View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Johny the Ripper Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 135 Location: EU - Belgium
|
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 7:53 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] ACX111 not recognized by acx111 driver?(USRob) |
|
|
I have a U.S.Robotics Wireless Turbo g card, which is supposed to contain the TI acx111 chip. I've installed the acx111 driver but it gives an error while loading :/ Are there any particularities I should keep in mind when working with this driver? I must note that I didn't succeed verifying if USR didn't use a different chip in my card; I can't seem to find out which chip it actually contains... Any hints on that? I didn't try ndiswrapper yet cause I really want it working with acx111 drivers... Anybody who has experience with this card? _________________ De omnis Belgae bravissimi ... erant
Last edited by Johny the Ripper on Fri Mar 03, 2006 9:44 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Johny the Ripper Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 135 Location: EU - Belgium
|
Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I had some free time and this is what I did:
From my windows-partition, I copied the file %SYSTEM32%\drivers\FwRad16.bin to /lib/firmware and renamed it to TIACX111.BIN. This file should contain the firmware (I read this somewhere thanks to google) and it should be uploaded to my CardBus Card every time the driver will be loaded.
So when I try to load the acx111 module, I get the following output:
Code: | # modprobe acx_pci
FATAL: Error inserting acx_pci (/lib/modules/2.6.11-gentoo-r9/net/acx_pci.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
# dmesg | grep acx
acx_pci: Unknown symbol release_firmware
acx_pci: Unknown symbol request_firmware |
/usr/share/acx111/README wrote: | insmod message " Unknown symbol in module" and then in syslog " acx_pci: Unknown symbol release_firmware"?
Load the firmware_class.ko module. |
So then I try this:
Code: | # modprobe firmware_class
FATAL: Module firmware_class not found. |
I searched google on this one, but I don't seem to get a lot of information to understand why I get this error... I searched the .config file of my kernel, but I can't seem to find any option to enable this module in some way... Finally I found this post on a French forum:
http://www.wlanfr.net/forum.php?op=mess&pid=3022&pg=6 wrote: | Bon, je pense que c'est logique :
le ./load n'est qu'un script qui doit charger le module ( certainement en utilisant insmod )
le pb de insmod, c'est qu'il ne gere pas les dependances entre modules ( typiquement ipw2100 depend de firmware_class qui se charge d'uploader les firmwares, mais ce firmware_class est un module standard du kernel, pas un module de ipw2100 comme le sont ieeee80211... par ex. )
donc reessayes avec modprobe :
modprobe -r ipw2100
modprobe ipw2100
dmesg
sinon, pour changer l'essid peut etre que cela fonctionne directement comme parametre du module ipw2100 ( un peu comme le channel )
fait un "modinfo -p ipw2100" |
Freely translated:
http://www.wlanfr.net/forum.php?op=mess&pid=3022&pg=6 wrote: | Well, I think it's logical:
the ./load is nothing but a script that has to load the module (either way using insmod)
the problem with insmod is that it doesn't manage the dependencies between modules (typically ipw2100 depends of firmware_class, who manages the uploading of the firmwares, but this firmware_class is a standard module from the kernel, not a module of ipw2100, like the way ieeee80211 is for example...)
Thus, try again with modprobe:
modprobe -r ipw2100
modprobe ipw2100
dmesg
If not, to change the essid could be that it works directly as a parameter of the module ipw2100 (a bit like the channel)
do a "modinfo -p ipw2100" |
What I understand of this post is that I can't manually load the firmware_class module, because it's some other type of module. But I'm guessing here. I know that I don't know anymore where to search for a solution... Can anybody help me find a solution? thx a lot in advance... _________________ De omnis Belgae bravissimi ... erant |
|
Back to top |
|
|
s0be Apprentice
Joined: 23 Nov 2002 Posts: 240
|
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
firmware class definately works as a module. did you compile it?
here's where it is in the kernel config:
Device Drivers -> Generic Driver Options -> Hotplug firmware loading support
and here's the output of lsmod on my acx111 system:
firmware_class 8960 1 acx
acx 145560 0
(irrelevent lines ommitted)
If you find me on irc (#acx100 on irc.freenode.net) I'll help you out. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Johny the Ripper Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Nov 2004 Posts: 135 Location: EU - Belgium
|
Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 9:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hey thanks, the acx_pci module loads now!!!
I checked the kernel settings and hotplug firmware loading support should've been compiled as a module, but I guess I didn't register it in that file where you should state all your modules (I forgot its name...). Anyway, I'm not really fond of modules and compiled the thing in the kernel, rebooted with the fresh kernel et voilà
thank you thank you a lot I'm going to play with iwconfig etc now _________________ De omnis Belgae bravissimi ... erant |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|