downloading Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jack_Frost
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 5:00 am    Post subject: downloading Gentoo Reply with quote

I am new to linux but have heard some exceptional things about gentoo and would like to know how i download it?
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.gentoo.org/main/en/where.xml
modal
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jack_Frost, since you are a newb, I have a few words of caution from an avid gentoo lover...
Make sure that you are willing to spend lots of time learning the inner workings of your system, and linux. Linux is NOT windows. It takes time and effort to be useful.

Be sure to search the forums for answers, and post if you can't find them.

also drop on into the #gentoo chat irc channel (irc.freenode.net #gentoo) there are many awesome people that can help you there.

Gentoo is a system that is hand configured, not automated, so don't expect to get it right the first or even second time. That's what makes it fun.

If all else fails, and you start to give up hope, let us on the forums know your troubles and we will try to help you out. Also, if you find that it just isn't for you...there are other great distros out there, that are much "easier " to get running. Mandrake, Redhat, SuSe.

Good luck, welcome to Gentoo.
Jack_Frost
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When i go to that site it is just a directory structure. Do i just right click on every file and save or is there an easier way? Also if you could let me know which directories i will need that would be helpful as well. Thanks guys and i look forward to getting acquainted with gentoo.
arkhan_jg
Apprentice
Apprentice