrote:

Code:
livecd gentoo # mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount: mount point /mnt/gentoo/proc does not exist


This has gotten me lost as i already have setup my HD named hda1, hda2,hda3 just as it is in the Help Guide.

Anyone got any ideas?


Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/proc
before the mount should help.
Markus
_________________
Cats, cats everywhere ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joey222
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why thank you my good friend.

no need for the sorry, i am a complete noob with linux, but that will change
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joey222
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now ave got few steps forward but not many.

for this section of the install:

Code Listing 3: Chrooting into the new environment
Code:

# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
* Caching service dependencies...
# source /etc/profile


the 1st line

# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash - works ok

# env-update - doesnt, i get this error back

Code:

>>> /tmp doesn't exist, creating it...
!!! invaild token (not "=") -march
!!!ParseError: Invails token (not `=`): //etc/make.conf: line 7 in //etc/make.conf
orrect multline literals can cause this. Do not use them


Now i am gonna take a guess and say that i have inputted to many line of code into the make.conf file.

Reading the hand guide i added the lines that was in it to the make.conf file and saved. Should i have removed the lines already their, they seemed slimiar to the ones i inputted.

Thanks
Joey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dikkiedik
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 406
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you post your make.conf file here please?

I think it's weird not having a /mnt/gentoo/proc, since it's created when you tar the portage and stage package...

Are you sure you have done this steps in the install manual? :

... after creating the disks, assinging and creating filesystems on them and after mount /dev/hd** /mnt/gentoo
(stars indicating the special device / hard drive)

Code:


cd /mnt/gentoo
tar xvjpf stage-**(filename)
tar xvjf portage-**(filename) -C /mnt/gentoo/usr



If you didn't do that, just go with the manual until you reach it, and continue. Nothing is lost yet,

Else it could be the make.conf file, which I (and the others) need to see to be sure.
_________________
Calling atheism a religion, is like calling bald a haircolour.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joey222
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

am currently at

livecd / #

wer do i go from here to view the make.conf.

ill have to type it out :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

joey222 wrote:

Code:

>>> /tmp doesn't exist, creating it...
!!! invaild token (not "=") -march
!!!ParseError: Invails token (not `=`): //etc/make.conf: line 7 in //etc/make.conf
orrect multline literals can cause this. Do not use them

Joey


looks like you make.conf is wacky it should be something along the lines of this

Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 (CHANGECACCORDLINGLY) -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
USE="YOURUSEFLAGS"


remember to do
Code:
nano -w
when editing textfiles -w makes it so lines dont wrap
Code:
man nano
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

joey222 wrote:
am currently at

livecd / #

wer do i go from here to view the make.conf.

ill have to type it out :(


Code:
cat /etc/make.conf
to view it :wink:
Code:
nano  -w
to edit

Last edited by seren on Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joey222
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Code:
cat/etc/make.conf
to view it


I recieved this error back:

Code:

bash: cat/etc/make.conf


Now if cat was ment to be something else then thats me just been stupid when stoned. :roll:

So bear with me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my typo
Code:
cat /etc/make.conf


sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GenYetiToo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 165
Location: Siegen, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seren wrote:
my typo

No, his.
M.
_________________
Cats, cats everywhere ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joey222
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seren wrote:
my typo
Code:
cat /etc/make.conf


sorry


am as much to blame, i didnt pick it up :oops:

Right heres my make.conf (dont look away)
Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make/make.conf example for a more detailed example

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=pentium3"
CHOST="i686-pc-linuc-gun"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
-march=pentium3
CFLAGS-" -march=pentium3 - pipe -O2"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=pentium3 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer" thats a O not a 0
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"

use that { isnt (
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joey222
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

now i dunno wer am at.

i cnaged the make.conf file to the one above, when i hit Cltr + X to exit, hit Y to save, if i type:

cat /etc/make.conf

i sill get the old one:

Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make/make.conf example for a more detailed example

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=pentium3"
CHOST="i686-pc-linuc-gun"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
-march=pentium3
CFLAGS-" -march=pentium3 - pipe -O2"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"


joey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you chrooted still? if so try putting that same setup i posted before and in nano do CTRL O to save then CTRL X to exit.
then do ONLY IF CHROOTED
Code:
source /etc/profile && env-update
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mpsii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Posts: 658
Location: Jackson, TN

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just my $.02... maybe you should exit from chroot, umount /mnt/gentoo (and /mnt/gentoo/proc, /mnt/gentoo/boot, and others if setup), format the partition(s), and start over from unpacking the stage3 file.

Or... try the installer with this ISO. Be sure to have a location for your stage3 download at the least.
_________________
-----------------------------------------
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that $.02 may be a good idea too, you havent gotten past extracting stage3 and portage anyways
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
opqdan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2004
Posts: 429
Location: Redmond, WA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you are at the livecd prompt (before the chroot) then the correct make.conf will be located via:
Code:
cat /mnt/gentoo/etc/make.conf


I would also suggest that you perhaps skipped a step, remember to do everything the handbookd tells you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum