View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
lennert n00b
Joined: 03 May 2005 Posts: 49 Location: netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:01 am Post subject: got really stuck modules problem [SOLVED] |
|
|
I've been having a hard time preparing a pc for my dad. It's an AMD64 thing with an nForce4 SLI chip. I've been trying to get alsa to work with kde but no luck only more troubles. I've tried the folowing only sound enabled in kernel, rest emerge alsa-libs as in http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_ALSA_sound_mixer_aka_dmix didn't work (alsa played but not kde) then built as a kernel module but i put on generic device: mpu401 (bad mistake) didn't work so recompiled my kernel without alsa or oss in it. At boot the thing did't look good.
dmesg Code: | Unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at 0000000000000000 RIP:
[<0000000000000000>]
PGD 3c8f4067 PUD 3e195067 PMD 0
Oops: 0010 [1] SMP
CPU 0
Modules linked in: snd_mpu401 snd_mpu401_uart snd_ens1371 snd_rawmidi snd_seq_device snd_ac97_codec snd_pcm snd_timer snd snd_page_alloc snd_ac97_bus nvidia
Pid: 5623, comm: modprobe Tainted: P 2.6.14-gentoo-r5 #3
RIP: 0010:[<0000000000000000>] [<0000000000000000>]
RSP: 0018:ffff81003c8d1c70 EFLAGS: 00010286
RAX: ffffffff884b77c8 RBX: ffff81003f84b410 RCX: 0000000000000000
RDX: 0000000000000009 RSI: ffffffff884b29a9 RDI: ffff81003f84b400
RBP: ffffffff884b77c8 R08: 0000000000000000 R09: ffff81003d227e88
R10: 00002aaaaabc09a8 R11: 0000000000000000 R12: 0000000000000000
R13: ffff81003f84b410 R14: 0000000000000000 R15: 00000000005171b0
FS: 0000000000514ae0(0000) GS:ffffffff805b4800(0000) knlGS:0000000000000000
CS: 0010 DS: 0000 ES: 0000 CR0: 000000008005003b
CR2: 0000000000000000 CR3: 000000003e0b0000 CR4: 00000000000006e0
Process modprobe (pid: 5623, threadinfo ffff81003c8d0000, task ffff81003eb5d240)
Stack: ffffffff8028fe5f 0000000000000000 ffff81003c8d1c98 ffffffff8028fed0
ffffffff8028f606 ffffffff80499988 ffffffff80499990 ffffffff884b7870
ffff81003d5566d8 ffff81003d5566d8
Call Trace:<ffffffff8028fe5f>{driver_probe_device+79} <ffffffff8028fed0>{__device_attach+0}
<ffffffff8028f606>{bus_for_each_drv+70} <ffffffff8028ff39>{device_attach+89}
<ffffffff8028f685>{bus_add_device+69} <ffffffff8028e6bd>{device_add+173}
<ffffffff802918ca>{platform_device_register+250} <ffffffff884ad337>{:snd:snd_generic_device_register+135}
<ffffffff884ad6d9>{:snd:snd_card_set_generic_dev+9}
<ffffffff88509178>{:snd_mpu401:snd_mpu401_create+376}
<ffffffff88509302>{:snd_mpu401:snd_mpu401_pnp_probe+338}
<ffffffff80273e88>{pnp_device_probe+136} <ffffffff8028fe5f>{driver_probe_device+79}
<ffffffff8028ff60>{__driver_attach+0} <ffffffff8028ffa0>{__driver_attach+64}
<ffffffff8028ff60>{__driver_attach+0} <ffffffff8028f3a9>{bus_for_each_dev+73}
<ffffffff8028f8e8>{bus_add_driver+136} <ffffffff80273f76>{pnp_register_driver+54}
<ffffffff8014bfbf>{kthread_stop+127} <ffffffff8850d09a>{:snd_mpu401:alsa_card_mpu401_init+154}
<ffffffff80152d21>{sys_init_module+273} <ffffffff8010dc26>{system_call+126}
Code: Bad RIP value.
RIP [<0000000000000000>] RSP <ffff81003c8d1c70>
CR2: 0000000000000000
|
during the proces I got so fed up I put in an ENS1371 soundcard in it but there's also an onboard intel8x0 sound thing on it.
I cant get rid of the old module
Code: | # lsmod
Module Size Used by
snd_mpu401 9261 1
snd_mpu401_uart 9088 1 snd_mpu401
snd_ens1371 23940 0
snd_rawmidi 23616 2 snd_mpu401_uart,snd_ens1371
snd_seq_device 10000 1 snd_rawmidi
snd_ac97_codec 105432 1 snd_ens1371
snd_pcm 88776 2 snd_ens1371,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer 24008 1 snd_pcm
snd 50960 8 snd_mpu401,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_ens1371,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc 11856 1 snd_pcm
snd_ac97_bus 4480 1 snd_ac97_codec
nvidia 4855600 12
rmmod -f snd_mpu401
ERROR: Removing 'snd_mpu401': Device or resource busy
|
how do I remove this ghost module? rmmod -f doesn't work. How can I edit the modules loaded at boot (the last part wich should be green ok's ) I'm running udev and coldplug. Also I need to know if anybody got the onboard intel8x0 chip to work with arts,oss and alsa. And hopefully how or just some hints. I love gentoo but everytime I build a PC for people I get into trouble especialy 64 bit processors. Please, I'll have two beers and go off to bed hope you can help me. Just post suggestions and hopefully put solved onto this in the morning.
oh jeah
Code: | uname -a
Linux trijehoek 2.6.14-gentoo-r5 #3 SMP Sun Jan 8 02:35:09 Local time zone must be set--see zic m x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
|
also tried the latest alsa (unmasked it with)
Code: | echo "media-sound/alsa-headers" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords |
and unmasked al deps... _________________ 'nkee?
