Who is using Gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Fafner
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:40 am    Post subject: Who is using Gentoo? Reply with quote

Hi!
I'm writing my master thesis about an OpenSorce project, and I have chosen the Gentoo project.
I would like to know who is using Gentoo? Are there any organisations or companies that use Gentoo?
Or is Gentoo just for the experienced hackers/geeks?

Why have you chosen to work with Gentoo? Because of the openness and the community or simply because it is free? (As in free beer)

Thanks in advance!
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am a professional computer consultant who does mostly embedded real-time software development. I have my own consulting company. See the link to my web page in my profile on this forum.

I started using Unix in 1986. In 1989 I put Interactive Systems' 386/ix port of AT&T unix on a 386 box that ran 20 MHz and had 12 MB or ram. That was a real screamer for a PC back in those days. It had 80 MB of SCSI disk too.

I started using Linux in 1993. I started out by downloading the original slackware distribution via a 2400 baud modem. That was -- if I remember correctly -- 76 floppies! Shortly after that, I upgraded to a 19.2 kbps Telebit Worldblazer modem. My internet connection at that time was a middle of the night long distance call using uucp to exchange mail and usenet news.

In 1995 I put up my first full-time internet-connected machine, and ran the NSCA web server and sendmail on it. I upgraded to apache shortly after that.

Sometime in the mid to late 1990's, I tried a bunch of distos, but settled on Red Hat, mainly because that was what most of my clients were using. Red Hat had just bought Cygnus, so all the embedded gcc stuff was supported there.