Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
vmware rc script
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
j-kidd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2003
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 7:08 pm    Post subject: vmware rc script Reply with quote

Well, after unmerge vmware 3, I deleted /etc/init.c/vmware. So, I have no startup script for vmware 4 beta now, and I don't know how to write one :oops:

Could anyone share the vmware rc script with me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sKewlBoy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 406
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Certainly :D

Code:

#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright 1999-2002 Gentoo Technologies, Inc.
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License, v2 or later
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/app-emulation/vmware-workstation/files/3.2.0
.2230-r1/vmware,v 1.2 2002/12/24 13:30:14 vapier Exp $

depend() {
        need localmount
        use logger net
}

vmware-prettify() {
        # Yea, the code is ugly but the output is pretty
        state=$1
        waserror=0
        msgtype=0
        while read line
        do
                [ "$line" == "" ] && continue
                if [ "$msgtype" -le "0" ]
                then
                        if [ "$msgtype" == "-1" ]
                        then
                                ewarn $line
                                continue
                        fi
                        if [ "${line/*:*/}" == "" ]
                        then
                                einfon $line
                                echo
                                eend 0
                                msgtype=1
                        else
                                ewarn $line
                                msgtype=-1
                                waserror=1
                        fi
                        continue
                fi

                # Strip out anything after the <esc> code
                message=`echo $line | sed -e "s/^\(.*\)*$/\1/"`
                einfon "  $message"
                echo

                echo $line | grep done > /dev/null
                status=$?
                eend $status

                if [ "$status" != "0" ]
                then
                        logger -p local0.err -t vmware-${state} "$line"
                        waserror=$status
                fi
        done
        if [ "$msgtype" == "-1" ]
        then
                eend 1 "VMware is not properly configured! See above."
        fi
        return $waserror
}

start() {
        test -x /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware || \
                eend 1 "vmware init script not found. Aborting" || return 1

        /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware start | vmware-prettify start
        return $?
}

stop() {
        /etc/vmware/init.d/vmware stop | vmware-prettify stop
        return $?
}


have you checked bugs.gentoo.org ? Maybe there's already an ebuild for it.
Tell me one thing, is graphic card emulation improved to 3D aceleration, in that version ?
And can we pass non-preseted hardware, like a TVCard, for instance ?

-- EDIT --

Exactly: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=17679
For great things like vmware, ebuilds are uploaded to bugs.gentoo.org instantaneously :wink:

-- EDIT2 --

Ooops, I guess I misunderstood your situation, but I won't clean my last edit since I might be wrong (again)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j-kidd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2003
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks sKwelBoy :)
Running the script gave me these errors, probably due to different versions
Code:

/sbin/runscript.sh: line 5: .2230-r1/vmware,v: No such file or directory
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 64:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 64:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 65:  : command not found


Yes I did use the ebuild from bugs.gentoo.org but I am not sure if it is supposed to generate the rc script for me..

Anyway, I tried to run "/etc/vmware/init.d/vmware start" and I think it started nicely.
But then everytime I create a new virtual machine or open a .cfg file, this error popup
Code:

VMListApp_SetVmPath: unable to set /home/kidd/vmware/win98/win98.cfg -> /vm/#70991ab65fa15c46/


I did found vmx70991ab65fa15c46 in /tmp... not sure if this is related..

Then, when I tried to power on a virtual machine, this error came out
Code:

waitpid failed errno = No child processes


Damn glibc that mess up with vmware 3 :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sKewlBoy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 406
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2003 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL now that I have compiled vmware 4 and noticed there was a init script, you've found it out :D
Yeah, I'm getting both of those errors also...
First time I started it, worked great. Then I rebooted (the host) and it remains not working...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sKewlBoy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 406
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2003 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=254775
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jarjar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 265
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2003 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86 emerge vmware-workstation && etc-update
?
Worked for me.
_________________
[Server etc. | C2D 2.2 @ 3.0 GHz / 4 GB RAM / 3x1 TB + 1x2 TB SATA disks + 1.5 TB ext. | Gentoo]
[Laptop | Macbook Pro 15" / Core i7 (Sandy) Quad 2.2 GHz / 16 GB RAM / Samsung 840 250 GB SSD + 1 TB + 2 TB HDD / 6750M 1 GB / OS X, Win 7]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sKewlBoy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 406
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2003 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, just installed win98 and it gives me no errors. Just RH 7.1 doesnt boot with the "no child processes" vmware error.

Btw, how can I setup sound in win98 ?? I instaled the /dev/dsp as sound device and it's a SBLive, so has multiple-channels. Running vmware as root, which has write permissions to dsp... what am I doing wrong ... ?
And what about vmsamba ?
Couldnt set that up .... I really dont get any of this....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sKewlBoy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 406
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, after a reboot win98 VM started to give the same "no child proc" error...

Have you solved the problem, j-kidd ... ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j-kidd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2003
Posts: 213

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, using the old .cfg from vmware 3 gave me the "no child process" error, but if I create a new virtual machine then everything is fine.
About the sound, vmware 4 is using creative sound blaster ensoniq audiopci and you can get the driver from creative's website :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sKewlBoy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 406
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I noticed that, but creating a new VM for each time I boot is really annoying :?

well, thanks for the sound tip :D

-- EDIT --

oh, and how do you use your LPT port in VMWare with win98 ?
I gave parallel port module loaded (parport) and ibm type module.
What device file should I use (parport4, parport16, parport32...) ?

I really need something to shoot my mp3 into my old yepp32...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sKewlBoy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 406
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, just incase you havent noticed, just emerge sync and vmware 4388 doesnt have the child proc problem anymore!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum