Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
WEP howto ????
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nunopedrosilva
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Oct 2004
Posts: 132
Location: Corroios, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:49 am    Post subject: WEP howto ???? Reply with quote

hi all, I've used to use wireless without any encryption, only mac filter... Now I put WEP security, but I don't know how to configure it...
anyone can help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anello
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 557
Location: EU -> DE -> Stuttgart

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Wireless_Configuration_and_Startup
_________________
Antonino Catinello | http://catinello.eu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n3bul4
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

lets assume your wireless device is eth1 (look at the output of iwconfig)
and the ssid with WEP you want to connect has the name TEST

open up /etc/conf.d/wireless with your favourite editor.
If the file does not exist create it...

Write this into the file:
essid_eth1="TEST"
key_TEST="1D:2F:3C:4D:5E enc open" #for a hex key
key_TEST="s:password enc open" #for a plaintext key

for further configuration issues look at /etc/conf.d/wireless.example

if you don't have the /etc/init.d/net.eth1 startscript you have to create a symlink
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth1
than you can start/stop/restart the device....
The name of the file must have the same ending as the name of your device so change accordingly.
If f.e. your device is wlan0 than is would look like this: ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.wlan0

hope that helps....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nunopedrosilva
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Oct 2004
Posts: 132
Location: Corroios, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well I got that. but there's one thing I don't know...
my essid should be... hell's gate
how do I write that??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n3bul4
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I see....
Look at /etc/conf.d/wireless.example
ESSIDS with special characters like space have to be
escaped....I think with \

greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nunopedrosilva
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Oct 2004
Posts: 132
Location: Corroios, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I got this in my wireless file...


essid_eth1="Hell"
key_Hell="my key here enc open" #for a hex key


I tried putting : for every pair of letter, like mac address, but it keeps trying to get ip...

something must not be right... I emerged wpa_supplicant, but I didn't even knew what it was for, so I removed it... I gess wpa != wep right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n3bul4
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WEP != WPA that is right....
WPA is a better encryption schema than WEP.

It depends on your AP what you have to use. This can be configured at the AP management system.....
When the AP is configured to use a WPA key you have to install wpa_supplicant....
If your AP is configured with WEP than you don't have to use WPA and can savely unmerge the wpa_supplicant package....
Notice that WEP is a very unsecure encryption schema and can be cracked within 10-15 minutes (asuming a 64bit key)
or about 1-3 hours when using a 128bit key so eigther you use a 256bit key or you change your encryption to WPA.
WPA would be recommended......

How do you mean it keeps trying to get an ip?

There are to ways to connect to an AP:

.) dhcp (automatic asignment of the ip)
.) manual configuration by giving the exact ip to use


for dhcp a line in /etc/conf.d/wireless would be enought...like this (because dhcp is the default method):
Code:
key_Hell="1A:2B:3C:4D:5E enc open"


otherwise if you have to give the exact ip, try something like this:
Code:
key_Hell="1A:2B:3C:4D:5E enc open"
config_Hell=( "192.168.0.2" )                               #IP of your host
routes_Hell=( "default gw 192.168.0.1" )               #Gateway IP (your AP IP)
dns_servers_Hell=( "192.168.0.1" )            #DNS Server (in this case your AP if it can act as a DNS server)



You must edit the ip to your network accordingly.

Maybe you post your ip and the ip of the AP (the internal one)
and maybe you could figure out if your AP is configured with WPA
or with WEP, and if it delivers ips automaticaly by dhcp or if it doesn't....


greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n3bul4
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could also do the whole thing manually with iwconfig:

if you don't have the command iwconfig than emerge net-wireless/wireless-tools


Otherwise do something like this:
Let's asume that /dev/eth1 is your wireless card...

Code:
iwconfig eth1 essid Hell
iwconfig eth1 key YO:UR:HE:XK:EY:HE:RE
iwconfig eth1 channel 6                 #change 6 to the channel of your AP (can be found in the AP management)
iwconfig eth1 mode managed


if your AP has dhcp enabled:
Code:
dhcpcd eth1

if you don't have dhcpcd emerge dhcpcd :-)

otherwise do something like this:
Code:
ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.2
route add default gw 192.168.0.1


now try a ping 192.168.0.1 (or your ap ip)
if there comes back some response everything worked fine
and you have to edit your /etc/resolv.conf and enter your
nameserver(s) (could be the ip of your AP if the AP can act as a DNS server
and is configured to do so)......

hope that helps....
Otherwise post your outputs.....


greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nunopedrosilva
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Oct 2004
Posts: 132
Location: Corroios, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did this last one, before you post :D
I created a script to do that whenever I want wireless. Thanks a lot...

Is it possible to create a init script to put at boot time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n3bul4
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

cool that you got it to work.....
If you want a script to start your wireless automatically do the following:

Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth1    #if eth1 is your wireless device (change accordingly)



After that you can start your wireless with /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start


If you want to start the wireless at boottime do the following:

Code:
rc-update add net.eth1 default                  #change eth1 accordingly to whatever your device name is....



greetz....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zagman76
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok - i have a dumb question:

i have eth0 (LAN) symbolically linked to net.lo already - can I add eth1 as described above? Will that mess up my LAN connection?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
n3bul4
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2003
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure you can....you could add hundred of links to net.lo
Thats the way you create a startscript for a new device.....


greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum