Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde xinerama question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
novacrasher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:08 am    Post subject: kde xinerama question Reply with quote

Hello, I just got my gentoo box setup with dual monitors and twinview. I don't think that my kde is setup to support xinerama. I could be wrong though. If I try to maximize a windows it maximizes it to both screens and I can only have one desktop background and I heard with xinerama it allows you to have different backgrounds on each screen. Anyways, I was wondering if I had to recompile kde or the kernel with xinerama support and if I do how would I go about doing this. I am a newbie so please be descriptive and specific. Thank you so much for the help. Here is my xorg.conf file in case you need it.

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier   "Default Layout"
   Screen   "Screen0"
   Screen   "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
   InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Module"

    Load        "dbe"     # Double buffer extension

    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"
    Load       "glx"
EndSection

Section "Files"

    RgbPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/local/"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
#Option   "Xinerama"   "false"
EndSection


Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier   "Keyboard1"
    Driver   "kbd"
    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option "XkbRules"   "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel"   "pc101"
    Option "XkbLayout"   "us"

EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier   "Mouse1"
    Driver   "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/mouse"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Timeout"    "50"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Dell"
ModelName "E173FP"
#DisplaySize 340 270
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VertRefresh 50.0 - 70.0
HorizSync   31.0 - 80.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card0"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
    Driver      "nvidia"
#    BusID   "AGP:01:00:0"
#
   Option     "ConnectedMonitor"          "CRT, CRT"
   Option   "RenderAccel"   "true"
   #Option   "HWcursor"
   Option   "CursorShadow"   "true"
   Option   "CursorShadowAlpha"   "32"
   Option   "CursorShadowXOffset"   "3"
   Option   "CursorShadowYOffset"   "3"
   Option   "TwinView"   "true"
   Option  "TwinViewOrientation"   "RightOf"
   #Option   "AllowGLXWithComposite"
   Option   "MetaModes"                  "1280x1024, 1280x1024 @1024x768; 1024x768, 1024x768"
#        Option   "MetaModes"                  "1024x768, 1024x768; 1280x1024, 1024x768 @1024x1200"
#   Option   "RandRRotation"   "truex

EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier "Card1"
   Driver   "nvidia"
#   BusID   "AGP:01:00:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
#Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Screen1"
   Device   "Card1"
   Monitor   "Monitor1"
   #HorizSync   31.5 - 48.5
   #VertRefresh   50-70
     Option "dpms"
   SubSection   "Display"
      Depth 24
      Modes   "1024x768"
   EndSubsection
EndSection

Section   "DRI"
   Group   0
   Mode   0666
EndSection

#Section "ServerLayout"
#        Identifier     "X.org Configured"
#   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
#   InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
#   InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
#EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mwilliamson
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jul 2005
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check and see if you have xinerama in your make.conf. If not then you will need to recompile KDE with xinerama on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
novacrasher
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay so yes, I figured that would be the case. My next question is how do I go about doing this? Do you mean re-emerge it? If I do an emerge -vp kde, xinerama is not listed as one of the USE flags. Sorry if I sound like an idiot but I guess I have to start somewhere. I have already made xinerama a global use flag. Also, is there a way of doing an update such as an emerge world that will recompile all of the programs on my computer that are compatible with xinerama? Maybe I am just being hopeful. Thanks again for the help and the replies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tlaloc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 451
Location: Europe - Alps - Tyrol

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you are looking for is the --newuse argument of emerge. So now that you have added the xinerama use flag to your make.conf do an
emerge -pv --newuse world. If the output is okay issue the command again without the --pretend and wait. :D
When all is finished in the control centre under Devices -> Monitor or so there should be new settings for xinerama now.
As for different wallpapers on the desktop, you will need to have emerged kde 3.5 for that, which besides has much better xinerama support than prior versions. E.g. you will have one kicker instance per screen if you don't have set the monitors as one big screen. I don't because my screens have different dpi specs.

Bye, Valentin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum