Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Setting Up Name Resolution for SSH (solved for now)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tamsco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 313
Location: dmse.mit.edu

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:56 am    Post subject: Setting Up Name Resolution for SSH (solved for now) Reply with quote

This should hopefully be a quick and easy question. I've looked and looked but can't find much in the way of good documentation for SSH. Everything seems to be "How to login to our SSH server". Anyways I have two linux machines separated by 2600 miles. I can ssh into each by typing
Code:
ssh (my IP)
but since these IPs are not static and since one computer is hooked through a router I worry that one IP may change leaving me high and dry.

I would greatly prefer to login via a command like this

Code:
ssh mycomputershostname.whatever


The only way I know how to do this is to add an entry into /etc/hosts, which I did, but that inevitably requires me knowing the IP of the remote host. Supposing one of the computer's IP address changes is there a way I could still be able to login without calling my parents and having them tell me the IP? Do I need to setup a DNS server?
_________________
If you get your problem solved put a [SOLVED] in the title!
Is OpenOffice still compiling?!


Last edited by Tamsco on Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Easiest solution would be to install some sort of dynamic dns client on the machine the ssh server runs on - e.g. net-dns/ddclient
_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tamsco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 313
Location: dmse.mit.edu

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually I've been thinking about this a little more. Suppose I did put a DNS server on my west coast computer, wouldn't I have to write down it's IP in a conf file as to make my east coast computer recognize it as a DNS server? If so that defeats the whole purpose. It would seem that I need to have DNS resolution from a static IP. In my setup the only things that have static IPs are DHCP servers beyond my cojntrol?

Any other ideas or am I going to have to call my parents if and when ssh ceases to work?

Here's My Setup:

East Coast:

[Internet] ------- [MIT DHCP Server] --------[My Computer]


West Coast

[Internet] ---- [Cable Company DHCP] ------ [Router] ------[My Other Computer]
_________________
If you get your problem solved put a [SOLVED] in the title!
Is OpenOffice still compiling?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as i said before, install an ddns client on your parents pc.

It will update its dns record everytime the machine is started and by default checks whether the relation dnsname <-> ip address are still valid every 5 minutes (and updates the record if neccessary).
This is done by having the ddns client to connect to it ddns provider (e.g. DynDNS.com) so the name you register will always resolve to the ip address your parents machine is visible in the internet.

see :arrow: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Dynamic_DNS
_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tamsco
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 313
Location: dmse.mit.edu

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh, that makes sense, thanks. I'll do that over the weekend.
_________________
If you get your problem solved put a [SOLVED] in the title!
Is OpenOffice still compiling?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum