View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
c00l.wave Apprentice
Joined: 24 Aug 2003 Posts: 268
|
Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:27 pm Post subject: yet another Amarok crash |
|
|
After a world update Amarok crashes at startup.
Running amarokapp without any arguments I end up with:
Code: |
QLayout: Adding KToolBar/mainToolBar (child of QVBox/unnamed) to layout for PlaylistWindow/PlaylistWindow
STARTUP
Segmentation fault
|
Using --engine gst I get the same output but with "Killed" instead of "Segmentation fault".
Using --engine arts I get "KCrash: Application 'amarokapp' crashing..." at console and a KDE crash window opens to tell me it just received signal 11, usable lines from backtrace are:
Code: |
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread 16384 (LWP 26002)]
[New Thread 32769 (LWP 26003)]
0xb64882cb in waitpid () from /lib/libpthread.so.0
#0 0xb64882cb in waitpid () from /lib/libpthread.so.0
#1 0xb73d2f9c in ?? () from /usr/kde/3.4/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#2 0x00000000 in ?? ()
|
With --engine xine I thought it would work because it seems to start up (icon in notification area etc.) but then Thunderbird opens (don't know why?!) and Amarok crashes again:
Code: |
QLayout: Adding KToolBar/mainToolBar (child of QVBox/unnamed) to layout for PlaylistWindow/PlaylistWindow
STARTUP
myuser@mybox ~ $ Error while reading shared library symbols:
Can't attach LWP 25902: No such process
[setting tty state failed in terminal_inferior: Input/output error]
/tmp/kde-myuser/amarok6CMf6b.tmp:6: Error in sourced command file:
Couldn't get registers: No such process.
Quitting: Can't detach LWP 25902: No such process
|
I recompiled Amarok about 5 times now, recompiled kdemultimedia, arts and so on. Don't know what's wrong with my system. I also tried it without omit-frame-pointers and with visualization as it was reported to fix such problems. I've also deleted ~/.kde/share/apps/amarok - no difference.
Since my last compilation of a working Amarok I changed to the current version of GCC (and activated it) and updated KDE from 3.4.1 to 3.4.3. I'm using distcc now (but compiled GCC, KDE and Amarok only locally) and got rid of the (on my system) no longer working ccache. CFLAGS are "-O2 -march=athlon-xp" and CHOST is "i686-pc-linux-gnu". Playback through noatun and xine works fine.
Any ideas on how to get it working again? Thanks in advance! _________________ nohup nice -n -20 cp /dev/urandom /dev/null & |
|
Back to top |
|
|
_markd n00b
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 Posts: 30 Location: Austria
|
Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
did you do an emerge -e world after the gcc update ? _________________ -- Student of Telematics at University of Technology in Graz, Austria
-- Running Linux on x86(gentoo), PPC(gentoo), ARM(familiar), SPARC64(gentoo), Alpha(gentoo), MIPS(gentoo) and soon HPPA |
|
Back to top |
|
|
c00l.wave Apprentice
Joined: 24 Aug 2003 Posts: 268
|
Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Argh! No I didn't... I didn't see that I was upgrading from 3.3.x to 3.4.x...
But since no other program behaved unnormal since then, can't there be any other cause? I still can't tell why Thunderbird is starting when I choose xine. Estimated time for recompiling world would be 1d 12h. Real time would be about 1 week I guess. Would be great if I could get it working without recompiling at the moment. _________________ nohup nice -n -20 cp /dev/urandom /dev/null & |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BalleClorin n00b
Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Mon May 08, 2006 8:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thunderbird starts up to send a crash-report to the amarok folks...
BTW, I have the exact same problem as you, also upgraded gcc...
I'll try an -e world tonigh.
Running amarok as root somehov works (using sux -). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
c00l.wave Apprentice
Joined: 24 Aug 2003 Posts: 268
|
Posted: Mon May 08, 2006 9:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
BalleClorin wrote: | Thunderbird starts up to send a crash-report to the amarok folks... |
Funny it didn't only happen to me. I still wonder what causes this strange behaviour. ^^
Quote: | BTW, I have the exact same problem as you, also upgraded gcc...
I'll try an -e world tonigh. |
Good luck. I decided to simply reinstall Gentoo - I've had many orphaned files from a 1 1/2 year old system back then so it seemed to be more worthy to wipe everything and start from scratch (or let's say: partly from a backup).
Quote: | Running amarok as root somehov works (using sux -). |
Man, that really sux.
But at least that works for you - I couldn't do that neither. Doesn't sound that bad, maybe it's just some kind of permission/config problem? _________________ nohup nice -n -20 cp /dev/urandom /dev/null & |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BalleClorin n00b
Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Mon May 08, 2006 10:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
c00l.wave wrote: |
But at least that works for you - I couldn't do that neither. Doesn't sound that bad, maybe it's just some kind of permission/config problem? |
Yea, but it's kind of hard to start looking when amarok crashes without any error messages whatsoever... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ne0_2k Apprentice
Joined: 26 Nov 2005 Posts: 243
|
Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 5:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
BalleClorin wrote: | Thunderbird starts up to send a crash-report to the amarok folks...
BTW, I have the exact same problem as you, also upgraded gcc...
I'll try an -e world tonigh.
Running amarok as root somehov works (using sux -). |
i'm having that problem as well.. after upgrading to gcc 3.4.x. (amarok didn't even compile without it since xine-lib used a flag that was unkown in gcc 3.3.x)
i did use revdep rebuild though instead of emerge -e world , i read its usuall sufficient.
anyway my computer is pretty slow and would take a couple of days to emerge -e, can u tell me if that fixed it for you ?
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nielchiano Veteran
Joined: 11 Nov 2003 Posts: 1287 Location: 50N 3E
|
Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 4:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
standard me-too post...
same thing: gcc upgrade and too lasy to emerge -e...
I'm trying to find the package that broke it... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
radfoj Guru
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 Posts: 490 Location: Tísek, Czech Republic
|
Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Remeemerging taglib tunepimp as quickest workaround didnt help? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nielchiano Veteran
Joined: 11 Nov 2003 Posts: 1287 Location: 50N 3E
|
Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 3:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
radfoj wrote: | Remeemerging taglib tunepimp as quickest workaround didnt help? |
jep, it did ! thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|