Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Xeon (nocona) upgrade from x86 to x86_64?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
nevin
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:37 am    Post subject: Xeon (nocona) upgrade from x86 to x86_64? Reply with quote

Hello,

This is my first time installing Gentoo onto a 64-bit CPU. The machine contains dual Xeon (nocona) however I was using the x86 livecd to boot and install. So what I have is a 32-bit system installed and running. It would be good if I can "upgrade" the system to 64-bit without using the livecd again (b'cos the server does not have CD-ROM once put onto the rack, and it's remote).

I've searched the forum and tried to cross compile a 64-bit kernel successfully (and able to boot!). So now I have a 64-bit kernal with everything else 32-bit. The question is, what's the next step?

1) Should I bootstrap the system? (I tried but end up something wrong when executing the bootstrap.sh)
2) Should I make a directory, chroot to it and pretend I'm install a fresh machine. Then once the system installation completed I copy all the file back to the root?
3) Do a bootstrap using the cross compiler? (This is something I do not know how to do, never done any cross-compiling)

Can anyone give me some instructions/advises on this?
fangorn
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The differences in baselayout/stage are quite big. AFAIK there is not a chance getting a working system by just compiling everything 64bit. You wont have multilib, ...

You can copy your hand edited configuration files in /etc and your /home. But I dont think you can avoid a reinstall.
drwook
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote