Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[resolved] Update World and now I need PHP 5?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:35 am    Post subject: [resolved] Update World and now I need PHP 5? Reply with quote

I was just doing a weekly (or so) system update (as below) and now for reasons I dont understand I need "dev-lang/php-5.0.5-r5", I didnt have it nor did I need it before - this conflcts with "dev-php/mod_php" and "dev-php/php"

What do I do ?


Here is the steps so far:

First I ran -

emerge --update --deep --newuse world

Nothing to update.

Then emerge --sync
then emerge -p --update --deep --newuse world

now there was 8 or so packages to be built, some new some upgrades.

I see this at the top:
[blocks B ] dev-php/mod_php (is blocking dev-lang/php-5.0.5-r5)
[blocks B ] dev-php/php (is blocking dev-lang/php-5.0.5-r5)
[ebuild N ] dev-lang/php-5.0.5-r5

So I merge in everything else and leave PHP as I dont want to stop anything working.
I run "emerge depclean" and "revdep-rebuild" just incase

My make.conf looks like this:

Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built this stage
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
USE="-* hardened pic ncurses ssl crypt berkdb tcpd pam xml perl python snmp mmx sse 3dnow readline apache2 symlink"
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"


/etc/portage/package.use looks like:

Code:

net-dns/bind -ipv6 -ldap -mysql -bind-mysql -postgres -odbc -threads
dev-php/php mysql
dev-php/mod_php mysql
net-dialup/ppp mppe-mppc


Some other stuff that may help

Code:

oakfield / # emerge --version
Portage 2.0.54 (default-linux/x86/2005.1, gcc-3.3.6, glibc-2.3.5-r2, 2.6.14-hardened-r5 i686)
oakfield / # uname -a
Linux oakfield 2.6.14-hardened-r5 #1 Wed Feb 15 08:51:40 GMT 2006 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1600+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
oakfield / #


This is a home server, it runs the hardened kernel with MPPE patch and PAX etc
PHP is required to work (mainly for webmail and one of the sites hosted on it) and everything works well at the moment.

Any ideas about the best way to go with this ?

Any help welcomed
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!


Last edited by Toady on Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Taki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 249
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

My guess would be that the apache2 USE flag is causing some package to be downloaded and that package depends on php5. Or it could be an inconsistancy in the new portage tree.

If you are not using apache, try:
Code:
USE="-apache2" emerge -p --update --deep --newuse world

see if it still want to emerge php5.
_________________
I live a life of needles and wax.
When the needle touches the wax,
I begin to breathe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Taki wrote:
Hi

My guess would be that the apache2 USE flag is causing some package to be downloaded and that package depends on php5. Or it could be an inconsistancy in the new portage tree.

If you are not using apache, try:
Code:
USE="-apache2" emerge -p --update --deep --newuse world

see if it still want to emerge php5.


Well I am using apache, but I tryed that also - still the same:

Code:

oakfield ~ # USE="-apache2" emerge -p --update --deep --newuse world

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating world dependencies ...done!
[blocks B     ] dev-php/mod_php (is blocking dev-lang/php-5.0.5-r5)
[blocks B     ] dev-php/php (is blocking dev-lang/php-5.0.5-r5)
[ebuild   R   ] net-www/apache-2.0.55-r1
[ebuild   R   ] dev-php/mod_php-4.4.0-r9
[ebuild  N    ] dev-lang/php-5.0.5-r5
oakfield ~ #



EDIT:

Also checking dependency's shows that none depend on dev-lang/php

Code:

oakfield ~ # equery d php
[ Searching for packages depending on php... ]
mail-client/squirrelmail-1.4.5-r1


Unmerging and re-emerging squirrelmail hasnt helped either.
As a last resort I have done another "emerge --sync" and its still the same. (I know its not PC to do it twice within 24 hours but I am running out of ideas)
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrbecke
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 598
Location: Berlin - Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The dev-php/php* ebuilds in portage are no longer supported and will be replaced by the dev-lang/php* ebuilds.
See this Newsletter for details.
Here's a Howto on updating to the new dev-lang/php* ebuilds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Toady
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2004
Posts: 161
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chrbecke wrote:
The dev-php/php* ebuilds in portage are no longer supported and will be replaced by the dev-lang/php* ebuilds.
See this Newsletter for details.
Here's a Howto on updating to the new dev-lang/php* ebuilds.


Many thanks.
_________________
Toady

Gentoo Laptop
3.1.10-gentoo-r1, Intel Core 2 Duo (32bit)
Gnome on the desk, Intel in the box, on-board everything, but it all works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andreask
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 282
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are using outdated PHP packages, which are not supported anymore. dev-php/php, dev-php/mod_php and dev-php/php-cli have been replaced by dev-lang/php, which has been announced here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-377385.html

The new packages make it possible to run PHP4 and PHP5 in parallel.

The packages you use will be removed from portage soon!

Quote from GWN:
Quote:
The most notable decision made from a users point of view forces users to migrate from dev-php/php to dev-lang/php as soon as possible as the PHP Herd decided to no longer support them. The old dev-php/php packages will be package.masked as soon as the architecture teams have stabilized the new-style PHP packages, which is expected by the end of February, and removed from the Portage tree about two months later.

You have to unmerge PHP and its extensions, and emerge dev-lang/php. If you want to install mod_php, you have to set the "apache" USE flag for dev-lang/php. If you don't want to install PHP5, you have to emerge =dev-lang/php-4*.

You should follow the upgrading guide: http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/php/php-upgrading.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Taki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 249
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using php4. I need to use that specific vresion for a certain course I am doing. I guess i wont need to upgrade since I never emerge world. prefer to upgrade my software manually. I do emerge system once a week though.

How do I make sure php5 does not get emerged? at least not till I finish my course in june.
_________________
I live a life of needles and wax.
When the needle touches the wax,
I begin to breathe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrbecke
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 598
Location: Berlin - Germany

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to keep the dev-php/php* ebuilds, do
Code:
echo "dev-lang/php*" >> /ec/portage/package.mask

If you want to use the new dev-lang/php* ebuilds, do
Code:
echo ">=dev-lang/php-4.4.1-r3" >> /etc/portage/package.mask

(assuming you are using the latest php4 version in portage, otherwise adjust the version number.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llongi
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 459
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chrbecke wrote:
If you want to keep the dev-php/php* ebuilds, do
Code:
echo "dev-lang/php*" >> /ec/portage/package.mask


Please don't do this but try to upgrade to the new dev-lang/php, thanks! ;)

chrbecke wrote:
If you want to use the new dev-lang/php* ebuilds, do
Code:
echo ">=dev-lang/php-4.4.1-r3" >> /etc/portage/package.mask

(assuming you are using the latest php4 version in portage, otherwise adjust the version number.)


If you only want to use PHP4, simply do a
Code:
emerge =dev-lang/php-4*
and it will install the latest PHP4 version available and that will satisfy the PHP dependencies (unless a package specifically depends on PHP5). You could also mask PHP5 like suggested by chrbecke but in that case put
Code:
>=dev-lang/php-5.0.0
in your /etc/portage/package.mask, so you can be sure to get also the latest PHP4 versions/revisions when they are updated.
_________________
Best regards, Luca.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Taki
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 249
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks :lol:
_________________
I live a life of needles and wax.
When the needle touches the wax,
I begin to breathe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads, please see this topic.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum