View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mactoo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:25 am Post subject: PHP with Apache2 |
|
|
I've installed apache 2, that works OK
but I've been trying to use php and that doesn't work, it prompts for download when I want to load a php file...
What infos should I provide to make someone help me ?
apache is version 2.0.55-r1
php is version is dev-lang/php-5.0.5-r5
I've checjed many posts about the -D PHPx and tried many things. Nothing worked.
anyone has something ?
mod edit: cleaned some HELP SCREAMING from the subject --Earthwings |
|
Back to top |
|
|
magic919 Advocate
Joined: 17 Jun 2005 Posts: 2182 Location: Berkshire, UK
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
emerge mod_php. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mactoo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've tried that already mad install php 4.x
didn't work |
|
Back to top |
|
|
magic919 Advocate
Joined: 17 Jun 2005 Posts: 2182 Location: Berkshire, UK
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
What? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mactoo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
I mean , I've made emerge mod_php
and it didn't change anything (had to unmerge dev-lang/php to install it) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
magic919 Advocate
Joined: 17 Jun 2005 Posts: 2182 Location: Berkshire, UK
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok. You certainly need mod_php.
The config files have moved around a bit from version to version. Would be worth running apache2 -V to see the basic config file. Then check the PHP module is in the modules directory. Check /etc/conf.d/apache2 as that's where PHP gets started on mine 2.0.54. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mactoo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here's apache2 -V
Server version: Apache/2.0.55
Server built: Feb 1 2006 21:51:15
Server's Module Magic Number: 20020903:11
Architecture: 32-bit
Server compiled with....
-D APACHE_MPM_DIR="server/mpm/prefork"
-D APR_HAS_SENDFILE
-D APR_HAS_MMAP
-D APR_HAVE_IPV6 (IPv4-mapped addresses enabled)
-D APR_USE_SYSVSEM_SERIALIZE
-D APR_USE_PTHREAD_SERIALIZE
-D SINGLE_LISTEN_UNSERIALIZED_ACCEPT
-D APR_HAS_OTHER_CHILD
-D AP_HAVE_RELIABLE_PIPED_LOGS
-D HTTPD_ROOT="/usr"
-D SUEXEC_BIN="/usr/sbin/suexec2"
-D DEFAULT_PIDLOG="/var/run/httpd.pid"
-D DEFAULT_SCOREBOARD="logs/apache_runtime_status"
-D DEFAULT_LOCKFILE="/var/run/accept.lock"
-D DEFAULT_ERRORLOG="logs/error_log"
-D AP_TYPES_CONFIG_FILE="/etc/apache2/mime.types"
-D SERVER_CONFIG_FILE="/etc/apache2/httpd.conf"
don't understand why, the -D PHP doesn't show, in act that might be the problem.
Here's /etc/conf.d/apache2
# Copyright 1999-2005 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# Config file for /etc/init.d/apache2
# When you install a module it is easy to activate or deactivate the modules
# and other features of apache using the APACHE2_OPTS line. Every module should
# install a configuration in /etc/apache2/modules.d. In that file will be an
# <IfDefine NNN> where NNN is the option to enable that module.
# Here are the options available in the default configuration:
# USERDIR Enables /~username mapping to /home/username/public_html
# INFO Enables mod_info, a useful module for debugging
# PROXY Enables mod_proxy
# DAV Enables mod_dav
# DAV_FS Enables mod_dav_fs (you should enable this when you enable DAV
# unless you know what you are doing)
# SSL Enables SSL
# SSL_DEFAULT_VHOST Enables default vhost for SSL (you should enable this
# when you enable SSL unless you know what you are doing)
# LDAP Enables mod_ldap
# AUTH_LDAP Enables authentication through mod_ldap
# DEFAULT_VHOST Enables the default virtual host in /var/www/localhost/htdocs
APACHE2_OPTS="-D PHP5"
# Extended options for advanced uses of Apache ONLY
# You don't need to edit these unless you are doing crazy Apache stuff
# As not having them set correctly, or feeding in an incorrect configuration
# via them will result in Apache failing to start
# YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
# ServerRoot setting
#SERVERROOT=/usr/lib/apache2
# Configuration file location
# - If this does NOT start with a '/', then it is treated relative to
# $SERVERROOT by Apache
#CONFIGFILE=/etc/apache2/httpd.conf
# Location to log startup errors to
# They are normally dumped to your terminal.
#STARTUPERRORLOG="/var/log/apache2/startuperror.log"
# Environment variables to keep
# All environment variables are cleared from apache
# Use this to preserve some of them
# NOTE!!! It's very important that this contains PATH
# Also, it will fail if the _value_ of any of these variables contains a space
KEEPENV="PATH"
Where exactly should I check the module ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
magic919 Advocate
Joined: 17 Jun 2005 Posts: 2182 Location: Berkshire, UK
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | APACHE2_OPTS="-D PHP5" |
Should be PHP4.
/etc/apache2/modules.d/ for modules. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
frix n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 8 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
magic919 wrote: | Quote: | APACHE2_OPTS="-D PHP5" |
Should be PHP4.
