AMD64, raid - success! Feedback & questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Geraint
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 9:34 am    Post subject: AMD64, raid - success! Feedback & questions Reply with quote

I am new to gentoo (I've been a mandrake user for many years) and am setting up gentoo on on a AMD64 box (Asus K8U-X motherboard) with SATA based RAID 1.

Since I was looking for a new distro I tried Fedora 4, Debian Sarge, Opensuse 10.0 and gentoo 2005.1r1. The Fedora install disk kept panicing, Debian didn't recognise my disks or network card - it was only opensuse and gentoo that got past the first hurdle. Opensuse was bloated and really got confused about the network setup. So 10/10 to gentoo :D .

Feedback
  • An update to the software raid wiki entry may be good since it clearly dates from before stage3 was the only supported install route - as a complete newbie I don't think I'm yet qualified to tackle that though.
  • An example of a typical USE setup in make.config for x86_64 users would be handy
  • Suggesting that doing a
    Code:
    emerge --update --deep world
    before installing X.org etc. is probably a good idea?

Question
  • (OT) What is a safe way to test my raid setup - is there any harm in just unplugging a sata lead?

Thanks guys

Geraint
hansmaa
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if this is a typical make.conf file, but this is the one I have - and it works (ie. everything compiles and nothing crashes 8) )

Code:
CFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -ftracer -fprefetch-loop-arrays -ffast-math -mfpmath=sse -msse2 -mmmx -m3dnow"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"