Last edited by lennert on Sun Jan 08, 2006 4:36 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
r.stiltskin Apprentice
Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 227 Location: Brooklyn
|
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 4:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
I guess if you do: Code: | # rc-update del snd-mpu401 |
it should stop loading that module.
IMHO you're only making your life more miserable by putting in another soundcard, if you don't need it. I don't know about your hardware; the intel chip works on my old Athlon-XP with nForce2. Anyway, you said you got alsa working, but not kde. So why screw around with different drivers and different sound cards? It seems like your problem is more likely something in your kde configuration. Maybe you should pull out that ENS1371 (and rc-update del that module also) & try to get basic functionality going by following this http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml first? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lennert n00b
Joined: 03 May 2005 Posts: 49 Location: netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
it didn't work but than i removed coldplug:
Code: | rc-update del coldplug |
and than rebooted>>no weird message dmesg looked fine.
Code: | # emerge --unmerge coldplug
modules-update
|
now gonna shutdown and pull out the ens1371. And try to get alsa to work. Is it a good idea to loose coldplug? It should be a pc where you can plugin everything and pray if it works. _________________ 'nkee? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lennert n00b
Joined: 03 May 2005 Posts: 49 Location: netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok got one step furter I hope. All looked fine unmerged alsa and updated my keywords file (had a version mismatch between alsa-headers,alsa-utils and alsa-drivers) but when i emerged te right alsa and ran alsaconf the dreaded module snd_mpu401 was the only card alsa found. So looked at http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml and found some things to do: clean up alsa, I've tried in build alsa and there might be some modules hidden rm them! Code: | (Replace KERNELVER with your kernel version)
# rm -rf /lib/modules/KERNELVER/alsa-driver
|
So I finally got rid of snd_mpu401 but now no card has been found by alsaconf (after emerge alsa-driver and alsa-utils).
next... Go back to the kernel make and make modules_install again might get sound module back... _________________ 'nkee? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
r.stiltskin Apprentice
Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 227 Location: Brooklyn
|
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you are using alsa provided by your kernel (as modules), which is the recommended method, then you should NOT have emerged ANY alsa-driver package. You should definitely un-merge alsa-driver if you emerged it. Then un-merge alsa-utils. Unfortunately, I don't know how much "junk" that will leave behind. There will probably be some files/directories that you will have to delete manually (obviously NOT the alsa files in your portage directory). Hopefully you'll be able to figure that out.
So, to start clean:
# emerge -C alsa-driver
# emerge -C alsa-utils
Then, try this for your kernel configuration under Device Drivers ---> Sound ---> :
<M> Sound card support
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture --->
<M> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture
<M> Sequencer Support
<M> OSS Mixer API
<M> OSS PCM
[ * ] OSS Sequencer API
PCI devices --->
<M> Intel/SiS/nVidia/AMD/ALi AC97 Controller
and maybe
USB devices --->
<M> USB Audio/MIDI driver
After you recompile the kernel (and remember to copy the new kernel into /boot), then
# emerge alsa-utils
# alsaconf
Then you probably have to edit /etc/modules.d/alsa because alsaconf doesn't seem to get it right. In the section near the end of the file, where it says:
"Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit"
there are 2 lines that should say:
alias snd-card-0 snd_intel8x0
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
I can't remember exactly what alsaconf writes there, but that is what it should be.
Then hopefully you can run alsamixer, unmute & adjust the volumes, and test the sound as described in the Gentoo ALSA Guide. Then see if you can get some sound working in KDE before you start playing around with MIDI
Good luck. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lennert n00b
Joined: 03 May 2005 Posts: 49 Location: netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the advice but I did the alsa-driver after cleaning the kernel I remerged coldplug, added cold and hotplug to rc default
Code: | rc-update add hotplug default
and: rc-update add coldplug default |
sound support in kernel (not as module) alsa & oss disabled
unmasked my alsa stuff and made sure the kde soundsystem was not running (put it off in kde controll panel
Code: | echo "media-sound/alsa-driver" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords | also did the utils an headers like this.
Code: | # emerge alsa-driver alsa-utils
# alsaconf
# rc-update add alsasound boot |
and i had sound (i could see alsa and oss starting, before my oss didn't start)
started kde soundserver, put it at autodetect and voila it worked. I only have the system sound problem but they are in other threads so maybe I'll try those. Now I'm trying mplayer-bin to play microduh video... It seems to be a 64bits problem, no 64bits win32codecs. My opinion? 64bits will be nice but a lot seems to be hard to get everything to work: openoffice, flash, nvidia... Got it to work but it took some googling.
UPDATE
My oggvorbis wasn't there kde system sounds are ogg... So I put the ogg in the "use" of /etc/make.conf and emerged oggvorbis-utils (the deps made me emerge libs and so on. Now I'm updating the system. Code: | emerge --newuse world -Dv |
So I've learned to take a good look at my use flags _________________ 'nkee? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|