/etc/apache2/modules.d/ for modules. |
True for PHP 4, but wasn't the original poster running PHP 5?
I suggest you take a look at:
http://svn.gnqs.org/projects/gentoo-php-overlay/
there's a load of useful information there, especially what goes into
/etc/portage/package.use |
|
Back to top |
|
|
magic919 Advocate
Joined: 17 Jun 2005 Posts: 2182 Location: Berkshire, UK
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
He says mod_php 4.x. He _had_ PHP5 but then installed mod_php 4.x. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
frix n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 8 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mmm... ok. But if "mactoo" reads this, please check out my previous post.
I just recently upgraded to PHP5 and had to install/reinstall "dev-lang/php"
a couple of times before I got it working. Unless you want to install both
versions, don't go for "mod_php". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mactoo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OK, I've tried both PHP5 & mod_php (now it's mod_php) but I just can't get it to work !!!
I've checked the modules
40_mod_ssl.conf
45_mod_dav.conf
70_mod_php5.conf
41_mod_ssl.default-vhost.conf
70_mod_php.conf
/etc/conf.d/apache2
is with -D PHP4
and it's still the same...
is there something to do with the httpd.conf ?
Why is it so damn difficult to get PHP working ??!! Now I really fear the MySQL installation... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kardolus Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 120 Location: Amsterdam
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I cant get it to work either, been recompiling stuff for days and running thrue forums. It sucks. I had no problems btw with mysql and PostGreSQL _________________ Smokey, this is not 'Nam. This is bowling. There are rules.
http://twitter.com/GKardolus |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Peter_ n00b
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I recently built a server with apache 2.0 +php4.4+Mysql 4.1 and from memory all I had to do was modify my /etc/conf.d/apache2 file . I followed http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Apache2_with_PHP_MySQL
For the record the changed line in /etc/conf.d/apache2 is
Code: | APACHE2_OPTS="-D DEFAULT_VHOST -D SSL -D SSL_DEFAULT_VHOAST -D PHP4" |
Hope this helps |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DNAspark99 Guru
Joined: 03 Sep 2004 Posts: 321
|
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you should also be using dev-lang/php-4/5 with apache use flags, not mod_php...and with the changes mentioned above to /etc/conf.d/apache2 file, it should work |
|
Back to top |
|
|
frix n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 8 Location: Sweden
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
andreask Apprentice
Joined: 09 Sep 2003 Posts: 282 Location: Aachen, Germany
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
magic919 wrote: | emerge mod_php. |
No.
dev-php/mod_php is not supported anymore.
Try:
Code: | emerge =dev-lang/php-4*
# or
emerge =dev-lang/php-5*
# or both
emerge =dev-lang/php-4* =dev-lang/php-5*
|
And don't forget to set the apache2 USE flag for dev-lang/php in /etc/portage/package.use. Please have a look at the Upgrading Guide for details: http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/php/php-upgrading.xml
Quote from latest GWN:
Quote: | The most notable decision made from a users point of view forces users to migrate from dev-php/php to dev-lang/php as soon as possible as the PHP Herd decided to no longer support them. The old dev-php/php packages will be package.masked as soon as the architecture teams have stabilized the new-style PHP packages, which is expected by the end of February, and removed from the Portage tree about two months later. |
http://www.gentoo.org/news/en/gwn/20060130-newsletter.xml#doc_chap1_sect3 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mactoo n00b
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 11:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
OK
I got it working with mod_php, even if I don't understand why it works and why it didn't work.
I'm gonna try unmerge mod_php and go for dev-lang/php-5 before putting [solved] on the subject.
Thx anyway, at least it works somehow... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chrisstankevitz Guru
Joined: 14 Dec 2003 Posts: 472 Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
andreask wrote: |
Quote from latest GWN:
Quote: | The most notable decision made from a users point of view forces users to migrate from dev-php/php to dev-lang/php as soon as possible as the PHP Herd decided to no longer support them. The old dev-php/php packages will be package.masked as soon as the architecture teams have stabilized the new-style PHP packages, which is expected by the end of February, and removed from the Portage tree about two months later. |
http://www.gentoo.org/news/en/gwn/20060130-newsletter.xml#doc_chap1_sect3 |
Thanks for the info. That guide does not show how to install PHP if I have not previously installed PHP. From snooping around, this is my guess:
1. Add apache2 USE flag
2. emerge '=dev-lang/php-5*'
3. Add "-D PHP5" to APACHE2_OPTS in /etc/conf.d/apache |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chrisstankevitz Guru
Joined: 14 Dec 2003 Posts: 472 Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
chrisstankevitz wrote: |
1. Add apache2 USE flag
2. emerge '=dev-lang/php-5*'
3. Add "-D PHP5" to APACHE2_OPTS in /etc/conf.d/apache |
I suspect step 2 can be simplified:
emerge dev-lang/php |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tomk Bodhisattva
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 7221 Location: Sat in front of my computer
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|