Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
System.map not found, apparently.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 11:19 am    Post subject: System.map not found, apparently. Reply with quote

I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post this, but I am using Gentoo amd64 so it should be ok.

Since installing today's updates I now get, during boot, an error message: "System.map not found. Unable to check symbols." - or something to that effect. The thing is, System.map is in /usr/src/linux as well as /boot, as they have been all along.

The updates were:

sys-apps/sysvinit-2.86-r3
sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.14

It is probably worth noting that and etc-update was needed afterwards. I allowed etc-update to update the scripts in /etc/init.d but I didn't allow it to update the configs in /etc and /etc/conf.d because I didn't want some of my global settings changed. Should I have allowed them to update? Or am I missing something else here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loftwyr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 970
Location: 43°38'23.62"N 79°27'8.60"W

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

go into your /usr/src/linux and execute "make install modules_install" again and it should fix it up.
_________________
My emerge --info
Have you run revdep-rebuild lately? It's in gentoolkit and it's worth a shot if things don't work well.
Celebrating 5 years of Gentoo-ing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestion, but the problem remains. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 997

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/sbin/modules-update did change from:
Code:

        if [ -f /usr/src/linux/System.map ]; then
                depmod -a -F /usr/src/linux/System.map ${KV}
        else
                depmod -a ${KV}
        fi

to:
Code:

        if [ -f /usr/src/linux/System.map ]; then
                depmod -a -F /usr/src/linux/System.map ${KV}
        else
                ewarn "System.map not found - unable to check symbols"
        fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess this is a bug, then. System.map is definitely at /usr/src/linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 997

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When run by root, what says:
Code:

if [ -f /usr/src/linux/System.map ]; then
  echo "/usr/src/linux/System.map exists and is a regular file"
else
  echo "System.map not found - unable to check symbols"
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It says that the file exists and is a regular file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 997

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps /usr/src/linux is somehow not available when modules runs.
Is /usr/src/linux on the same partition as /?
Is RC_PARALLEL_STARTUP="yes"?

When I emerged the new baselayout it did complain this way. At that time there was no /usr/src/linux/System.map.
I copied it in and rebooted, and there was not this complaining. Box is not AMD64 and /usr/src/linux is on the root partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

limn wrote:
Perhaps /usr/src/linux is somehow not available when modules runs.
Is /usr/src/linux on the same partition as /?
Is RC_PARALLEL_STARTUP="yes"?

When I emerged the new baselayout it did complain this way. At that time there was no /usr/src/linux/System.map.
I copied it in and rebooted, and there was not this complaining. Box is not AMD64 and /usr/src/linux is on the root partition.


/usr (and thus /usr/src/linux) is on its own partition and RC_PARALLEL_STARTUP is set to "no". Think I should submit a bug report?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 997

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Before submitting a bug report, you should finish with merging the updates config files with your settings, and see if the problem persists.

You might try, depending on your comfort level:
Code:

cd /etc/init.d
mv modules modules.original
cp modules.original modules

Edit modules to change line
Code:

        need checkroot hostname

to
Code:

        need checkroot hostname localmount

And rebooting to see if making modules dependent on localmount has an effect..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have any modules except for the proprietry nvidia driver, everything else that I need is compiled directly in to the kernel. Stuff that isn't required by my system I have not enabled at all.

As for merging all of the conf files, I don't seem to be able to. If I emerge the two packages again, etc-update says there's nothing to do. Ditto if I unmerge and then remerge them both. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 997

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you boot, /etc/init.d/modules runs. It runs /sbin/modules-update which runs the code which appears unable to see /usr/src/linux/System.map.
Making modules depend on localmount should force all local partitions to be mounted, before modules-update checks for /usr/src/linux/System.map.

When portage runs it checks the new configs against the old configs. If they are the same, files are not created for etc-update. This indicates you merged the updates over your changes.

Go ahead and create a bug and add a link to this post. It will get more attention if others are seeing this behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

limn wrote:
Go ahead and create a bug and add a link to this post. It will get more attention if others are seeing this behavior.


Done.

Thanks for your help! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 997

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot to suggest checking for existing bugs....

Apparently, the ewarn line will be going back to what it was before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually did search for 'System.map' but bugzilla returned no matches. :roll:

Ah well, no harm done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 997

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Certainly other folks will have partitioning like yours, or run 'make clean' as I had, and see the warning.

BTW, unmerging, then re-emerging the system packages - the cure attempt presented more danger than the disease.
Just a word to the wise, as you say, no harm done. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaveQ
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2005
Posts: 225
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What system.map does? I never cared about it, works fine without it :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not entirely sure what System.map does but you're right, it doesn't appear to be critical.

I'm just one of those people who likes to have their systems ticking over perfectly. If there's an error found at boot, it will get investigated, and hopefully fixed, even if it's not important. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ravenlost
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there. Just wanted to say I'm getting the exact same problems!

System.map exists in /usr/src/linux and /boot and my /usr is also in a seperate partition as well.
So what now? This is officially a bug or what? We just need to wait for an update?

Thanks.

Also...

R.Smith wrote:

I'm just one of those people who likes to have their systems ticking over perfectly. If there's an error found at boot, it will get investigated, and hopefully fixed, even if it's not important. :P



I so much agree with you, cause I'm like that as well!!! :D
Hate getting errors and just ignoring them without understanding them!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R.Smith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 131
Location: Caerdydd, Cymru.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2006 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears to be a bug, yep. The Gentoo developers are aware of it so we just have to wait for a fix. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whtwtr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 56
Location: 47° 22' 7.139" N 8° 32' 21.057" E

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:52 pm    Post subject: Same here! Reply with quote

Just giving my 0.02$

I was just updateing as I usually do, merged config files as usual...

For me:
/usr/src/linux on the same partition as /? no using LVM2
RC_PARALLEL_STARTUP="yes"? yes

System.map exists in /usr/linux
and, /usr/src/linux -> linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r5/

It seems like it's not a big deal so I'll wait for the fix... 8)

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enigma_0Z
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Location: Either lurking here or at my forum (see sig)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 8:23 pm    Post subject: Same problem here Reply with quote

Same problem here, not amd64 however...

Does anyone know if this issue should keep my tlan card from working with dhcp?
_________________
Check out my...
Website: (CURRENTLY DOWN) http://sledgehammer.ath.cx
Forum: (ALSO CURRRENTLY DOWN) http://sledgehammer.ath.cx/forum/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quantumwire
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Posts: 403
Location: Lausanne

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 5:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Same problem here Reply with quote

enigma_0Z wrote:
Same problem here, not amd64 however...

Does anyone know if this issue should keep my tlan card from working with dhcp?


The same problem here... I think it's a problem with the LVM2 system in my case (/usr is part of it).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^jimmy^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Erlangen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:47 pm    Post subject: I have the same problem!!! Reply with quote

I have the same problem!!!

There is no solution?

I don't know if this has to do with this same bug, but since I installed the new kernel, my computer has completely frozen already two times in a week.

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carbonti
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, this bug has gotten me also.

I tried to complete a emerge --newuse on gxine. This pulled in a large number of packages including xorg-x11-6.8.2-r6. Packages all compiled successfully. Upon bootup, error message given during startup sequence as "System.map not found, unable to check symbols". So now I can get into X but not start KDE.

I ran make modules modules_install which updated /usr/src/linux/System.map but still resulted in the error message on boot as noted above. BTW, the kernel was not updated anywhere in this process.

Is this a bug fix and if so, of which e-build packages?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum