View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
groovy12 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 Feb 2006 Posts: 127
|
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:56 pm Post subject: network problem only during boot |
|
|
i am a first-timer to linux..
i have ipw2200 driver for intel 2915 wireless, using dhcp and wpa_supplicant. i have got it workign but two issues:
1. it does not work when it boots first
Code: | $rc-update add net.eth1 default
$reboot
<hangs> fails DHCP. once it said "unable to start netmount" but this time didnt say anything.
|
when it completes boot, i can start it manually
what makes it fail at the first time? i have added ipw2200 in the default load module list
2. after the boot whenver i try to start eth1, it says it has been started [note this time i have removed it from rc default list
Code: | $rc-update del net.eth1 default
$reboot
<boot completes>
$/etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
<says eth1 already started>
$ping www.google.com
<not happy>
$/etc/init.d/net.eth1 stop
$/etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
$ping www.google.com
<happy>
|
this looked strange to me but i can of course live with it.. just wanted to understand what might be going on..
thanks a lot.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
groovy12,
Welcome to linux and gentoo. You have a lot to learn and you are amonst friends here.
It appears you have several ethernet interfaces of one sort and another. Maybe they are not all what you expect?
When your network is working do the commands Code: | ifconfig -a
iwconfig -a | and post the output here please. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
groovy12 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 Feb 2006 Posts: 127
|
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks..
yes i have one ethernet and one wireless.. here are the outputs:
Quote: | $ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:C6:E1:DB:A5
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:185
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:CE:8B:BD:F3
inet addr:10.0.1.2 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:21 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3 errors:0 dropped:3 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:590 (590.0 b) TX bytes:638 (638.0 b)
Interrupt:50 Base address:0xc000 Memory:90301000-90301fff
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
|
Quote: | $iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
eth1 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"Burfi"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:11:24:08:45:A7
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:316E-6431-61 Security mode:open
Power Management:off
Link Quality=68/100 Signal level=-59 dBm Noise level=-88 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:5
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
groovy12,
Hmm - I didn't mean you to post your wireless key - oops.
Change it - its only useful to people around you.
What do you have in your /etc/conf.d/net file ?
and in /etc/conf.d/wireless if you use it. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
groovy12 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 05 Feb 2006 Posts: 127
|
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 3:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
thanks.. the keys are scrambled anyway
here is the output
Code: | # more /etc/conf.d/net
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d. To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dwext"
|
I am not using /etc/conf.d/wireless |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bamboozler n00b
Joined: 01 Feb 2006 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:31 am Post subject: same here |
|
|
I have the same card in my Inspiron 6000 and am experiencing a simular issue, only I'm using WEP. Like you I cannot connect during but but can connect after boot using iwconfig ethX essid XXX key XXX. During boot however the card detects other wireless networks in the area and attempts to connect to them instead. So my question is how do I automatically connect to my preferred network with WEP key when I boot? I am not using /etc/conf.d/wireless either. _________________ -Kyle |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bamboozler,
The instructions here should work for you. I use wireless tools. Be aware you may need to use the timeout options in the section titled Quote: | Troubleshooting Wireless Tools |
groovy12,
I've never used wpa_supplicant, sorry. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|