Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how to mount floppy.img please[solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dundas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Location: China, Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:35 am    Post subject: how to mount floppy.img please[solved] Reply with quote

Dear all:

I'm trying to mount a dos floppy image *.img file and get the real files inside of it, by googling I found these:

Code:
mount -o loop /home/dundas/soft/programming/microsoftC60/DISK1.IMG /mnt/floppy/
ioctl: LOOP_CLR_FD: device or resource busy (I translated this sentence in English here,might not be accurate words)
mount: you must specify the filesystem type


mount -o loop -t vfat /home/dundas/soft/programming/microsoftC60/DISK1.IMG /mnt/floppy/
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop2,
       missing codepage or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

# dmesg | tail
VFS: Can't find a valid FAT filesystem on dev loop1.
SQUASHFS error: Can't find a SQUASHFS superblock on loop1
FAT: invalid media value (0x01)
VFS: Can't find a valid FAT filesystem on dev loop1.
FAT: invalid media value (0x01)
VFS: Can't find a valid FAT filesystem on dev loop2.
FAT: invalid media value (0x01)
VFS: Can't find a valid FAT filesystem on dev loop2.
FAT: invalid media value (0x01)
VFS: Can't find a valid FAT filesystem on dev loop2.


I also tried to mount it by using -t msdos, and other filesystems...
but still it doesn't work, any clues please?


thank you!
_________________
Appreciate Gentoo: Best Devs, Best Forums. YOU could help too: Help Answer


Last edited by dundas on Sat Jan 07, 2006 11:03 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The correct line for a read DOS foppy image should be

mount -o loop -t msdos floppy.img /mnt/something

which you say you did.

Are you sure the image isn't damaged? How did you create/get to this image?
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dundas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Location: China, Earth

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nephros wrote:
The correct line for a read DOS foppy image should be

mount -o loop -t msdos floppy.img /mnt/something

which you say you did.

Are you sure the image isn't damaged? How did you create/get to this image?


Hi nephros, thx for replying, yes I did try that again, but it returns me the same error messge I posted before, wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0....blar blar....

I tried to use HD-copy under windows for that img file, and it can be extracted to a floppy without problem.
_________________
Appreciate Gentoo: Best Devs, Best Forums. YOU could help too: Help Answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revertex
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 806

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nephros wrote:

mount -o loop -t msdos floppy.img /mnt/something

this work's fine for me, right now it's exactly what i need to flash my bios.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dundas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Location: China, Earth

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

revertex wrote:
nephros wrote:

mount -o loop -t msdos floppy.img /mnt/something

this work's fine for me, right now it's exactly what i need to flash my bios.


ok.
I downloaded that img from the net, so I'm not sure if it can/cannot be used in linux, but it's the MSDOS 6.22 setup disks.
_________________
Appreciate Gentoo: Best Devs, Best Forums. YOU could help too: Help Answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
revertex
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 806

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dundas wrote:

ok.
I downloaded that img from the net, so I'm not sure if it can/cannot be used in linux, but it's the MSDOS 6.22 setup disks.


Same here, i haven't windows nor floppy disk, i used to use these foppy images to burn bootable cds with floppy emulation.
maybe a corrupted download?

take a look here, perhaps it should be helpful

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-136726-highlight-bios+flash.html\

http://www.nenie.org/misc/flashbootcd.html

if it's a floppy image and you want to put it in a floppy disk try
Code:
dd if=/path/to/img of=/dev/floppy bs=10k count=144


Last edited by revertex on Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dundas wrote:
I downloaded that img from the net, so I'm not sure if it can/cannot be used in linux, but it's the MSDOS 6.22 setup disks.

Try to redownload these.
Most likely the image is corrupt.

You can check it too with "file image.img"
If it shows "data" the image is corrupt for sure.
(Note that if it shows "x86 boot sector" or similar, it might be still be corrupt)

BTW, depending on what you want DOS for, you might want to look at http://www.freedos.org/ which is a very feature-rich DOS clone. Free Software, too!
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dundas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Location: China, Earth

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nephros:
file DISK1.IMG returns data, so ya, I doubt it's corrupted
I do heard of freedos, will look into it, sir.

revertex:
now I learned how to flash bios from linux.

I'm feeling really lucky being on gentoo forum, getting your sincere support, nephros and revertex, thank you both for giving me precise suggestions, happy new year! :)
_________________
Appreciate Gentoo: Best Devs, Best Forums. YOU could help too: Help Answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dundas wrote:
I'm feeling really lucky being on gentoo forum, getting your sincere support, nephros and revertex, thank you both for giving me precise suggestions, happy new year! :)


Same to you, glad to help; hope you succeed in getting it fixed.

When's New Year in China?
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dundas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Dec 2004
Posts: 317
Location: China, Earth

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nephros wrote:


When's New Year in China?


precisely, New year 2006 from the Chinese traditional calendar is Jan, 29th.
so Jan 28th in China is like the silent night for X'mas

it's gonna be crowded :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:[/quote]
_________________
Appreciate Gentoo: Best Devs, Best Forums. YOU could help too: Help Answer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum