Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] New kernel will not boot...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
deepspace9
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:36 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] New kernel will not boot... Reply with quote

I just updated my kernel from 2.6.14-gentoo-r2 to 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 I used exactly the same config as the old kernel had to create the new one.


Code:
echo /proc/config.gz | gunzip > .config


Then used genkernel with oldconfig and some more options to build and install the kernel.

After reboot it stops when trying to mount root:

Code:

>> Mounting root...
A fatal error had probably occurred since /sbin/init did
not boot correctly. Try to open a shell...

exec: 761: /bin/bash not found
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!


Both kernels even use the exact same boot params... So what's wrong? I really need this new kernel to work, since the .14 is not stable om SMP systems...
_________________
Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence :) )


Last edited by deepspace9 on Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxgeekery
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird... does your /bin/bash exist? Boot from a livecd and try to find out. My only other thought might be that you didn't compile support for your FS. (e.g. using JFS and not compiling in support to the kernel).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepspace9
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

linuxgeekery wrote:
Weird... does your /bin/bash exist? Boot from a livecd and try to find out. My only other thought might be that you didn't compile support for your FS. (e.g. using JFS and not compiling in support to the kernel).


Sure, my old kernel works just fine on the same root fs... Id did compile the fs support (reiserfs (3)). I used my old kernelconfig, exactly the same parameters as the working kernel..
_________________
Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence :) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whig
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 973
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Code:
echo /proc/config.gz

doesn't do what you want, use cat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepspace9
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

whig wrote:
Quote:
Code:
echo /proc/config.gz

doesn't do what you want, use cat.


woops, of course I used cat ;) But this doesn't change anything about my question...
_________________
Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence :) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whig
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 973
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would save your old .config, delete it from the the kernel source and type
Code:
make defconfig

Ie, start over :(
Then you may wish to use the unix tool diff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepspace9
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You mean like a clean config with genkernel? Do everything over again?

That sucks, but I guess if anything else fails, I'll have to do that..

Any other thoughts what might cause this error? dmraid issues with the new kernel?
_________________
Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence :) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wantilles
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Athens - Greece

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why do you ever use genkernel?

It has always been a totally silly and ineffective system.

I wonder why they are still keeping after all these years.

Take your old config, do a "make oldconfig", answer NO or the default answer to all the questions and you'll be fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocop
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem. I have two kernels one with all sata driver included and otherone with only nvdia stata driver. I have ASUS A8N -E with nForce 4 and that's why I thought I'll need only nvidia. But it doesn't work - the same error. Now I want to get back to the old cofig but I didn't save the old one and now when I'm including all the drivers I get an error. Luckily I have this old kernel with all necessar sata drivers included, and that's why I can use the system, but can I restore a config file form it(this old kernel)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
whig
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 973
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The config of the running kernel should (but not always) be found in /proc/config.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepspace9
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wantilles wrote:
Why do you ever use genkernel?


Because I'm a lazy fuck and don't like all the stuff you need to do after the kernel is compiled... As I said, I'm lazy :P

Quote:

Take your old config, do a "make oldconfig", answer NO or the default answer to all the questions and you'll be fine.


That's effectively exactly what genkernell will do with the correct parameters ;)

@crocop. Hmm, I also included another Sata driver besides the nvidia one in my new kernel (since I have two s-ata chips).. I'm going to try compiling with only the nvidia driver..
_________________
Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence :) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocop
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whig wrote:
The config of the running kernel should (but not always) be found in /proc/config.gz

That helped in my case. Thanks a lot!
deepspace9 wrote:
@crocop. Hmm, I also included another Sata driver besides the nvidia one in my new kernel (since I have two s-ata chips).. I'm going to try compiling with only the nvidia driver..

You'd better leave it as it is, or you'll end up as I did :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wantilles
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Athens - Greece

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

deepspace9 wrote:
wantilles wrote:

Take your old config, do a "make oldconfig", answer NO or the default answer to all the questions and you'll be fine.


That's effectively exactly what genkernell will do with the correct parameters ;)


Well, apparently, it doesn't. So I am right not to trust it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepspace9
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wantilles wrote:
Well, apparently, it doesn't. So I am right not to trust it.


Stop crapping about genkernel, it works fine if you choose to do the kernel config manually! It just works if you use it proberly!

So, i finally managed to get it working. It turned out to be as I already said: I had two Sata drivers compiled into the kernel, and that won't work. Now, with just the nvidia driver, it's fine.

Still don't like the performance thoug. I really mis my old SCSI setup. I guess l'll be looking for a decent hardware RAID card (preferably PCI-e).
_________________
Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence :) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wantilles
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Location: Athens - Greece

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

deepspace9 wrote:
wantilles wrote:
Well, apparently, it doesn't. So I am right not to trust it.


Stop crapping about genkernel, it works fine if you choose to do the kernel config manually! It just works if you use it proberly!


I was under the impression genkernel's main goal was to provide automation, i.e. -> to avoid doing the kernel manually. "If you choose to do the kernel config manually" then what's the whole point in using genkernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wazoo42
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I realize the steps aren't that hard, but they can be a bit tedious especially if one doesn't recompile the kernel all that often. Hence, genkernel is quite nice b/c one doesn't have to worry about make clean, etc, creating the initrd image, or editing the menu.lst.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mliesenf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2003
Posts: 18
Location: University of Florida

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been experiencing a very similar issue on a dual opteron 240 system. I have an old hardened amd64 kernel which works properly, but any new kernel I attempt to compile fails with messages that indicate a kernel panic and something not syncing.

From all of the testing I've done, I think it may have something to do with a system timer, or scheduler, or HPET, or RTC or something... I'm back to guessing.

If there was a [Solution] in this thread I missed it. It doesn't seem like anybody knows what the problem is for sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deepspace9
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 214
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mliesenf wrote:
If there was a [Solution] in this thread I missed it. It doesn't seem like anybody knows what the problem is for sure.


it was simple: disable any sata driver, except the one you need. If that's not your solution, thet I'm afraid, you suffer form a different problem :(
_________________
Athlon 64 X2 3800+
MSI K8N Neo4 FI
Geil Ultra-X PC3200 400MHz CL2 5-2-2 DDR 2x512 GB
Asus 6600 Silence GFX
Watercooling (I just love the silence :) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum